Ratings based on 480 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, Washington

Good Location

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Yes
Cons: Change new mattress.
Location: Walking distance to most stores and restaurant.
Location - Hotel is in the middle of shopping area, lots of brand name stores around. Within walking distance to local restaurants etc. Cleanliness - OK, I can still see dirt around sink and edges of bath walls. Room Comfort - Bed is awful, maybe old mattress, we got a king size bed, my side of the mattress slope to the edge, felt like sliding down the bed all night. Hotel staff - Good English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from burlkington, on canada

fantastic location!

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Central location, comfort of the rooms
Cons: just starting to show signs of wear and tear in the hallways
Location: restaurants everywhere! there was one particular street that the staff circled for us on the map and we were literally minutes away
right in the heart of Lisbon and within easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and the water. Lovely hotel with great staff who were always helpful. could not print our boarding passes and one of the staff came down to the business centre and helped us out! very, friendly and courteous. very comfortable bed with down pillows and comforter.....lovely stay for sure!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Canal street Hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Great location if you want to be right in the middle of the Gay area of Manchester. If this is not what you want another location would suit you better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Modern hotel in city centre

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Good facilities; convenient location; excellent staff
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: very central
We arrived late from London and were pleased to be welcomed by efficient reception staff and shown to our very spacious room with a most comfortable bed, easy chairs and all facilities. Staff were most helpful and we enjoyed a lovely breakfast the following morning before leaving to join our cruise. The hotel is right in the centre so convenient for the main shops etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Hotel very nice but baths were small hard for two persons to get dressed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Coffee. Consider charging less for the breakfast buffet.
I only stayed one night on my way to Madeira. Nice place. But they charge €25 for the breakfast buffet which is outrageous. The coffee was awful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The hotel had such a wonderful scent to it and the little chocolates left in the room were so charming.
Cons: I don't know.
Location: The location is really great and easily accessible to many sights within walking distance.
The hotel and staff and dining area were excellent! The food was tasty and the presentation was terrific. The staff is absolutely wonderful, polite, very efficient. No complaints about the hotel or staff. The guests in the room to our left, however, were somewhat noisy. Not all the time, but sometimes in the evening, there would be a series of very loud bumps coming from the next room. I couldn't figure what they could have been doing. Obviously that is beyond the control of the hotel and its staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Excellent hotel close to everything

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Location: Perfect location with many exciting things to see and do nearby.
Staff we're very helpful with recommendations. We would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location. Highly recommended.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Don't get confused when you hear the staff say "bonjour" instead of "bon dia" every morning. The hotel is french owned.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clueless manager

Posted Aug 13, 2014
The manager of this hotel obviously has no idea of how to keep guests happy. This was the second two-night weekend in a row for which we had paid in advance through Expedia. After making that payment, a trip to Cartagena, Colombia, came up and we had to cancel the first weekend. Expedia contacted the hotel and asked if they would refund that first payment, but they refused. Oh well, they were within their rights, as the payment was nonrefundable. For the second weekend, as we had paid for two weekends, we thought the hotel would readily be willing to provide some extra amenity, such as free breakfast. But no. Two receptionists asked the manager, but he refused. This is what I mean by being clueless as to how to make guests happy and not unnecessarily antagonize them. Once breakfast is already set up, the marginal cost of adding one or two guests must be on the order of one or two dollars at the most. The first night, we had dinner with the person in charge of the visitor's program at Banco de Portugal. He certainly knows now about the attitude of this hotel! It belongs to the story that, during our stay in Cartagena, which was the reason we couldn't stay at this Sofitel hotel in Lisbon the first weekend, we stayed at the Sofitel Santa Clara for three nights.