Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall satisfaction

Posted May 27, 2014
Although the room was comfortable enough, the bed was terrible, both my wife and I experienced terrible back pain in the mornings. The location is not easily accessible and the condition of the road and driveway/parking lot were horrible. The outside condition of the hotel was not appealing, as a matter fact, the concrete was falling apart from the second story balcony. Our personal overall rating of this hotel is about a 1.5 and will not book here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by call girl from Lloydminster Alberta

Was ok but could be better

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: clean room
Cons: the outside by the stairs inforce the no smoking rule
Location: lots of places to eat around the hotel
The room was clean hotel staff friendly. Someone started smoking in one of the other rooms and it came up through the bathroom fan. It suppose to be a nonsmoking hotel. the parking was good. The outside by the stairs was real dirty garbage lying around old beer cans. NIce place over all good location close to many different restraunts. Will probably stay there again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CP from Prince Albert, Sask

Unlike the Pictures

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Rooms were sufficient and lobby was well kept.
Cons: sweep & clean the sidewalks, entrance & court yard. Pick up the garbage. Change the name on the outside of the building
Location: ?
Poor exterior of building, crumbling sidewalks with big chunks missing, dirty, they have not been swept off at all, old pop cans, garbage & cig butts in the court yard. Listed as a Hotel but it is a Motel. The name on the Exterior of the building is The Royal not the name we booked so it was hard to find. $100 charged to Visa once we said we "may" have incidental costs - we were not told that when we were asked. Our refund is to come from Expedia - really?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel sign read Royal Inn.

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Had trouble finding it as wrong sign which made us late for a family funeral. Court yard had garbage and cigarette buts,not cleaned for some time. Your pictures do not describe this hotel. Also charged me $100 and never credited it back on my visa yet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right for the Price

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: This hotel has a great buffet and the staff are fantastic!!
Cons: The lighting could be improved. I found it very dark and not a lot of lights to turn on.
Location: Right on the Yellowhead going through Lloyd. Close to lots of shopping and lots of fast food restaurants if that is what you prefer.
I was lucky to find a room last minute and was pleased that it was here. My parents live in Lloyd and in the past we often frequented the West Harvest Inn ( now the Royal Hotel) for their amazing buffets. The staff in the lobby and restaurant have always been more than friendly. The room was fine, not anything too outstanding but clean and comfy and well worth the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sherry from Alberta

Surprisingly Pleased

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Price and cleanliness
Very clean and comfortable. Nothing negative to really say. We were happy with our accommodations.
3 out of 5
by Melissa from North Battleford

Unfortunate smell, otherwise OK

Posted Feb 18, 2014
At the time of check-in I verified with the front desk clerk that I was getting a non-smoking room and she told me the whole hotel was non-smoking. First thing I noticed in the room was a strong odor of stale smoke I am assuming. Couldn't attribute the smell to anything else. It was the strongest in the bathroom and I never did get "used to it". Otherwise the room met my needs for one night, was very clean and quiet, had a good TV, and I could control the warmth. At checkout, the front desk didn't apologize or offer to report the odor to management. Just said they couldn't give a discount or any compensation since I booked through Expedia online.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jacke from H

It was ok

Posted Jan 29, 2014
It was ok until a guy tried to use his key that he was given to get in... The desk clerks had messed up and double booked my room... Freaked me out at 11:00 at night... Not good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jim from Alberta

Nice room etc but too expensive

Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Even on sale it was more expensive than a 'grand' hotel in downtown Calgary. Courtesy and housekeeping etc was very good.
3 out of 5
by Andrea

Sunken Mattress.

Posted Dec 11, 2013
The one queen bed had a few broken springs in the mattress and was quite uncomfortable to sleep on. I did report it to the front staff and asked for a replacement mattress. They did offer us a different room, however after travelling in -40 weather and being busy all day I declined the new room. I rather wanted a discounted price. Since this was apre paid internet booking they said they had nothing to do with the pricing. Will I sleep there again most liklely not.