Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chesterfield

friendly staff - room big and spacious

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: the rooms were very good
Cons: didn't stay long enough to answer this question
Location: very central for shops bars and dining out
only stayed for one night but would stay again if I visited the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by wayne webster from w

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2013
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Desperate from Yorkshire

Could do with a good clean

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
The owners were friendly and coffee was nice at breakfast and I'm afraid that's where the positives end, the self service breakfast was cold even though I went for it as soon as it started (07:30) room was dirty and needed a good clean as did the shower, the shower wasn't very good water just dribbled out, and the room or bedding didn't smell to good either, I wouldn't return and I'm not normally fussy been a contractor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Golf
by male 54 from Essex

Good value for the price

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were warmly greeted and shown a large twin room with 2 double beds. Both were slightly saggy. Heating didn't work but a plug in radiator had been provided. A good breakfast was provided albeit they were experiencing issues with a new heated serving area which meant wasn't hot. That said for the price we paid for two blokes looking to stay cheaply and play golf it was perfectly adequate. Not somewhere I would stay with my wife but another golf trip then yes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Balmoral Lodge Hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: Close to the venue.
Location: Very close to the train station (on the same road), local shops and restaurants.
Staff were very helpful on arrival. Room was clean and tidy. There was a lot of variety for breakfast, cooked, cereal or toast etc. Would use again on next visit to Southport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by David from Wales

A good stop off on our way north

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
My wife's mother had an excellent garden room: we an adequate second floor room. Breakfast was more than adequate but a little eccentric in presentation. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel wasn't expecting our dogs but welcomed them.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cramped attic room.

Posted Sep 19, 2013
The room was disappointing. Severely in need of redecoration, cramped and cluttered. The pillow was in a cushion cover. The single bed littered with cushions. On retiring the only place to put them was the very limited floor space. There wasn't even room in the cramped wardrobe floor area for my holdall because a convector heater was stored there so my bag was also on the floor. The shower tiles were covered in ridges of silicon sealant not at all well presented. On arrival my toilet was blocked and there were what looked like black cat hairs on the surfaces including the tray housing the tea cup etc. In contrast to the above I have to say that when the blockage was reported the staff response was immediate and effective and my request for a change of pillowcase was met swiftly and courteously. The staff were good to deal with. I didn't use the breakfast room, the lounge or the bar so I have no comment to make about these facilities. My single room may not be representative of the other rooms as the Balmoral Lodge displays an AA 2 star rating but I was very disappointed. Overall the staff great, the room poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Friendly

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Friendly, cheap hotel. Overall decent stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Leicester, UK

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Pros: The room in the garden wing.
Cons: none
We were delighted with our stay at the Balmoral Lodge. Our room in the garden wing was lovely and the staff couldn't have done more. We certainly hope to return at a later date and have already recommended it to friends.