Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas USA

Perfect home base In Livingstone

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Location: Lots to do in the area-- tour the town and the local markets, fish the Zambezi, ride an elephant, see Victoria Falls, so much more...
This is a beautiful, professionally managed hotel. I loved my stay there, from the yummy and elegant breakfasts, to the friendly staff, to the perfect location-- close to town but a short distance to Victoria Falls and many day trips in the area. They also graciously stored my suitcase for me free of charge while I took in a 3 day safari in Botswana. I have already recommended Protea to several friends interested in a trip to Zambia, and will do the same here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tel Aviv, Israel

Excellent hotel in a good location

Posted May 1, 2015
Location: Victoria Falls are a must! If you can, go to the Devil's Pool.
The hotel was great - the rooms were comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly. The location was very convenient, allowing us to walk to some restaurant and take a short taxi ride to the major tourist attractions (Victoria Falls etc.). Also, there is a tourist office in the hotel where you can get recommendations and tickets for the tourist attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Approx half way between town and the falls

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Good, friendly service from all staff.
Cons: Some breakfast items could be improved - baked beans were hard and cold, pork and beef sausages were not good. This may just be our personal taste!
Location: Good location for visiting Livingstone town, the Royal Livingstone hotel and the Victoria Falls.
Great service at a comfortable hotel. Approx 20 - 30 min walk into town and 5 mins/$10 USD in a taxi to the falls. Our room was overlooking the garden area as opposed to facing the railway line behind the hotel. We stayed for 3 nights with each night enjoying uninterrupted sleep. The buffet breakfast included in our room rate was adequate. Although some of the items were not to our personal taste there was enough choice to provide us with an acceptable breakfast each morning. We booked a one way, arrival taxi transfer from Livingstone airport to the hotel, through the onsite tour company at the hotel. We paid $USD 28 (for 2 adults) for this and received a prompt, friendly and courteous service. We later found out that another local taxi would have charged us $16 however there were very few taxis readily available at the airport when arrived mid afternoon. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and extremely helpful offering us mosquito repellent when we sat at the outside bar, loaning us a hotel umbrella to walk into town and staff at the tour centre were equally as helpful. We found that most places in Livingstone expecting to interact with tourists were happy to accept $USD as payment although you would get a better rate and you certainly need the local currency to buy a drink/fast food/items in the supermarket etc. To get the best rate when exchanging USD$ into ZMK use the banks in town - don't forget to take your ID even if only exchanging a small amount!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carman, Manitoba, Canada

Very suitable for the local attractions

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Open layout, yet private from the surroundings.
Cons: Pool was not kept as clean as we would be used to. Hard to do for the area no doubt.
Location: Short drive to Victoria Falls, and very close to many attractions.
We enjoyed our stay and felt very welcomed by the warm and gracious staff. Close to Victoria Falls and could be picked up by shuttle for every attraction we went to. Great layout and format.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mr G M

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Comfortable for a 3 star hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
For a 3 star hotel, the hotel is very comfortable. Have very friendly staff members. The reception staff was always willing to assist with organising transport for us. BUT I organised a shuttle via the hotel and I confirmed everything on email. on our arrival there was no shuttle and we have to find our way from the Zim side to the Zambian side. They could not even offer us a discount for the shuttle going back to the hotel. I found the airport shuttle service very sloppy in their work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal location to visit Victoria Falls.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Attentive and friendly staff. Swimming pool an added bonus.
Two night stay in peaceful surroundings near the hot spot location of Victoria Falls. Excellent breakfast buffet and evening meal a delight with no need to venture out after dark.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent base to explore Victoria Falls

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Large comfortable rooms, very friendly staff.
Cons: Quality of restaurant menu
Location: Perfect for visiting the falls
Booked hotel for 2 nights so we could have a base next to the falls. The hotel was perfect for this purpose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karen from England

Clean friendly helpful but not pressurised.

Posted Jan 31, 2015 on Hotels
Loved our stay at protea hotel Livingstone. The falls were stunning, after noon tea at victoria hotel Zimbabwe was a treat. Wonderful sunset river cruise. Taxis are expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gilad from Tel Aviv

A great stay at the Protea, Livingstone.

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels
A very good hotel. big and clean rooms, staff members are polite, smiley and ready to help, a good rich breakfast and an open kitchen ready to serve lunch and dinner. the location is just outside the city center and 20 min (safe during the day) easy walk to a modern shopping center where you can find a supermarket and a coffee shop among others. The hotel has an activity center that can help you organize activities and contact related companies for you.all together, a great stay.