Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jane from uk leicester

Very nice experience.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Near city centre very close to city.nice location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from South Yorks

central to centre

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Nice garden and relaxing area on the second flooor.
Location: The Martim Moniz area and communial area.
The actual place is in a back street and does not look very pleasant.Awful views of graffiti.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Philip from London

look no further.

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent value for money just round the corner from a Metro station.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bella from London

Horrible hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is horrible which you won't want to stay even £5. Rude staffs, bad location and room is a joke. I have booked a double bed with private bathtub, view and wifi First a young female staff gave me a dormitory room with 6beds on top floor, small triangle shaped window and no bathroom. I complained then she was upset with terrible English and said to me to use the room alone. I explained my booking then she gave me a twin beds room with tiny shower next. I have to explain my booking politely to that young girl again. Thirdly she gave me a twin beds with private bathtub. I don't understand why it was so difficult to get room I have paid for and she even got very angry. On my booking, it says "free wife available". And wifi is available only at lobby, which is on ground floor and even signal is very weak and slow. Also all room is very old and TV is small and 20years ago one, it is fixed on high ceiling, no remote controller. If you're 6feet tall you can reach it without standing on chair. They say the hotel is located in City Central on their website however it is not. No restaurant and supermarket around either. I don't want to stay here even if it's free of charge. Highly recommend not to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Comfortable economical hotel close to metro stop

Posted Nov 16, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joseph from Dallas, TX

Good Hotel * Bad Neighborhood

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: Value, peace and quiet.
Cons: They're doing good for what they have to work with.
Location: See above.
The room was just what we were looking for.......value, value, value. Although the neighborhood was a bit dodgy, it was a quiet, peaceful night. Only one block from the green metro. Good grocery stores nearby. Toilet and shower was down the hall, but there were three of them for the floor. In October, only a few rooms on the second floor were let so there was no problem getting the toilet or shower. Wi-Fi in the reception area worked well.
1 out of 5
by Traveller from Canada

Hostel

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Pros: no
Cons: washrooms
Location: good
This is a hostel, but not 3 star hotel. Very poor amenities. Good location (close to metro), but not safe at night time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

OUTSTANDING STAFF

Posted May 12, 2013
POUSO DOS ANJOS HOTEL has a very friendly staff and after an initial problem with the shower upon arrival I was given another room. I don't need all the bells and whistles while traveling so the lack of anything modern was alright with me. There is a garden area just off the second floor of rooms that was a peaceful getaway from the noise and chaos of the streets. I would sit there and relax after a day of being a tourist. The hotel is less than five minutes walk from the metro station. The staff always called me by my first name and I was treated as if I was friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by peter

much better than i expected

Posted Jan 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
i booked this hotel because of the very reasonable price, three nights costing less than one night in london or paris, but then i read all the negative reviews so i was a bit wary, but the hotel was much better than i expected, the staff were very helpful with maps and guides, even a gay guide for gay guests though it is a mixed hotel, i had booked a room with a shared bathroom but was given the choice of a private bathroom since the hotel was not full, i saw both rooms, both large and clean. there were no bedbugs at this hotel! location is about 15 minutes walk from the centre, but the metro is just outside, which also goes quickly to the airport.i liked the walk down though, the surrounding area felt quite safe to me, the main road down to the centre is a little faded, but it has lots of cheap and very good cafes with excellent cakes. the hotel is breakfast is simple but adequate, two rolls with cheese/ jam. fresh fruit, coffee and tea. i think that the earlier reviews were a little unfair because it was perfectly pleasant and really astonishingly cheap. i would recommend it and i would stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and good hotel for student

Posted Dec 6, 2012
Pros: Friendly staff.
Location: Great location close to metro station.
This was a good hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff. Location is very conveneint very close to the metro station.