Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Would not stay here

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was decent
Cons: Noise levels, cleanliness in bathrooms
Location: Very close to Sefton Park
Stayed here during a wedding, firstly our home was literally vibrating until 12.30 - obviously you expect some noise during an event but this was like being in the actual function room. The bathroom was dirty and grimy with a sink that didn't really even drain. Wouldn't stay here. Avoid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

No pushchair access to room

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Cons: No remote. Ran out of breakfast at 9.30
No access to the room with a push chair. Room good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steve t

stevie t

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Get the room properly prepared next time
Location: Reasonably central for city centre, right next to the beautiful Sefton Park
For an executive room it was small, the usual biscuits-coffee-sugar etc were lacking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Actually good location although not in city centre

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Did the job.
Cons: In need of upgrading, clean the net curtains.
Location: Location was actually great, our taxi driver helped us find a street (Lark Lane) which had nice bars & restaurants which was a nice alternate to town.
Similar to other Best Western's I have stayed in the past, the decor and hotel is a little dated. The curtains could do with a clean, but other than that it was a clean hotel and did the job that we needed which was a bed for the night and a shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Location - close to Sefton Park / Lark Lane
We had a mini break over the Easter holiday at this hotel. Lovely surroundings, hotel staff were excellent in particular Rob (up the baggies). Helped us to find our way around the sites of Liverpool. Rooms have everything you need - tv, docking station, cd radio and the free wifi was excellent. Our package included breakfast and this was excellent - good selection. The hotel is used for weddings but this did not interfere with the services that we received from the hotel staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helenafrom Durham

Christening.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: It was very clean and welcoming good security for the cars. The staff were friendly especially our waite who attended to us on the Sunday.
Cons: The bed
Location: Sefton park, Penny Lane and the city itself is not too far away
We stayed at the Alicia hotel for the first time, my husband grand daughter and myself. The room was a good size clean and tidy. It was a bed settee for the third bed. This was a little thin and on an angle, it was ok for a thin person, but would have been uncomfortable for anyone heavier. Only two cups two glasses and very little toilet roll, which I am sure I could have informed them about but we were only staying one night, but a room booked for three should have had three of these things. The waiter took the time to show us the bar and the garden as we had asked him about them. I noticed he also gave a very friendly and warm welcome to a couple of returning guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tonyfrom Durham

Lovely overall.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff. The location.
Cons: The rooms need to be bigger - not sure how you can do that though; it is what it is. Good job we didn't have a cat cos we couldn't have swung it!
Location: The hotel is pretty much in Sefton Park which is just beautiful. The nearby Lark Lane is lively with lots of places to eat and drink.
Staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Superb location. Rooms were a bit small and cramped but clean and tidy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brianfrom Belfast

Handy for Hope University halls.

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: Location, and friendly helpful staff.
Cons: Could do with a bit of redecoration - starting to feel a bit tired in places.
Location: Right beside Sefton Park.
The hotel is very good with really pleasant, friendly helpful staff. The breakfast is good with a good range of options. The staff at breakfast were particularly helpful and pleasant. The room we had while nicely furnished and the bed was comfortable was a bit on the small side. I have been in larger ship cabins. It is just the nature of the building. But there is little space to place luggage or move about. (hence the OK rating for room comfort) Other rooms in the hotel are larger. It didn't matter too much as we were not in the room other than to sleep. The up side of this room was it had a large bathroom. I stored my luggage case in the bathroom without any space problem. Would stay again and call ahead to request a larger room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A&Pfrom Scousers in Bristol

A good hotel away from the city centre.

Posted Apr 27, 2013
Pros: The staff.
The hotel is about 3 miles from the city centre (about £6 in a taxi) on the edge of Sefton Park. The rooms are quiet with some having views onto the park. (Our room was at the side and looked onto a derelict block of flats!) As Liverpudlians we know the city and were happy travelling into the centre by bus - strangers might find the location less appealing. The bus stops are a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. The nearby Lark Lane is lively during the evening with lots of bars and bistros; it's worth a look. I would also recommend that you walk into the park and visit the Palm House. The best thing about the hotel is the staff. The ladies on reception were polite and welcoming. Special praise is due to Ahmed and the lady who helped him in the breakfast room - they provided an excellent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2011 on Hotels.com