Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tony from Cumbria, UK

An apartment for less than a hotel room

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Modern, comfortable, secure, quiet. Check in/out was quick, courteous and professional.
Cons: No improvements needed.
Location: Opposite Liverpool Street Station, convenient for City of London and East (Aldgate, Brick Lane etc)
196 Bishopsgate is an apartment hotel, opposite Liverpool St mainline station, convenient for the City of London. The apartment had good quality and modern facilities in a separate bathroom, kitchen area and living area, off which was the bedroom, separated by a retractable partition. Wifi was free and of high strength/speed. Location is great, very central, but room (on 2nd floor) was very quiet - no road noise at all. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby - supermarket for food/drink is a 1 minute walk away and so the lack of restaurant on site is no problem. All in all, excellent. A high quality apartment with the comforts and facilities of home, in central London, for less than the price of nearby "four star" hotel accommodation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by charlotte

Would stay again

Posted Apr 8, 2014
This is perfectly placed right outside Liverpool Street station. The hotel kept our bags before check in and after we had checked out which was great. The reception staff were really friendly and helpful checking bus times for us. The room was really well equipped enough to live their. It was really clean and comfortable too. Would definitely look to stay there in future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

NIce apartment in the City proper

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: SIze of room, cleanliness, location.
Cons: Their manual for the various amenities was out of date which caused some issues.
Location: For business travel it is excellent as it is located across from Liverpool St. station, a major transit hub.
The stay at 196 Bishopsgate was pleasant, and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Edmonton Canada

Wonderful

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Close to everything, tube station across the street, lots of food close by. 200 year old pub within steps of the front door. Will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent.

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everthing was excellent, like a home from home. The only one niggle I have is that the bathroom didn't match the rest of the apartment, it was a bit small and dated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Yap from Singapore

Awesome Place to Stay in London!

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything is perfect for this place: the location, the spacious and comfy room, fully equipped suite, and more importantly GREAT SERVICE! Will definitely return when back in London again. Thank you 196 Bishopsgate!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy and Bo from St. Louis, MO

Christmas at Bishopsgate

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: It is close to public transportation, grocery and convenience stores, and many restaurants. The hotel was clean and staff very attentive.
Cons: The elevator is quite small and only has room for two suitcases and a person or two. We just took the steps - it was easier!
Location: It is across the street from Liverpool Street Station, so all attractions were convenient.
We stayed at Bishopsgate over the Christmas holiday. We got off at Liverpool Street Station and it is literally right across the street. We were concerned about how we were going to cook our Christmas dinner. There is a grocery store less than a 3 minute walk away and we were able to get everything we needed. The kitchen was well equipped and our dinner turned out great! Our room was spacious enough for our family of 6 to open gifts and eat dinner together at Christmas. Annabelle at the front desk couldn't have been nicer and was such a help in letting us know directions, times of events, etc. This hotel is a more like an apartment and was very clean. We would highly recommend Bishopsgate to families or anyone who would appreciate a little space after a busy day adventuring in London!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Karen from Maine

Great Hotel for Family

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: Loved a lot of things but especially the location and ease of getting around London from this starting point.
Cons: Living room could have used more comfy seating. The couch only fit two and the rest of the seating was less comfortable dining chairs.
Location: We were able to walk to the Tower of London. Spitalfields market was very close. The Heron Tower which has a couple of restaurants was close too.
We were looking for an apartment style hotel so we would have some room to spread out during our family trip to London and this one worked great. It was two bedrooms with a nice kitchen / living room area. I especially loved the location. We were across the street from the Liverpool Street station so traveling around London was really easy. There was a grocery store one block up and a drug store a few doors down. We could walk to Spitalfields and did a couple of wonderful tours of the East End. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
The place was spacious and clean. It was also very conveniently located to the tube and within walking distance of the major siteseeing spots. I stayed here for business and will do it again. I highly recommend this for a spot in London town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com