Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from London

Absolutely lovely place in heart of old town

Posted Apr 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is beautiful. Located in a restored kitchen wing of the Castle S. Jorge which ovrlooks Lisbon from the centre of the oldest part of town (Al Fama). Rooms (& bathroom) and lobby are really lovely.. Breakfast on the terace is amazing with peacocks roaming. Staff are friendly and helpful. Complemetary Port in the room was a nice touch. We stayed in the old part of the hotel and the room just has a view of the street. Rooms in the new wing overlook the terrace and may have wider views.. Will definately vist this hotel again. Reccommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Amanda from Washington DC

Charming Boutique Hotel next to castle

Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is one of the most charming hotels I've ever seen. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful, the lobby and terrace and lounge areas were picturesque and comfortable, and the location is unbeatable of you want to stay up on the hill by the castle. The hotel is built into the castle walls and has the original feeling while providing modern conveniences. The courtyard is beautiful, complete with a peacock! I bought some food to have a picnic and the staff was very helpful in giving me the utensils I needed to eat in the lounge. It's a 5 minute walk from the hotel front door to the front gate to the castle, on uneven narrow cobblestone streets. One important point to make is that this would not be appropriate for someone in a wheelchair, or an elderly person who has trouble walking. The streets in the surrounding area are cobblestone and sloping, again part of the charm, but not the easiest walking terrain. Only 2 complaints: the queen size bed was really two smaller beds pushed together, which is typical, and the peacocks in the castle made noise in the morning and evening, but that was fine. If you plan to spend most of your time in other parts of Lisbon, then the location is not be ideal, as you would have to either walk up a huge hill or take a taxi to get back to your hotel. Taxis will tell you that they cannot drop you at the front door, but it's not true. They just don't like the narrow streets and prefer that you walk the last 5 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J & P from England, UK

Peaceful break

Posted Apr 6, 2013
Pros: Very relaxed and unpretentious
Cons: Dim lighting that made reading after dark quite difficult
Location: Unique setting in historic part of city by Castle walls
We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel which is small and situated in a quite location. As it is reached by cobbled streets at the top of a steep incline you will either need to be fit or have extra money for taxi fares. The breakfasts were adequate and as they are self service guests can help themselves to as much or as little as they want. On the first night we discovered that the room wasn`t quite soundproofed from a neighbouring room and seemed to be able to hear quite clearly their conversation etc, as this only happened on that night wasn`t a problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mr & Mrs P from Hampshire, UK

Excellent fo the fit!

Posted Mar 25, 2013
Pros: Staff and appearance of hotel
Cons: the walk back at the end of the day
Friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable hotel, wonderful breakfast, you do need to be fit to stay here as it is an up hill walk every time you 'come and go' - not for the faint hearted! However very atmospheric and in the most authentic part of Lisbon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Debbie from Portsmouth, UK

Historic hotel for couples.

Posted Mar 6, 2013
Pros: Quietness and comfort. Unusual setting.
Location: Set within the walls of a castle,steep climb from main city. few local restaurants,
Very unusual hotel set within the walls of St George's castle, \(take flat shoes) very high up and steep climb from main city. Lovely tranquil setting, verging from old to modern very tastefully done, breakfast taken in lounge area, cooked and variety of cereals etc, plenty for all. afternoon tea, coffee and pasties also complimentary. Selection of toiletries in room also complimentary sherry . Felt very homely and comfortable, would recommend to couples mainly, but not those with walking difficulties.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deborah from London, UK

Lovely retreat

Posted Jan 17, 2013
Pros: The location, the staff, the building, the ambiance, the coffee, the breakfast...
Cons: Strange design of the cupboard in our room, that made it difficult to access any hung clothes.
Location: Fabulous - we loved the walk up to the castle. Imagine ending the day with your own bit of 'castle' to retreat to.
We had a wonderful stay in this little oasis in the city. The peacocks in the courtyard were an added bonus - they actually belong to the castle, but love the tranquility of the hotel courtyard, so that's telling you something!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barbara & John from Harrisburg, PA, USA

Great Hotel with an Old World feel

Posted Nov 18, 2012
Solar do Castelo was absolutely charming and the staff extremely helpful with recommendations for dining and touring. The hotel is situated next to the castle and, while it is a bit of an uphill hike, there were many restaurants and shops close by and the 737 Bus and the 28E Tram put us in the heart of town in a matter of minutes. The hotel rooms overlook a perfectly charming courtyard and the castle's peacocks provide daily entertainment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michael

Posted Nov 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
Nice location if you don't want to see the more modern parts of Lisbon, but we found it a bit isolated. We realized that this was a difficult location to find when our taxi driver couldn't find it and dumped us and our luggage in a grotty neighbourhood to find it for ourselves (took about 1 hour with all our luggage in tow). Lack of a fridge or minibar was a minus, as was the additional cost of 14 Euro per person for a fairly mundane buffet breakfast (especially as the lodgings were just as expensive as any 5 star hotel in the central city. The staff were great and very helpful, but we also found that having guests directly above us, the room was extremely noisy (high heels on wooden floors). All in all, great for perhaps a night or two, but not a good base to see Lisbon from, especially for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from London

Oasis of calm

Posted Aug 15, 2012
Pros: The courtyard
Cons: Can't think of any
Location: Fantastic
This hotel felt small and personal, it felt like an oasis of calm in the city. The service was excellent and I would recommend it to anyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best place in Lisbon!

Posted Aug 13, 2012
Pros: The location, view and staff.
Cons: Air conditioning was not so strong during the heat wave. Pigeons on food in the outside patio. Breakfast was great, but the same everyday.
Location: AMAZING. We loved being on the hill by the castle.
Staff was so very helpful. We had a great view, in room 21