Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ


Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Ocean view
Cons: Putting windows in the shared room, putting in a soft mattress or if not a new mattress.
First of all the bed in the room was hard as rock, and had no windows was extremely hot. I wouldn't recommend to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Savaiian , Hotel Management
Talofa. We are sorry to see this unfavorable review up here though not sure if you have confused us for another property? We do not have a single room on our property which has no windows so not sure which you are referring too. If you stayed in our of our backpacker rooms, you are correct re mattresses not being spring. These are the cheapest of 3 room types we have on the property and you will not find a cheaper room in savai'i with breakfast included and fully enclosed. These rooms are very popular with the budget.conscious traveler like the reviewer just before you stayed and it is meant to be a safe roof over your head without having to pay for anything fancy.. most find them quite comfortable. Of course we have more luxurious rooms with inner sprung sleepy head mattresses available and we offer discounts on upgrades which are advertised in the room type you stayed in so the option is always there had you needed it. We hope you were able to enjoy your visit of the big island .kind regards management
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZL

Awesome place to stay especially if on a budget

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: The friendly staff
Cons: The bathroom had a specific odour that I believe came from the drains. Maybe these need to be cleared?
Location: Town is a 15 minute drive and there was canoeing. The hotel also provided a tour service which was awesome.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Savaii. We stayed in a budget room with a shared bathroom and toilet. The toilets and room were cleaned everyday around 10am without fail. The room cleanliness was thumbs up. These rooms were very exceptional considering they were only budget rooms. These rooms were better than some of the other expensive rooms we've rented at other Hotels in the past. The staff were amazing, were always willing to assist and were always smiling. Very friendly and lovely. This Hotel is only 15mins out of town and the waterfront views were amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by management, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wellington, NZ

Very Friendly Place to Stay

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Very friendly staff, nice location.
Cons: Quieter air conditioning should be considered, and bigger hot water system for rooms.
Location: Close to ferry, market building (30 min). North coast beaches and attractions are about 1 hour or so away.
We arrived day time, this hotel is about 20 minutes up the road from the ferry terminal. The staff were exceptionally kind and helpful, checking us in promptly. Rooms themselves (travelling in group of 3, so had an extra bed added to a room) were adequate. Air conditioner a little older, so bit more noise (but still effective and welcome relief). Good size bench and space to keep bags off the floor. Insect mesh allows opening of louvered windows if you are inclined to do so. Bathroom limited space, but still manages a decent basin, shower and toilet. Whole accommodation is tiled floor, practical if you've been out swimming. Facilities included kayaks for guests, which can be taken out from the hotel jetty into the bay. First 50m is mud bottom, but then opens to sandy (shallow) spaces and coral bottom. Couple of small islands about 150m - 200m away have more fish and wildlife around them. Their food at the restaurant I would say is best I came across in Samoa. Excellent fresh fish dishes, with taro and other nice side dishes also available.
2 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great staff but run down rooms

Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
The staff are amazing, and the food was excellent, but the rooms are old, tiny, and dirty. Lots of geckos in the room and a mouse in the pool.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: The Staff
The hotel was great. Very disappointed with Expedia though. I purchased a package deal flights arrived at 9 pm. The hotel requires a ferry ride to a different island. The ferry leaves at 4pm. Needless to say we were stranded for our first night, which ended up being a sleepless one. Expedia shouldn't be allowing these kind of bookings.
3 out of 5
for Families
by Jacinta from New Zealand

Not too bad...definitely lots of potential!

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels
Location is great. Not too far from the Saleloga wharf and also not too far from a couple of fantastic beaches. Swimming pool at the hotel was also great and also had the option of hiring kayaks. Food was fantastic! Would recommend that you eat at the Savaiian as there isn't a lot of food places around and found the prices to be very reasonable. Rooms were less than desirable. Our blankets on the bed looked really worn out and old. Probably would recommend that if you were to book at the Savaiian to book an air-conditioned room as we just went with a normal fale that just had a ceiling fan and standard fan that pretty much didn't do anything.
5 out of 5
for Families
by daniel from sydney

relaxing peaceful

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels
loved the place we were only supposed to be there for 5 nights extended another 3 nights on top.good traditional breakfast daily. great scenery overlooking the ocean and very handy location.rooms are nothing fancy but for the price was good.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

10 minutes by car from ferry terminal and banks

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful staff and well maintained gardens
Cons: hand towels / face cloths, tea and coffee supplied in room.
Very helpful and friendly staff. We stayed in the basic bungalow which is just beds and bathroom. No frills. no kettle or cups etc. Only bath towels no hand towels or face cloths. Clean pool and on the waters edge but no beach. Nice dining and TV area with continental breakfast included. Nice gardens. Bus stop, petrol station and shop just outside gateway.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Excellent Service

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: It is very relaxed and personal
Cons: Access from pool to bar is only thing I thought could be improved upon.
Location: This is really a blob place. There are many sights to see round the island and buses are frequent and it is only 10 minutes to town to hire a car.
All staff looked after us in exemplary fashion leaving nothing to chance and we rarely waited more than a minute or two for anything at all
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MELBOURNE AUSTRALIA

Pleasant facilities and surrounds

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Generally the value and comfort.
Cons: The breakfasts were quite good but perhaps a change of egg presentation from day to day instead of boiled every day?
Location: The SAVAIIAN is good place to relax and use as a base. I walked around the nearby villages every day but really most people would need to hire a car.
Olivia and the staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. Originally I was booked into a BUNGALOW but I found it a bit spartan and upgraded to a room with water views, aircon, en suite and fridge. The room was clean and comfortable. The vista from the room's veranda was over surrounding gardens to the ocean. One of the main reasons I went to Samoa was to snorkel so consequently my only disappointment with the SAVAIIAN HOTEL was the muddy water for 80 metres from the shore and no beach. However there are free kayaks available so you can paddle to the reef (300 metres) and some islets (800 metres) and snorkel there. The pool was smallish but nice. I found the food very good for the 5 nights I was there, especially the dinners. Generally I believe THE SAVAIIAN is good value but would suggest you get a car for at least a day to look around this beautiful island which is about 180 k's circumference or 4 to 5 hours driving plus stops. Beware taxis on the "big" island are expensive and inconsistent. Thanks to all the staff, especially the funny cleaning ladies who wanted to get me married off.