Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Out of season makes for a reduced experience

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: The bedrooms are very comfortable with huge beds, lovely bathrooms and a good terrace.
Cons: The menu and wine list. More variety is required on both as well as better prices.
Location: The hotel is right on the river and there are many activities to do nearby. Safaris, walking with lions, river cruises, fishing, Victoria Falls,
Having seen all of the photographs of the hotel it seemed like this hotel was going to be complete paradise and indeed the greeting was warm and friendly. We were shown to our very comfortable room and were ready to don swimming trunks and hit the pool. Sadly the pool was "closed for maintenance". It looked more like the pool was closed for the low season. There was alternative use of the Zambezi waterfront's pool but having seen that, it was a murky pond more than a pool! The cocktails on the deck overlooking the Zambezi were excellent and when we went into Livingstone there were convenient shuttle buses to take us into and out of town. The supper was a severe disappointment. The low season manifests itself in a greatly reduced menu with two stews the only indication that you are in Africa. Otherwise it was chicken with lemon and herbs, a steak etc. The stews were expensive and fairly tasteless. The cheese board was also very expensive for what was "plastic" cheese. Gouda and other bland cheeses. We spoke to the executive Chef and he gladly refunded us the cost of the supper so fair play to the hotel for that. He also admitted that the reduced menu was on account of very few guests staying. The wine selection is also incredibly limited which is disappointing given the proximity to the fantastic selection of wines coming out of South Africa at the moment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everyting was great, except that the bathtube was dirty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh Scotland

Great location and staff

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Location: Livingstone and its people a delightfull town and the falls and river trips stunning.
Great staff friendly, prompt, honest, curteous. Great location although felt hard done to having to pay park fees to go in and out when we never visited the park on our stay. Location stunning and also the design of the lodge. Staff were a great help when wife slipped and broke arm at the falls. Only criticism is that was the only place in our 2 weeks in Zambia we saw mozzies and they got into the room because because of door lights and the doors not properly fitting. Inspite of covering ourselves in DEET 2x per day and sleeping under a net we still had plenty of bites on the legs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Anonymous

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Alefrom Mexico

Not good enough

Posted Jun 5, 2013
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Read the entire review, lots of bad things.
Location: Really good.
The lobby and common areas of hotel are very nice and clean. But the hotel really needs an urgent good maintenance team, it is very obvious how quickly the building is deteriorating. Walls are a bit dirty, towels are old (one with a whole, the other a bit burnt). Food is not good at all, (salad is akward and pasta too oily) there is a very limited menu, and food wasn't tasty, it is also very expensive, around 30 usd per person per meal. Activities are very expensive as well, I would recommend booking activities in advanced with other companies, once you get ther you are stucked in there. The scenery is beautiful. The lady livingstone cruise costs around 80 usd per person and includes drinks and snacks (good snacks). Staff is extremely helpful, we didn't have hot water one morning and they immediately fixed it. There was an electricity blackout in the room on our last day around 1 or 2 hours before check out. This is not a 5 star hotel at all, might be 4. We went a couple of times to the Royal Livingstone hotel and that hotel is just beautiful and great, we had lunch there and soup, salads and mains were super good, prices all over menu a bit cheaper than our hotel. If you can afford it and want to stay at a real 5 star, then stay at the royal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2014 by DLSL Mgt, Hotel Management
Dear Mr/ Ms. I thank you for taking precious time in order to complete our guest feedback questionnaire. I have taken cognisance of your constructive comments and have actioned as necessary, I do apologise for any inconvenience caused and appreciate your objective points raised as this enables us to continually assess strengths & weaknesses and identify training needs in order to continually strive to meet our goals in exceeding our discerning guests expectations. Again, thank you for visiting our beautiful part of Africa. We look forward to becoming you back to The David Livingstone in the not too distant future Yours in Hospitality
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sabinefrom Leverkusen

Tolle Lodge zum Entspannen

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Pros: Lage am Zambesi, Pool., Garten, die Affen
Cons: Gar nichts
Location: Perfekte Lage am Fluss mit wunderbarem Blick
Eine tolle Lodge. Wunderbar gelegen direkt am Zambesi. Die Zimmer sind einfach himmlisch und alles (vom GArten über die Anlage bis Restaurant, Bar, Zimmer etc. ist sehr harmonisch konzipiert (war hier ein Feng-Shui Profi am Werk?). Essen ausgezeichnet, nur die Steaks waren etwas klein. Service sehr nett und unaufdringlich. Alles in allem eine Lodge zum Aus- und Entspannen in perfekter Atmosphäre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mura

Sul fiume Zambesi e vicino alle cascate Vittoria

Posted Jan 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
>posto stupendo da Paradiso. Un po' troppo esosi nei costi di servizi che dovrebbero essere assolutamente compresi per un resort di quel livello con quei costi per notte.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Saunders

well positioned for activities and river frontage

Posted Dec 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable. Staff friendly. Dinner menu average and probably only slight let down although breakfasts very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value for money

Posted Nov 4, 2012
Pros: Excellent value for money, very comfortable bed, beautiful setting, helpful & professional staff.
Location: Right on the Zambezi. You can watch elephants across the river while you're in the pool.
I had traveled extensively in Zambia so I have an idea of the quality level to expect, but this hotel exceeded our expectations. The value for money is excellent. The staff were very helpful, cheerful and professional. The rooms were comfortable, especially the bed. And the location was great.