Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wrexham

relaxing experience

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: relaxing, nobody rushing you. The wifi coverage needs to be extended.
Cons: the fixed menu needs to be less complicated, robust standard food needed.
Location: Its located in Llangollen, you have the whole of North Wales to visit.
we went for a night away just for a break. Relaxing experience, good facilities, friendly staff and good food. Over all good value for the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salisbury

Nice hotel walking distance to town

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Clean and close to town
Cons: Bathroom facilities expecially a decent shower
Location: Town, barges, trains all very local
A very nice hotel the only disadvantage was that the shower had no power and only a small amount of water came, difficult to wash off soap, shower needs a refurbish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Exceeded expectations

Posted Sep 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Arrived late & tired after a 400mile drive. Easy to find, easy parking close to reception, friendly welcome with an efficient no dither check in. Room 201 was spacious, comfy bed, little bit tired around the edges but spotlessly clean. I can live with the odd patchy bit of maintenance, just as long as it's clean & fit for purpose. Great nights sleep & tasty breakfast. Shame I wasn't staying long enough to checkout the pool, but definitely stop there again. Other hotels take note - you need good people like Matt & Abi, even of the night shifts!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed 2 day break. Staff at the Hotel were cheerful and efficient as usual. Disappointed that there was no Sunday lunch available. Room was very good but the bathroom needed updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Kent.

One night stay at The Wild Pheasant Hotel.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The location and the spa.
Cons: For the money, i've no complaints.
Location: Llangollen is a beautiful place, well worth a visit.
Helpful staff, wonderful location, four poster beds and a spa. Not bad for £55. The only downside was the price of dinner. But a 10 minute walk into the town past a wonderful river, one can find lots of places to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gloucestershire

Absolutely great

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Really nice room, adequate facilities.
Cons: Mattresses could do with replacing but still had great nights sleep
Location: Walking etc.
Lovely hotel. We booked at the last minute, and took room only as neither of us are big breakfast eaters. Great bar snack in the evening as we had eaten huge lunch late in the day. Would definitely go again and recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting; easy transport by road or bus.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The setting and position.
Location: Loads to do in and about Llangollen - by car, bus or on foot.
Excellent staff - helpful and courteous. Excellent breakfasts and great spa facility. We dud nit eat any other meals only because of circumstance and programme.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stephenfrom Kent, UK

Basic, cheap & cheerful. OK for budget overnight

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff and convenient location + car park, and OK for a budget overnight stay. I would not stay for longer or as part of a vacation as rooms were basic and in need of re-decorating (we had 2 rooms for 4 people) and one was not too clean (eg mould in bathroom and spider webs on lamps). The rooms were also cold - we arrived about 10.30pm and the windows had been left open and there was no heating to warm up. Good breakfast unless, like my wide, you like a healthier/continental choice as the latter was very limited (croissant, cheap yoghurt and tinned fruit only). I would use as a cheap & cheerful overnight stay but not if longer or a bit more comfort required.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic swiminpool

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had paid for the hotel, but on the last day, when I pay for the service, I again request for payment for a small room along with a spa, I paid £ 69.99 for the internet, but slept £ 59.99 and still paid for the SPA. Examination of the documents, employee apologizes and the results paid £ 20. Please be more attentive to customers because it destroys your reputation.
2 out of 5
by NCfrom South Wales

Erm....oh dear.

Posted May 28, 2014
My daughter and I were in the older wing - room 208. The room was sparse and very tired looking but didn't expect the Ritz. Found a few false nails by the bed which was not very nice!! Bathroom was tiny and the shower not very powerful - couldn't wash my thick hair. Very comfortable bed thank goodness but the room was extremely hot. We couldn't open the window because of the traffic noise outside and the music from the restaurant below. Breakfast was good although they gave me tea instead of coffee. When they brought the coffee they didn't change the full cup so just had to take one from another place setting. My closing thought of the hotel - comfortable mattress on the bed but won't be returning.