Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh Scotland

Great location and staff

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Location: Livingstone and its people a delightfull town and the falls and river trips stunning.
Great staff friendly, prompt, honest, curteous. Great location although felt hard done to having to pay park fees to go in and out when we never visited the park on our stay. Location stunning and also the design of the lodge. Staff were a great help when wife slipped and broke arm at the falls. Only criticism is that was the only place in our 2 weeks in Zambia we saw mozzies and they got into the room because because of door lights and the doors not properly fitting. Inspite of covering ourselves in DEET 2x per day and sleeping under a net we still had plenty of bites on the legs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Anonymous

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Ale from Mexico

Not good enough

Posted Jun 5, 2013
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Read the entire review, lots of bad things.
Location: Really good.
The lobby and common areas of hotel are very nice and clean. But the hotel really needs an urgent good maintenance team, it is very obvious how quickly the building is deteriorating. Walls are a bit dirty, towels are old (one with a whole, the other a bit burnt). Food is not good at all, (salad is akward and pasta too oily) there is a very limited menu, and food wasn't tasty, it is also very expensive, around 30 usd per person per meal. Activities are very expensive as well, I would recommend booking activities in advanced with other companies, once you get ther you are stucked in there. The scenery is beautiful. The lady livingstone cruise costs around 80 usd per person and includes drinks and snacks (good snacks). Staff is extremely helpful, we didn't have hot water one morning and they immediately fixed it. There was an electricity blackout in the room on our last day around 1 or 2 hours before check out. This is not a 5 star hotel at all, might be 4. We went a couple of times to the Royal Livingstone hotel and that hotel is just beautiful and great, we had lunch there and soup, salads and mains were super good, prices all over menu a bit cheaper than our hotel. If you can afford it and want to stay at a real 5 star, then stay at the royal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2014 by DLSL Mgt, Hotel Management
Dear Mr/ Ms. I thank you for taking precious time in order to complete our guest feedback questionnaire. I have taken cognisance of your constructive comments and have actioned as necessary, I do apologise for any inconvenience caused and appreciate your objective points raised as this enables us to continually assess strengths & weaknesses and identify training needs in order to continually strive to meet our goals in exceeding our discerning guests expectations. Again, thank you for visiting our beautiful part of Africa. We look forward to becoming you back to The David Livingstone in the not too distant future Yours in Hospitality
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Saunders

well positioned for activities and river frontage

Posted Dec 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable. Staff friendly. Dinner menu average and probably only slight let down although breakfasts very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value for money

Posted Nov 4, 2012
Pros: Excellent value for money, very comfortable bed, beautiful setting, helpful & professional staff.
Location: Right on the Zambezi. You can watch elephants across the river while you're in the pool.
I had traveled extensively in Zambia so I have an idea of the quality level to expect, but this hotel exceeded our expectations. The value for money is excellent. The staff were very helpful, cheerful and professional. The rooms were comfortable, especially the bed. And the location was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Zambia is a great place to visit

Posted Aug 21, 2012
The staff at the lodge were excellent; very attentive and friendly. Location on the Zambesi river was excellent. Trip up the river to see animals and view the sunset is a must.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from California

Amazing atmosphere, friendly staff, & gorgeous sunset!

Posted Oct 15, 2011
A friendly lodge all around! From the moment I stepped off the vehicle sent to pick me up at the Livingstone airport, I was greeted warmly. The staff was very courteous and answered all my questions, no matter how minor. The onsite Activity Center was a huge help with planning activities from the Devil's Pool to an Elephant Back Safari, and the transfers to and from. The modest breakfast is just right - not overwhelming & not too short on choices. I loved that I could get omelets made to order. Dinners were also nice and every so often, they have a buffet - try the roasted pork if you have a chance! The rooms were taken care of daily with the 6:30 PM turn down to prepare the awesome looking mosquito netting around your bed was great. They also refilled the water in the mini-fridge and bring a snack. The balcony view over looks the Zambezi River and allows for a nice breeze when you leave the glass doors open. The atmosphere was very safari lodge themed, but it was not unwelcomed. It was very relaxed and comfortable and watching the sunset from anywhere on the property is simply beautiful. They do have wi-fi, ranging from buying 1 hour for $1/hr. to buying set amount of MB. If there was one thing I'd like, it was that the room could've been swept out every morning - when you're wandering the bush, you bring in dirt - and scrub out the shower a bit better. Otherwise - a relaxing, casual atmosphered paradise. There are monkeys, so lock your doors when out!