Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Lovely building, set up for functions

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Exterior, architecture, period furniture, wireless access. Very good breakfast.
Cons: Comfort, color coordination, warmth.
Location: Old mill town. Little to do; had to drive 5 miles to find places to eat on a Sunday
One night stay, rainy day. Wanted to stay in and read, but no comfy chair in room, no public living room as they've converted those to dining and a bar for functions. No sense of a 'homey' feel, although the furniture is great. No curtains over the blinds, ugly window A/C, no cover on bathroom light bulb in our 'gold' room, no desk, arm chair or sofa, so you have to lay on the bed to watch TV or read in comfort. More like a museum than a B&B.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, historic, beautiful and charming B & B

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Historic architecture, setting, furnishings and amenities
Cons: nothing at all
Location: I was only passing through, but would have loved to explore Little Falls more, the Erie Canal is there, the locks, and the Adirondack trail
Welcome, stay and food were all excellent. A totally enjoyable experience - beautiful setting and beautifully decorated - a real treat. The B&B overlooks the charming and very picturesque town of Little Falls, NY nestled in the hills and on the Erie Canal. Easy access off the Interstate, but feels worlds away -- very peaceful and quiet - a truly lovely place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
Was a lovely hotel, with clean spacious rooms! The manager of the hotel was attentive and friendly. Will definitely stay again when I am in the area once again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brockport, NY

A Diamond in the Rough!

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: It is not your average B & B... The grounds were lovely, John, the bar to make your own drinks, the coat of armor and the rooms were tops!!
Cons: The Mansion is beginning to show some wear. Please try and keep up with all of the maintaince because I would hate to see that happen.
Location: We just stumbled upon this because of a softball tournament.... I know I will be back to go to the murder mystery dinner. The dining was great.
My daughter had a softball tournament in Herkimer so my wife got on line and found this wonderful Mansion. Not knowing it was Mother's Day weekend at the time we booked the B & B. We arrived around 3 pm and was meet with the "John of All Trades" He made us feel right at home and my wife and I made ourselves a couple of cocktails at the bar and took them to the open porch and sat down on a very lovely Saturday afternoon. John gave us several tips on where to eat. We ate at the Canal Side Inn. The menu was just what we were looking for. Then Sunday morning we had a wonderful Mother's Day Brunch.... very pleasantly surprised! The weekend was one that we will remember for a long time and will tell our friends about. The other over night guests were sitting with us at the Brunch and they told us about their weekend plans of a Murder Mystery dinner. We will be back to do that some day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: The View.
Cons: Nothing
Location: We also went to Beardsley castle for dinner, and that was excellent also.
We arrived at the Inn and the caretaker was so eager to please. He even carried our luggage upstairs for us. Very nice view!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michelle from Poughkeepsie NY

Overlook Mansion Christmas Stop!

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels
My Husband, myself and two business partners had a wonderful weekend at overlook Mansion. We are Senior Consultants with Ambit Energy and had a Christmas Party to attend at Beards lee Castle. We chose the Overlook Mansion due to the great reviews and of course the atmosphere. We were not disappointed. Jim was the first person to greet us and he made us feel welcomed.As my business partners and I sat at the open bar we laughed together and shared stories. It was about 1Am, we were all in pajamas and we felt like we were home with our friends. The gas fireplace glowed in the entry foyer, the dining room was set up with elegant settings and the open area's were prepared for an event the next day. The bedrooms were well appointed and the beds were comfortable and freshly made up. The mansion is set high above the little town and you can see forever on a clear day. Breakfast was fresh fruit, coffee, tea,OJ,and a variety of choices, and 4 massive omelets were served. I could not finish mine. The cantaloupe was so sweet and fresh, my business partner said i'd love to have this every day. Overlook mansion is a wonderful choice when passing through Little Falls NY. Thank You Jim for going above and beyond, you made our stay special. We will return soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Started mysterious...ended fabulous...gourmet breakfast and good company.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by RICHARD from ROTTERDAM, NEW YORK

A VERY PLEASANT EXPERIENCE

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels
I chose this Bed and Breakfast at first because of the architecture of the building and the other reviews listed. Upon arriving at the Overlook it was very apparent that all the other reviews were right. Jim (innkeeper)greeted us at the door and from that moment on made himself available to us at anytime for any concern. Jim made us feel more than welcomed and that at no point were we a bother to him. My wife and I would go back again just to talk to and spend time with Jim. Of course the breakfasts were way above what you would expect as other reviews have said. Lastly, Jamie, the owner, is a very unassuming and nice gentlemen. Overall, a 6 out of 5 rating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent chiice

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Caring staff
Cons: Temp control in bedroom
Location: Close to I90
Beautiful antique castle-like mansion has modern conveniences. Staff was friendly, helpful and caring. Everything was clean and the dining room elegant. Best was the omelet for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tricia from Tennessee

A Must Stay

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
This was a very cool B&B! I would recommend The Overlook Mansion to anyone if you are traveling in the area. Well kept 125 year old house and breakfast was wonderful!!!