Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wells Somerset

A beautiful setting

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Lovely setting, beautiful food and friendly staff.
Cons: We would have liked a slightly larger room and a "proper" shower, but that's hardly an improvement, more a preference.
Location: Way off the beaten track in beautiful countryside. We wish we had had time to walk and explore more. But it's not far from lovely towns, too.
We only spent two nights here, sadly; a week or more would have been lovely! Our reason for being there was to visit the Eistedffodd so we didn't spend as much time as we would have liked exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside - except a mad dash over the mountain to get to concerts! So a return visit is definitely on the cards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Petlin from Rhyl, N. Wales

Overnight stay

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Lovely buzzy atmosphere, and it seemed to attract all ages of guests. Not to keen on the stuffed fox tho! But in keeping with the country area persuit
Cons: Perhaps a bit tighter control of food leaving the kitchen?
Location: Village is pretty but don't look for shops, you can get what you want in Llangollan not too far away, Church, and lovely stream, make it photographic.
Enjoyed our overnight stay, room was very pleasant,with nice view and attractively decorated. Bathroom was excellent. Evening meal was good, apart from my starter missing a couple of items from the plate. Breakfast was marred slightly by mouldy toast( also experienced by a previous reviewer), but the owner quickly apologised very nicely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Buckinghamshire

Excellent hotel very friendly and helpful.

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, welcome and wonderful food.
Cons: It would have been nice to have a chair in the room to sit at the dressing table/desk.
Location: Wonderful location near to most nearby villages good walks, narrow lanes one got used to, quiet peaceful location.
Only stopped overnight as was attending a relatives funeral next day. Allowed us to book out and the return Four hour later to change, wonderful service, will definitely stop again if in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Outstandingly beautiful location

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful 17th century hotel in lovely area. Some water stains on bedroom carpet and strong smell of damp at entrance outside bedroom. I would expect these issues to be addressed shortly when hotel would be perfect for a relaxing break or country walks. A hidden gem of a hotel. I would certainly return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by susiq from Cardiff

Fantastic stay

Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely room with great service. Would stay here again. Great location for Llangollen and North Wales.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by suamph from Cardiff

great service

Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely stay, nice clean room, good breakfast, friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dragos v from Lincoln

Very welcoming and helpful

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great food , friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike from Cotswolds

Another World

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: The location and warm, friendly atmosphere.
Cons: The en-suite would have benefitted with a shower rather than a bath.
Location: With a limited overnight stay, we did not explore local opportunities although walking in the beautiful river valley was an obvious attraction.
The direct journey from Llangollen should not be undertaken by the feint hearted having to follow single track, steep winding lanes. However, this is more than adequately compensated by the beauty and tranquility of the rolling Welsh hills and valleys. Do not do this journey in the dark! Arriving in Llanarmon, The Hand was immediately evident at the centre of the village which is perhaps better described as a rather quant, remote hamlet at the end of a valley. But well worth the journey. Despite a degree of modernisation over the years, The Hand retains its traditional character with beams, stonework and a welcoming open fire in the bar area. Our room was small but clean, cosy and comfortable. Regretfully we did not have dinner on our overnight stay but the menu looked positively enticing. The Welsh speaking clientele added to the atmosphere of what can only be described as a warm, friendly pub enhanced by the social involvement of the landlord and his wife. The hearty breakfast in the bath area with its open fire was an enjoyable experience with good friendly service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by oswaldjohn from Upton upon Severn

A great getaway

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely old inn seemingly in the middle of nowhere. Very welcoming hosts and staff, good food, wonderful warm fire and excellent real ale. Well worth the treck to find it. And, for old timer travellers such as my wife and myself, the pleasure of no mobile phone reception, just real conversation with real people in a friendly bar. Add The Hand to your must visit list if you're planning to be in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chelsea, London

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wonderful little quiet village. Friendly and helpful staff, clearly well managed. Great food in Restaurant at dinner and breakfast. Proper country pub. Room 3 had nice spacious bathroom with small river running outside window. Would go again for sure.