Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to relax

Posted Aug 9, 2014
It is a little out of the way (20-25 euro taxi from the train station or 35 minute bus ride), but overall, quite nice. The private swimming area is great, with plenty of space to relax, assigned umbrella/chair for each room, boats, a diving board, a floating dock, etc. The breakfast balcony also has great views.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rex

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: It would be a good stop over between laces to lounge around on their beach. Restaurant was lively for local happy hour.
Location: Difficult getting there by train. Local station 10 min walk closing down and rain flooded streets so central station was hard to get to.
Non tourist area near a deserted train station. No English speaking staff. Large Hotel with hardly anyone staying. It was a stormy day so seemed empty. Good stop over on our way to Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Andre from NYC

Good local hotel.

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is decent. You get what you pay for. Location is great! Right on the beach! Staff is a bit unpleasant but there is a language barrier. Great restaurant next door. 15 minutes from the train station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: The beach, breakfast area and hotel location.
I have stay at this hotel for one night. The private beach is stony, but very clean and nice. Water is "perfecto". Rooms at 6 floor was less than i expected, but clean at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Seaside hotel mainly used by vacationing Italians

Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
A seaside hotel mainly used by vacationing Italian families. Extremely well kept but simple room, with balcony overlooking the Med. Plenty of space for two, clean, and free wifi. Breakfast on the patio overlooking the coast was wonderful, with good breakfast selection. Fun to watch the ship and ferry traffic out on the water. Excellent and courteous staff, and all spoke English well enough to be helpful, and they certainly tried very hard to please us! From the lower level there is a typical Italian umbrella deck with lots of sunbathers. Took a while to find the lifeguard staff on two occasions for an umbrella and towels, but we got a spot. A breakwater a short distance offshore makes for a very nice swimming area in which to relax. Would be great for families or couples. We recommend it, especially because there are mostly all Italian guests -- not a "tourist" hotel for non-Italians, but authentico.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Very nice hotel on the ocean

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a great stay at Rex Hotel. Not only was it close to the highway, making it so easy to go anywhere in Tuscany, but the hotel itself itself was superb, clean, the staff helpful and their breakfast delicious and plentiful. Their night restaurant was also quite nice and reasonably priced. On top Livorno is a turn of the century gem that one should discover.Finally, sitting on your balcony as you watch the sun set on the ocean what more can one wish for?
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from AUSTRALIA

Posted Jul 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a leaking shower in our room and the buffet breakfast was of poor standard. We had to wait lenthy periods to have plates refilled so we could have breakfast. Life saver was too interested talking to girls to bother with us wanting towels for swimming as there were no additional towels in our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from USA

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
I would definitely stay there again. The breakfast was fabulous, the staff very pleasant. Away from the downtown crowds. No problem. Thanks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from Connecticut

Great value for location and amenities.

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Location, price, terrace restaurant
Cons: Rooms are starting to get a little tired.
Location: Nice location (i.e., at the water) and 5 minutes away from the center of Livorno
Very nice break from other area hotels and a great price. Great location and terrace restaurant was very nice. Only critique was restaurant staff at the beach level....not sure if they were part of the hotel or not but noticed service to foreigners was not as good as to indigenous (local) folks. Overall experience was positive and I would stay there again.