Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2014
We stayed here for two nights and had a marvellous time. The room and dining facilities were excellent. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Zambia

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, good security, ambiance with different places to sit. Pot of tea on the veranda extended the buffet breakfast time
Cons: Mattresses could be updated with pillow top mattress covers and mattresses where you don't feel the springs
Staff were friendly and helpful, relaxing setting, good cappucino and peaceful garden courtyard. Bed was very uncomfortable with a sagging mattresss, but the staff responded promptly and replaced the mattress for the second night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice comfortable hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Great stay at the Protea Hotel, close to Livingstone and taxi ride from Victoria Falls. As a single traveller I felt very comfortable and safe here and would recommend this hotel to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice hotel near the middle of Livingstone

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: I liked the cleanliness of the room and the set-up of the hotel.
Cons: The range of food at buffets could be improved.
Location: The hotel was about 2km from the centre of town and about 5km from Victoria Falls, the main tourist destination in Livingstone and Victoria Falls.
The hotel atmosphere was nice and relaxing, the set-up and decoration was very nice and inviting. The T.V selection was good and the wifi was acceptable. The restaurant was nice and they had a wide range of food regions covered in their menu, except on days when it was a buffet. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we would recommended it to our friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Great service

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Left my phone in a taxi and staff went out of there way to track it down. Great level of service shown
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good position.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Position. Facilities good.
Cons: Lighting in room could be improved. A lamp was available but no socket accessible near beds. Bed a little hard.
Location: Positioned beside main road to Victoria Falls
Good service. Quiet in spite of being on a main road. Helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Perthite

Lovely

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The architecture is lovely. Comfy spacious rooms. High Speed free wifi. Awesome staff. Tour operators pick and drop from here. Safe surroundings.
Cons: Universal electricity adaptor needed. Food is too pricey and beef was poor quality. Business centre closes too early. Shuttle to the centre needed!
Location: The location is just OK but safe. but there is a small shopping mall at 5 minutes, and a bigger one at 10 minutes both with ATM. Many eateries around
This was my first visit to Zambia and the staff made my visit really enjoyable and unforgettable, going out of their way to help me and sort out my needs. The room was spacious and classy, very comfortable, and the bathroom had a good set of toiletries with citronella repellent moisturiser included. The restaurant was open long hours and offer a varied selection of Zambian and international dishes. Although the hotel is located in the outskirts of the city, it takes 20 minutes walking getting to the Museum. There is a small shopping area at barely 3 minutes (with an ATM), and a big shopping mall with several cafes, restaurants and fast food, plus two ATMs (mind, they are all temperamental) mid way towards the Museum. Most tour operators pick up and drop off your visit to the falls, which is fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Victoria falls overnighter

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
overall a good stay - beautiful entry and dining room - good bed and large room. I was surprised at the general condition of the bathroom - it was clean but looked poorly built and maintained - really stood out from general good condition of the rest of the hotel. For the price it should be professionally redone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Liz from London

Lovely hotel in good location

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We only stayed for 1 night, but this was a lovely hotel with good services, very close to Victoria Falls (short taxi ride away).