Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Great guesthouse at Southport.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Host and food!
Cons: Some minor maintenance which was inconsequential.
Location: Imperial hotel for fine pub meals, other restaurants, 2nd longest pier, walk along waterfront at sundown!
Ellendale was a fine spot for our 3 night stay. Close to Southport Pier and train station. 45 mins to Liverpool by train. Imperial Hotel one block away was easy walk with great food. 2 for 1 menu every night. The guesthouse was a great experience because John the host was so helpful. Genuinely interested in our enquiries. Breakfast brilliant. One of the best- choice and variety. Wonderful!
3 out of 5
by Magicman from Telford

Close to the sea front

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The breakfast were excellent. plenty of choice and well cooked
Cons: The owners have had the property on the market for 6 years and it shows. Very neglected and run down.
Location: Easy walk into the town centre and all of the facilities
Extremely convenient location, the town centre and facilities are all within walking distance. Had a reasonable double room on the front of the building, but not very big and the en suite bathroom was miniscule and not of an acceptable standard. The bed was rock hard and probably the worst we have ever slept in.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dancer from Nottingham

Bizarre host

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The guest house appears clean and tidy and has on site parking which is very useful. The room rate is competitive, slightly less than some, which is probably as it is a little away from the centre, but this has the advantage that it makes it a nice quiet location. My room was fine and the bed was comfortable. On arrival I asked for an ironing board which was promptly provided in the dining room as the owners had had some problems with guests ironing in their rooms. My issue with this guest house, which would prevent me staying there again is the host. When I asked about using a taxi to go to the Floral Hall he seemed horrified that I wasn't prepared to walk (I am female, I was staying on my own and was attending an evening function that required a long gown and I was going to wear 4" heels). For breakfast the following morning I asked for scrambled egg with a croissant (instead of toast). I was effectively told this would have been too much for me to eat and the implication was that I was greedy. This was rather embarrassing as there were other guests in the dining room. I chose to leave the guest house without eating breakfast and so I cannot comment on the standard of the food. In summary, if you want a quiet, clean guest house, slightly out of the centre and don't mind being told is suitable for you to eat, this will be fine for you. I was due to stay here at Easter but will be cancelling my booking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Great hosts, very accommodating!

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hosts, very accommodating! Excellent breakfast and nice clean room and facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ken from london

Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
To far from work location your mileage was well short
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good value for money, great breakfast excellent service go there its a nice place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Birmingham

Home from Home - When can I return...............?

Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have to say that this Bed and Breakfast was a delight to stay at. The room was spotless and lovely and warm and the bed.......well..........comfortable is not the word. I don't think I moved all night! I did particularly like the teapot in the room so I could make a decent cup of tea. When I need somewhere to stay next time I'm in the area, it would be well worth a detour. A credit to John and his wife.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kevin from Chatham

perfect location

Posted Jan 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
I thoroughly enjoyed my overnight stay. The room was warm and comfortable. Although the locks on the front door where quite elaborate the instructions given where detailed and easy to follow. The breakfast was well cooked and tasty with plenty of variety. The only fault I could find was that the website didn't mention the cut off point for booking at reception which was sorted out when I arrived with the minimum of fuss. I would not hesitate to stay there again when in the area or recommend this hotel to my colleagues as an ideal place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com