Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Decent hotel on quiet side of Gili T

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Overall the hotel is good. The breakfast is decent and the restaurant food is ok. Like most places on the island it's right on the beach front but this hotel also enjoys uninterrupted views of the sunset. It's a 15minute cycle from the main strip in Gili T but the hotel provides free bikes on a first come first served basis (system needs a bit of refining as some guests treat the bikes with the selfishness usually associated with claiming pool loungers). The room was as you'd expect. The hotel generally was a bit understaffed and a lot of the staff that were there seemed a little out if their depth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from france

good ratio quality/price

Posted Aug 1, 2014
a little bit far from the downtown but very close from the beach hotel a little bit old but still nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from malaysia

nice location

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: is located at area where the sunset is gorgeous
Cons: management need to be improved and know how to handle if they did something wrong
Location: aston sunset is away from the town so all the entertainment is at the town. good to chill at the hotel.
gili island is gorgeous but the management of aston is awful, we booked out transport from the hotel to pick us up at the airport and reminded them again a day before, on arrival no one was at the airport and we waited at least an hour and called the hotel which at that time they did not know that we were arriving and send some one to pick us up. when we arrived at the hotel no one was there to welcome us and no welcome drinks or anything and the person that i mailed was mr reza which was at the office but never came to acknowledge us and did not even came to apologise to us and insisted that the driver was there when we arrived, but the driver that picked us up came in a hurry and did tell us the hotel just informed him 15 minutes ago. all we wanted was for the management to say we are sorry but mr reza was very arrogant to even come out from the office. on the day we suppose to leave again we book our transport at 7.30 am but came 15 minutes late but we already expected it to happen :) but overall our room was great . will definitely go back to gili but not stay in aston.. sorry
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gina from New Zealand

Absolutely Fabulous

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Highlight of our trip,lovely room,vry clean,breakfast sumptuous n good variety. Quiet ,great pool,fantastic beachfront area to watch sunset every night. Wld certainly reccommend n would certainly stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kate from Perth

Great value for money

Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great place, great value for money. Amazing view of sunset, very peaceful to lie on the sunbeds early in the morning. Only problem is that it is abit isolated from the main part of the island which is ok if you're walking or biking during the day or biking at night but it's not very well lit and there's a short part of the track where you can't ride your bike because of the sand. The island seems safe but just that short bit makes it scary if you're two females walking back after 9pm which is relatively early. Will definitely go back, just hope that part of the path is fixed up
2 out of 5
by Allan from Toronto

Not a 5 star hotel!

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: It is new
Cons: Service and food
There is no way this is a 5 star hotel! It might be a 3 star at best once it gets the kinks worked out, but for now I cannot give it more than 2 stars. The only redeeming quality about this hotel is that it's new. Other than that, it is not ready to receive guests. The beds are very hard. The staff appears ill equipped to deal with basic requests and appear to know nothing about anything. Room not cleaned by 3pm in the afternoon and took an hour to get it cleaned after that. Restaurant service was slow and disorganized and the food average. The location is far from anything and requires a Chidomo (horse & buggy) to get you there on a very bumpy dirt road. This will become a hassle if you are there more than a couple of days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by American Traveler from U.S.A.

Disappointed

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Where to begin? This is in no way a 5 star hotel. While their service is friendly(but every place in that part of the world has friendly service) their room service is not. We ordered food twice. First time it took almost an hour and it was cold. Second time took only a half hour but my "burger", while hot on the outside, was completely raw in the middle. The website says the hotel was built in 2011. Keeping that in mind there is a reason all of the pictures are taken at night, shoddy construction. For example, my room had a large crack on 2 of it's walls going from ceiling to floor. The walkway looks like it had cement spilled on it in several places and not cleaned up properly. Everywhere there are things that look like a good idea but not carried out or maintained properly. Like the pool. It is milky. That tells me they either don't have or don't run a pump/filtering system. Also, the stools for the swim up bar are only like 3 inches below the surface of the water so it's uncomfortable. I would expect to be up to my belly button in water for a swim up bar. It defeats the purpose. We had a club room with a king bed. Room was okay, bathroom was nice, but right on my confirmation email it said I would have a pool view. That was not correct. My room was a good 300 meter walk to the pool and then another 200 meters on top of that to the restaurant for breakfast. Better hope you don't forget your breakfast coupon in your room because it's a hike,especially in that heat. All of the "aston club" rooms are at the back of the hotel. Your better off getting the cheaper room because those are the only ones with a pool view. Speaking of breakfast, it was mediocre. The beach is not good for swimming due to it being shallow with coral and sharp rocks. The hotel is situated on the opposite side of the island from all the bars and restaurants which would be fine except like I said the food is terrible and slow. So to get any decent food you have to use thier free bikes (one good thing about the hotel) to ride 15 minutes into town or hire a horse carriage. If you take the bikes you will be completely drenched in sweat. I don't know about you but I don't like eating dinner, on vacation, with my t-shirt soaked in sweat. Or you can hire a carriage but it is relatively expensive and fairly cramped and uncomfortable with just two passengers and the driver. The view from the beach is amazing but the hotel didn't build that so I can't give them credit for it. There was a power outage at least once a day. The spa services are three times as expensive as in town. I guess that's it. You might not think so but I don't like to complain. I was just really disappointed. They claim to be 5 stars but are far from it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definitely one of the better hotel on the island

Posted Jun 2, 2014
I stayed here for one night and found the place largely to my satisfaction, meaning it was clean, the hot water worked, the internet also worked (although slowly) and the staff were well trained and friendly. The Gillies are still very much trying to find their feet when it comes to welcoming more up-market tourists, and most places just haven't gotten it right yet. But Aston does a great job and is definitely one of the better hotels/resorts on the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by CMM from California

Very good, with some room for improvement

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Would go again - but wish property upkeep (external grounds, not the rooms) and staff training in service and follow-thru were a bit better
4 out of 5
Recommended
by CMM

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com