Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by GF from Sussex

Known locally as Fawlty Towers by taxi drivers?

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Have to say not a lot. Would not stay there again.
Cons: Everything basically. The hotel looked 'tired' and in need of a complete update.
Location: Liverpool? Great looking city. Albert Docks was fantastic and vibrant - lots to see, do, eat and drink. People were brilliant and very friendly.
Firstly, the hotel got my booking wrong. I requested two doubles and a twin. Got two triples and a twin. The first room offered had six power points - 4 of which did not work. The only power outlet that did work was right at the entrance of the room, behind the main door. No room for a table, or anything for that matter. We asked for a different room. We got a double. No wardrobe, just a hanger bar hung between the old fireplace and the side wall... and a cloth hanging shelf compartment about as wide as a shoe, supplemented by a 3-drawer unit which was about 9" across by 8" deep... so pretty useless! By this time we were exhausted after a 6 hour drive so took the room. My mistake... The walls were paper thin, so everyone that walked along the corridor outside our room sounded like Godzilla. Every door in the corridor could have benefited from a spray of WD40, as they all creaked noisily. Then we came to use the shower. It looked fine, however more water came out of the chrome pipe feeding the shower head than the head itself. The bathroom tiled floor was in desperate need of some grouting, as there were complete sections where there simply wasn't any.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful view . Not the ritz but you get what you pay for . Staff very helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Handy for Liverpool centre and outskirts

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Free parking and a homely feeling to it
Cons: clean up shower sealant, ventilate room ahead of arrival, pillows were useless + some signs reminding guests to be quiet on the corridor at 2am!
Practical for what we needed and reasonable price. Bathroom could do with some refreshment, the mould in the sealant was a little disappointing and the colour of the shower head speaks volumes as to when it was last cleaned! But the hotel was ok, the room a reasonable size, light and comfortable enough for a one night stay. In its day it must have been a wonderful place, but it needs a little refurbishment, which I suppose is why it was the cheapest hotel for us to book on that night!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jen from york

where to start...

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
A disappointing stay; the appearance of building from the outside promises so much and then you enter the hotel. A rude receptionist greeted us after we had to ring to check in, she then just pointed us in the general direction of our room before turning around and walking off again. The room on entry appeared clean but looked cheap and nasty. The bedding was white but thin and cheap which gave the overall room an unpleasant feel. The bathroom was by far the best part of our room; it was clean and modern with a lovely shower and bath tub, the only problem was that you couldn't switch the towel heater off which meant that at 1 o'clock in the morning when we got to our room after attending a wedding the room was sweltering. When we awoke in the morning, we headed downstairs for breakfast, which was hugely underwhelming. The choice of breakfast cereals, yoghurts and fruit was a pleasant surprise but the cooked breakfast was the main downfall. The man serving the cooked breakfast was rude, enjoyed complaining about his job to any poor soul that would listen and had absolutely no manners. The cooked breakfast in itself was cheap and there was little choice. Not only that but the rude breakfast man had a love for clearing away plates before everyone on the table had finished eating. Definitely not worth the £85 I paid to stay there (which didn't include breakfast and was an additional £12).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Convenient, good price, comfortable

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Purchased at a low price and therefore was decent value for money. All the facilities you would expect from a hotel room for the price. Thanks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Deb from Wales

Good bed for the night

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was adequate for our needs as we only really needed a bed for the night. The room was spacious and mainly clean (a little dusty on top shelf of the wardobe). Hotel is around a 10 minute drive from town so taxi/car would be needed. Did not use the restaurant for breakfast so unable to comment on that. Staff were pleasant and hotel was quiet
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont book here if you want to sleep!

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Cons: Needs modernising and sound proofing
Location: Not too far from town
On entering the hotel we were given the key to the room which when we got through to was clean and tidy but very basic. The heating was on and the room was warm but the heating was broken so you couldnt turn it down so it got quite hot. The taps would turn on and off but the top would come off in your hand. All of this said for what you pay you cant argue too much with the room. There was a wedding on so there was a lot of noise from the function room but it was bareable, what wasnt bareable was the fact that the walls were paper thin and you could hear every movement from the ajoining rooms. At one stage next door slumped onto their bed and phyiscally moved me from mine and then snoring all night kept me awake as if they were next to me. I was very disappointed with this and would not reccomend staying here
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Passed through

Posted Oct 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Didn't hang around. This place was at first impressions a dump. Half run down and boarded up, Smashed windows. Nobody attending reception in the function area with no sign of life, not even a bell or a phone!! Finally found hotel reception but receptionist too busy to attend. Big wedding on at the time so anticipating a noisy night and not too impressed by the decor decided to cut my losses and head home.