Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Value for money standard hotel with character.

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, affordable rates, car parking, free wifi and the general feel of not just another modern hotel 'chain'. It's quirky.
Cons: General hotel condition e.g paint / gloss work.
Location: 5-10 minutes walk to Macdonalds / Iceland / newsagent - where the bus stop is. Next door to Shell petrol station.
Visited Liverpool for the 3 Queens (Cunard) event and stayed for 2 nights. Chose this hotel which is only a short journey outside of the city centre purely because it had ample car parking and within budget for the weekend away. 5-10 min walk away from bus stop for services 9 / 10 / 10A - very frequent every 10 mins into the city even on a Sunday and bank holiday. £4 day rover ticket unlimited travel. Alternatively taxi during the day approx £7 o/w. All of this travel advice was given to me by receptionist Mikey - very helpful and pleasant. The hotel in general is in need of some TLC and could easily be achieved by a lick of paint - still keeping the character of an old country hotel. However saying that you couldn't fault the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. Spacious room with wardrobe, trouser press, desk & good size mirror plus comfortable bed. Stayed in room 203 garden view. Although we didn't try breakfast (didn't get up early enough) at £6 it sounded very reasonable. Hotel hosts private functions and had 2 weddings that weekend - from the outside room looked well decorated and lovely front garden to have a drinks reception. Would definitely stay again at the Devonshire House Hotel. It may not be for everyone's taste and the hotel does have mixed reviews but for us it was ideal and ticked the boxes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

weekend visit

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Clean, friendly staff good location lovely grounds
Cons: Little TLC here and there
Location: Good location. Parks opposite, Only 30 minute walk from city center
Overall we were very happy with our stay at the Devonshire House Hotel. It fulfilled all our requirements for our short stay in Liverpool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Lukas from Helsinge

Godt hotel, hvis man ikke skal være der meget.

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Et glimrende hotel, der lå lidt udenfor centrum, men hotellets receptionister var flinke til at ringe efter en taxa. Vi var der kun et par dage og prioriterede slet ikke at kigge på hotellets faciliteter, men umiddelbart så der ud til at være pænt og nydeligt.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Major update needed

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Quite run down and needing major renovation. Staff friendly. Good car park. Room cleanliness was good but multiple plates from another rooms room service were on the floor of the corridor for over 18 hours. Someone should be spot checking all of the shared spaces. I dont normally give bad reviews but I hope this building does get the attention it needs to bring it up to the standard it should be in such a great city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Elsa from UK

We'd stay here again.

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here before and the hotel is in a good location, extremely clean. Spotless bedding and towels. The bathroom is also very clean. Yes, the hotel is a little dated but it's really comfortable, the gardens are absolutely beautiful. We didn't have breakfast but it's priced at £6 per person so good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from Badby in Northamptonshire

Good value at a reasonable cost

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable and large bed much appreciated by this 6 foot 2 inch customer. Only things which didn't work were the reading lamp (bulb gone?) and one 13 amp socket. Shower excellent, toilet flush gave trouble but was promptly fixed. Reception staff friendly and cooperative. Breakfast a little limited in scope but otherwise quickly and pleasantly served. We would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from istanbul

Would not stay there again....

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: It was close to the city center.
Location: There was nothing near by the hotel, you need to go to the city center.
The heating was terrible, in one room it was not working and in the second room, although the heating system, the room was just warm. In WC, you have one cold and one hot water taps, so you can not mix them. I saw that style of taps in very old houses from 50 years ago.In the lobby there was just a couch for 4 people, vandingmashine was not working and elevator was terrible.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MEI LING from 香港

最差的酒店

Posted Feb 7, 2015 on Hotels
從未住過咁差嘅酒店,房間冇暖氣,電視冇搖控,牆壁燈冇燈泡,浴室好多野爛左冇更換,同服務台講,佢話15年來都冇人投訴過,問佢可否換房間,一句話冇就算。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

location , location

Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels
were going to vist anfield football club and watch match on evening. location good ,staff very helpful and polite. location great for our trip and also city centre though we didn't have time to get there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels