Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Cecilia from Des Plaines, IL

Great resort for golfers!

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: The food was excellent (not counting the breakfast) and the service was great!
Cons: The major flaw was that the location was out of the way. But, of course, that cannot be changed. If you like golf, though, this is the place for you
Location: Great restaurant down the road from the resort -- The Sparrowhawk
We traveled here recently and for a golfer, this one is just sublime. For non-golfers, it's OK too, but aside from a fitness center with a pool, there is not much to do for non-golfers here. Aside from that, the hotel itself is very, very nice. Our twin room had a shower stall AND a bathtub, something I had yet to see in England in my price-range of hotels. The room was spacious and had a desk and two other chairs. It was VERY comfy. I would stay here again, though ONLY for golf.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by The Hotel Inspector from Ware

Plesant stay

Posted Nov 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
General nice, however you have to pay additional to avoid your room looking over an enclosed car park.Nice room chocolates pitty they and the box where wet (dropped in water ?!). Bar food ok but grilled chicken burger was only luke warm and definately not been grilled. The bathroom has some mould spots. Problems reported and was told I would get an email back - no reply. Room for improvement! Gym was ok but smallish, few heavy weight or machines. Bedroom was of good size and nice decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gary from Leicester

Posted Jun 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Love this place, stayed twice and will return when working in southport area
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Matthew from Cambridge

Great stay

Posted Jun 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The best hotel I have stayed in within the UK in 2013.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mr P Mare from London, UK

Excellent hotel for business or pleasure

Posted May 31, 2013
Pros: Massive comfortable room, big bathroom with seperate bath and shower. Shower amazing
Location: Lovely setting, restaurant overlooks the golf course so very peaceful.
Stayed here while on business meeting. Staff very friendly, rooms are fantastic, shower was AMAZING. Will stay here again when in the area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dave from Scotland, UK

Saturday overnight stay

Posted Dec 27, 2012
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Bar prices, we went into Formby for our drinks
With a company Xmas party and our room being close to the lifts we were awakened several times by happy and once unhappy, party goers returning noisely to their rooms. I understand not taking these party bookings would be financially suicidal, but why not give the party goers the rooms nearest to the lifts and the rest of us can get some sleep. Everything else was top class with the breakfast worthy of special mention.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by cjb

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Karen B

Relaxing break close to Southport

Posted Nov 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great facilities with a gym and pool, so something to do while it poured outside. 2 choices of food, bar or resturant. We chose resturant which was very nice. Staff friendly and efficient. Will definately book again. Nearby Fairview can get to the beach and Southport 10mins drive. We went to Haydock races the following day, 20 mins drive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice property

Posted Nov 7, 2012
Cons: bed
Not the the most comfortable of hotel beds and we were told upon check-in that we would have a king bed, but we had a double in the fittings of a king unit, which made the bedside tables quite far to reach, all other aspects of our stay were fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by sean senior

very special

Posted Nov 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was a dream come true just wished i could of stayed 2 nights as was fully booked on the sat 3rd november. ...but our stay was very special. ..due to my self having head and kneck cancer i wanted to have a special weekend away And formby hall hotel was a blast the reception staff went out of there way for me very polite kind careing and very good at there job we got there just befor 7pm at to be given our lovely hotel room was just what i needid. ...brakefast well can not fault it inn anyway. ..this hotel made my recovery even more special will be comming back very soon. ..but the dates are saying fully booked arrrrrrrrr friday 23rd till the 25th of november xxxxx hope there come free xxxx thank you all at this special fantastic hotel