Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Dishonest Business

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Nothing is the best I can write
I will not choose this hotel anymore ! Room with ocean view is just a joke. If you do not need their bottle water during your stay, it's better to have them returned to front desk when you check-out to avoid the charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Best option

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Access to surrounding activities was great. Great place to stop on the redwood route.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

New hotel - nice

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Overall, very good, clean upscale room with large washroom. Good food in restaurant. Lobby smells of smoke as it is a casino.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, AUS

A quality, affordable option.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Good staff, comfortable rooms.
Cons: The shower was a bit weird. Not bad weird, but weird all the same.
Location: It's 10 minutes outside of Eureka, which, I must admit, we only drove through. There is some spectacular scenery nearby, however.
After a long drive to Eureka, we decided to stay at Bear River. Our room was spacious and comfortable and reasonably priced. The staff were uniformly friendly. We didn't use the Casino parts of the hotel and casino, but we did have dinner in the restaurant. Whilst it wasn't the most amazing place in the world (it's got a great view of the service station across the way...), it was good value and the food was tasty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Wonderful stay

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, beautifully decorated and very friendly staff.
Cons: Pool and restaurant open later.
I stayed at the Bear River Casino Hotel on my way from Redwood National Park to Mendocino. It was a beautiful, relatively new hotel. The room was spacious and comfortable. The location was ideal for my needs (though it is about an hour to an hour and a half from most tourist attractions in the Redwoods (Del Norte Coast Redwoods). The staff was very friendly. A special shout out to "Randy" for his help with my bags and car--great attitude and really seemed to enjoy his job. When I arrived, the parking was full, but I was able to valet for free. My only complaint is that there are very few places to eat nearby, and the restaurants on site close pretty early--if you are arriving late, eat first!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2014
our family drove up and arrived very late in the evening. the hotel staff was very helpful and the restaurant even stayed open a little late so we could have dinner. family was happy!!!! will stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upland, Ca

Surprising stay

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: New, clean. sparkled.
Location: We visited Ferndale the next morning. Very nice!
We picked out this hotel based on our travel needs and the low cost of the room. It was excellent! Beautiful room, clean, all is relatively new. Parked close to the elevator, room was right near elevator. We even had a great time in the casino. It was a great break from the long drive we took that day. I would definitely stay there again if I am in the area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Nice hotel with parking location under cover

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Reception staff was very friendly and helpful. The Casino is a separate but easily reached area.
Cons: They could add tea bags to in-room amenities for those who do not drink coffee.
Location: We enjoyed the Loleta Cheese factory and sales room.
The "lost Coast" in California does not have a lot of choices, so this is a well situated Hotel/Casino.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Redwood Forest family vaca

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Loved that it was new and easy to locate.
Cons: Parking stinks, location in relation to any stores or restaurants is not great, lobby smelled of smoke, service received at the bar was wonky. :(
Location: see above
Nice hotel but had a few issues. Parking seemed to be for the casino partrons more than the hotel people. We had to park in the far lot and walk in the rain around to the front of the hotel (had our minor child with us so couldn't walk through the casino). Underground parking (what there was of it) was full. Getting service at the bar for a to-go salad was non-exisistant. Called from room only to have to pick up my own food clear over in the express area (had to walk thru the casino, was not a fan of that).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

A good night's sleep

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Cons: There is not really a gift shop or coffee bar, though there are a few items behind the receptionist you can purchase.
Location: We had a great time in the casino, so much so that some of our money decided to stay. Personable staff and not crowded.
We found the rooms at the hotel by far the quietest and most comfortable of any on a two week west coast tour. Slept like babies in very comfortable beds, never heard a peep, and the room temperature was well (and not noisily) maintained. The downside: It 10 miles or more from any real population, so you have to be motivated to eat anywhere other than the restaurant. The meal we had there was fine, but its not an expansive menu and if you don't like it you are stuck.