Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Ljubljiana centrally located 4 star hotel.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Everything as written in the previous box.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It was close to all the restaurants, bars and the city's tourist sights as well as within walking distance to the bus and train stations.
We stayed 3 nights at the start of our Slovenian week's holiday and the last night before returning to London. This hotel was so welcoming from the moment we arrived onwards. It is a classic hotel with friendly attentitive staff who were always polite and friendly. Both my wife and I are regular travellers and we were both very impressed with our stay at the Best Western Slon Hotel. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean, the choice of the breakfast buffet was mouth watering and again the staff were there to look after us. Probably one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vienna

30 years of staying at this hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Well-refurbished rooms, classy atmosphere that draws from its past, friendly staff that makes everything happen.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Perhaps the best location in Ljubljana.
A very professionally run hotel, just as it was even in Communist times, only now the air conditioning and the breakfast is much better. A decent rate--and usually discounted on weekends--and a perfect location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in the city centre

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Hotel Slon is an extremely convenient location for exploring the city. The staff are friendly and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Very centrally situated. Close to town and all amenities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic places to stay and good location

Posted Aug 3, 2014
If you are looking for something comfortable as a base for exploring Ljubljana you won't go wrong with this. Cant recommend higher. Restaurant is okay too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Haifa, Israel.

Perfect location, close to the old city.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: It's location and it's braekfast
The stuff were friendly, location is grey close to the old city, breakfast was Very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Right in between Old Town and New Town - in the centre of everything. Great breakfast buffet. Comfy beds. There's a grocery store just around the corner that has fresh fruit, sandwiches, sushi etc for quick and cheap meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by LDA from New York

Great Hotel, Fantastic Service

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
You see "Best Western" and you think "roadside motel", but not this time. BW took over a beautiful property and maintains it like an old classic hotel. The rooms are very big and the hallways are charming. I had two very minor complaints. The bathroom had a huge tub with a shower head, but no shower curtain or door. Maybe this is a local custom, but the water splashed on the floor when I was showering. Also, the beds, while comfortable, could stand an update. Breakfast was pretty good and included in the rate. I ate at the restaurant - it was OK, but nothing special. Very inexpensive, though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by jbani from usa

for the deluxe rooms, you'll need to rely on luck

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a nice hotel and well located, but I do want to caution others that if they get the deluxe room, they might not get the same deluxe room that others get. When I checked-in I noticed that my room didn't match the specifications on the description when I booked it. It was much smaller, different from the photos, no sofabed, (nor was there any room for a sofa), etc. When I asked why my room didn't have the size or amenities as described when I booked the room, I was told that only some of the deluxe rooms have those amenities. So if you are fortunate to get one of the true deluxe rooms, then it's probably nice (based on reviews I read from other customers), but if like me, you get a room that is called deluxe but more accurately matches the description, dimensions, and photos of the standard rooms, you'll be disappointed that you paid the upgrade. My hunch is that if you book the room when it's not crowded, you'll get a true deluxe room, but if it's a busy time, then you'll have to rely on some luck.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Phil from London

Fantastic hotel

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Spacious room, comfy beds, great service, easy to walk to the centre of town, only 10 minute walk from the train station, and very friendly staff that were happy to help with anything. Loved it.