Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Philadelphia, PA

Convenient location, friendly staff

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Choose this hotel as it was closer to downtown Lisbon than the hotel in which I stayed the prior year. Very helpful and kind staff and clean facilities for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Super Spurs from essex

Clean, decent enough

Posted Mar 22, 2014
On arrival we were allowed to check in early with no fuss or extra cost. The room (a twin), was clean, bathroom was a bit small but adequate. The evening bar staff were grumpy and not very helpful. The walk from the metro to the hotel is up a steep hill which is slippery when wet!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by alice from glasgow

quiet location

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
i really enjoyed my visit to Lisbon, a truly interesting city, the hotel location to the metro was great, although the room was clean, bed comfy the hotel is in need of some upgrading, e.g. carpets very shabby looking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Monica from Syracuse

Sana Rex is underrated at 3 stars

Posted Sep 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The rooms are a bit small...but it's a city. Lovely neighborhood, easy access to the metro, and very helpful doorman named JOAO who spoke 8 (?) languages!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Small room but helpful and friendly staff. Good central location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mara from Mozambique

Pleasant

Posted Jul 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice stay, the staff was very polite
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by JHFM

Reasonably good ratio quality / price

Posted Jun 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy & Lynne from Hereford, UK

Sana Rex - Lisbon half marathon

Posted Apr 26, 2012
Pros: The balcony we had with our room
Cons: Queuing at the bar
Location: Next to a lovely park. Within easy access for open-top tour buses, metro and walking to various places
We were part of a group staying at the hotel and were disappointed with the service at the the hotel bar. They did not seem used to guests wanting a drink!!! The service was very slow and the barman struggled to add up the cost of a round of drinks - he then had to unlock and relock a cupboard to access the till each time a payment was made.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Spotless hotel/great location/tiny rooms

Posted Mar 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel was very clean and attractive but just know that the elevators, hallways, and rooms are very small. Wasn't a big problem since we were out seeing beautiful Portugal and hardly spending time in the room. The bathroom was beautiful but also small--no counter space for your toiletries. Shower is the hand-held type. Breakfast served in large, attractive room and was a good, plentiful variety although it was the same offerings every day. We started out in a room at the back which had a view of the backs of apartment buildings but it was quiet. We switched to a room with the little balcony which was even smaller but very nice and even though it was on the street side facing the park, the hotel is located in a business district so the traffic was not noisy or annoying. The only problem was that when we switched to the balcony room, it was a smoking room (or former smoking room) and the smell was awful--embedded in the curtains. It would have been nice to have some Febreeze on hand. We just kept the sliding door open as much as possible to air it out. Other than that, everything was wonderful--close to 2 Metro stops, and about 10 min walk from beautiful, large shopping mall called Amoreiras with a huge supermarket-great if you want to stock anything in your mini-bar fridge. Front desk staff was helpful and efficient. One of the best things about staying in this hotel in addition to the above mentioned is an employee named Joao. I'm not sure if he's a concierge or bellman but he went out of his way to make us feel welcome and was very helpful with anything needed. Very nice stay :)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sana Rex - Not recommended

Posted Jan 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
The neighbourhood is close to marques de pombal which is a major metro stop aside from this it is very difficult to find restaurants to eat in and walking around the area consititues going up and down very steep hills so not recommended for seniors or families with children. Many other hotels are located in this area but it is more a business area than a residential one with little shopping and food spots. We moved into Hotel Mundial after a few days at Sana Rex and we really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Mundial. It is centrally located to shops, subway, trams, taxis, and restaurants. Pick a hotel close to Praca de Figueira as this is the happening place in Lisbon.