Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

5-star hotel in great London location

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Helpful, courteous staff. Great rooms. Outstanding concierges.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Easy walk to Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey and Victoria Station. Short taxi ride to Piccadilly Circus, Harrods, etc. Truly great location.
One of the best hotel experiences of my life. Staff is above anything ever experienced (I frequently stay at Four Seasons, Waldorf Astoria, etc. so I know what I'm talking about). Concierges are all exceptional. Had a 1-bedroom suite that was huge! 2-minute walk to Buckingham Palace and 15 minutes to Westminster Abbey. We walked home from the London Eye and it wasn't very far at all - about 25 minutes. The only reason I gave the hotel a 4 for facilities is because the lobby, library and breakfast areas are all relatively small and can get cramped very quickly if there are more than a few guests in each simultaneously. Cocktail hour with canap├ęs and other snacks is wonderful from 6:30-8:30 every evening in the library. Truly outstanding hotel. We will be back for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A true boutique hotel in every sense

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Everything about it was great. The location to begin with - a few minutes from Victoria station, the room was fantastic, the service was impeccable.
Although I have stayed at 5 star hotels on several occasions, I was amazed by the standard of service of this hotel. All the hotel staff were extremely polite and gave the true meaning to the word "valued" customer. From the first time I entered the hotel it was a different experience all together. Despite the good service at other 5 star hotels, I could always find a small detail missing. I am not picky, but when it comes to top service I know what to expect, and notice when something, as small as it may be, is missing. In this hotel I just could not find any detail missing, even the slightest one. The whole hotel boosts something different about it. A real boutique hotel in every sense. The suite was a real suite, with a large lounge with all the comforts, a modern kitchen with all the amenities and a great service from every staff at all times. Really enjoyed my stay there and plan to visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melrose, MA

Luxurious, comfortable and friendly

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Almost everything! The friendly staff make even the high end feel of the place less intimidating than it might otherwise seem.
Cons: To pick nits, the WiFi signal was spotty in one room of the suite.
Location: Buckingham Palace, St. James Park, Trafalgar Square, numerous museums
We had an 8 night stay in a three room Kings suite and from the moment of arrival, we were blown away by how posh the accommodations were, and how friendly and helpful the staff were. The suites were recently renovated and the three room suite really had everything that we could have possibly wanted. The kitchen included a refrigerator, dishwasher and combo washer/dryer, as well as a very nicely appointed welcome basket and tray of fresh fruit, and all the dishes and cookware one could want. The regular maid service and evening turn down service was fast but excellent, and the concierge and other services were great. Breakfast in the library bar and a couple of dinners at Bistro 51 were stellar, though our dinner at Bank was a bit less to our liking. Not bad, just not quite up to the extremely high standards for everything else. Additionally, the location can't be beat, in the heart of the City of Westminster. Just around the corner from St. James Park Underground station, perhaps 2 minutes away, and less than 10 minutes walk to Buckingham Palace and the spectacular St. James Park. This is probably the finest guest accommodation I've ever had. I was also stunned when we checked out that the only incidental charges we had were from a handful of phone calls. Being accustomed to a plethora of hidden charges when checking out of hotels, it was very refreshing to get use of the WiFi, the small but very usable fitness center and so forth at no additional charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Very nice, and best customer service!
Very beautiful hotel, quaint in areas like the elevator. I loved the hotel, the staff, and the customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

good location, excellent facilities/services

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Thoughtful staff, we were given two rooms which join together with one separate kitchen where our family can enjoy breakfast and evening time together
Cons: n/a
Location: walking distance to major attractions - e.g. Buckingham Palace, National Gallery, Trafalgar Square w cafe and restaurants across the hotel
truly 5 star hotel with excellent services which enhance our trip experience in London.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Fabulous stay for romance and luxury

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The rooms were huge and the customer service was superb.
Location: Very close walk to Buckingham Palace and the St. James Tube Station
We loved the Taj! We were treated like royalty from beginning to end. When we arrived they quickly upgraded our room and let us check in early which was amazing. They provided wonderful service...our butler Bensam went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable in London.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia, U.S.

Great Hotel. Great Location. Great Service.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: I would have to say that 51 Buckingham Gates had the highest intersection of luxury, affordability, service and location of any hotel in London.
Check-in was very comfortable and personal. We were upgrade to a large suite from a junior suite which was magnificent. The suite was spacious and luxurious. The rooms were immaculate. We took advantage of free cocktails and hors d'oeuvres one evening and they were delicious. I love Indian cuisine and Quilon, the hotel's Michelin starred restaurant, was simply amazing. The hotel is a 3 min walk from St. James Park tube station, 8 minute walk to Victoria station and about the same to Buckingham Palace. The fitness center and spa were first rate. The service was impeccable without being intrusive. I will absolutely return on my next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very comfortable in a great location

Posted Jul 29, 2014
As part of an Expedia package, we read the reviews and anticipated a nice stay at the Taj. The customer service was excellent, the staff was always accommodating and helpful, the rooms were clean with all the comforts of a luxury hotel. The location for us was great...an easy walk to main London attractions (Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, Westminster bridge...) but also centrally located so it was a short tube ride to anywhere in the city. The kitchen was great for breakfast and morning coffee or tea. The restaurants were pricey as expected but there are many places to eat just a few minutes walk from the hotel. The fitness center was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly and comfortable

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Very friendly helpful staff. East to walk to many famous points of interest. Well fitted out rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2014
The amenities and service are beyond superb. The staff will pamper and cater to your every need. Try not to feel too uncomfortable being waited and lavished upon. The onepercent drawback is that the Washer/Dryer was not very useful. Do not rely upon it, particularly to dry. Other than that, Taj Buckingham Suites was absolutely superb.