Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

The Best of London

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
A regular at the Ascott, definitely one of the best the City of London has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sparky from Mumbai

Fantastic

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
One of the best in London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lovie from Canada

Fantastic location

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Fantastic location. The coffee/tea bar available all day was a nice bonus! The kids loved the hot chocolate.
Cons: Maybe offer afternoon tea, scones and jam.
Location: Short walk to shops, Buckingham Palace, Harrods, underground,....everything was a stone's throw away, marvellous location.
This hotel is in the heart of Mayfair, the staff were professional and courteous. Disappointing that not one employee spoke English as 1st language. I believe that an English hotel should have someone who is familiar with both the area and the language. The hotel was very clean and the apartments were absolutely perfect for our family of four. We will definitely be returning to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
overall it was a good stay, the staff are very helpful, the location is very convenient. good for business trip
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2014 by Lena, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review and for letting other travellers know about our excellent location. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, we all hope to welcome you back to Ascott Mayfair London in the not too distant future! Kind regards, Lena Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Lena, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and other travellers! We hope that we are now your preferred London residence and that you will give us an opporunity to welcome you back soon. Kindest regards, Lena Front Office Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and other travellers! We hope that we are now your preferred London residence and that you will give us an opporunity to welcome you back soon. Kindest regards, Lena Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by andy from uk

2 nights at the Ascott

Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Two nights here this week. V good location indeed. Nice enough rooms. Needs a facelift but a v good west end option. In room cooking facilities are v useful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2014 by Lena, Hotel Management
Dear Andy, Thank you for your review; I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for telling other travellers about our excellent location, we are indeed walking distance to most attractions and major shopping areas, anything beyond that is easy to reach through taxi or public transport. We have recently updated a large portion of our apartments into a new, fresh style. I hope that you will choose us again for your next stay in London, to experience this for yourself. Kindest regards, Lena Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Believe Negative Reviews

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Prior to booking at the Ascott Mayfair, I read the reviews. Unfortunately, I did not give serious enough consideration to the negative reviews. Instead, I was swayed by its 4.5 star rating. That was clearly an error. Although the hotel is in an an ideal location, being close to the tube, several excellent pubs, and many points of interest, it is very badly in need of repair. More specifically, the faucet in our bathroom ran heavily and was impossible to tighten because it was not attached to the sink, but rather pivoted at least 90 degrees when the taps were turned. Some blinds were impossible to close because they were broken, as were the fan controls. The draperies and carpets looked soiled and the chest of drawers in our room was unusable because the drawers were badly misaligned. The wi-fi connection in our room worked only intermittently and we were told this was because "other guests were abusing the internet." On the positive side, the beds were comfortable and clean and the staff was friendly and polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel in the center of Mayfair

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location! Great shopping and dining area, very beautiful clean place, friendly staff
Cons: Repair or upgrade the cooling system!
Location: Piccadilly and Park lane and Oxford street is 5 minutes away (walking), American Embassy (just in case of any problem) is around the corner).
Great location, very comfortable if you need privacy and all the amenities of the apartment (kitchen, laundry, office, separate bedrooms if you travel with the family). the only problem we had was a TERRIBLE air conditioning system. It was very hot in London and our apartment on the 6th floor hardly had any air. The staff brought us portable fans and we opened windows at night, but it was really hot in the room. So, my recommendation - stay on the lower floors if you plan on travelling during hot summer days. Other than that - no complains!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Lena, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback! We are all very pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that you made full use of all facilities. I am sorry to hear about the unplesant temperature inside your apartment; the comfort of our guests is our number one priority and I am sorry that we were not able to make you completely comfortable. I hope that we will get the opporunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future! Kindest regards, Lena Front Office Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback! We are all very pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that you made full use of all facilities. I am sorry to hear about the unplesant temperature inside your apartment; the comfort of our guests is our number one priority and I am sorry that we were not able to make you completely comfortable. I hope that we will get the opporunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future! Kindest regards, Lena Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel for Families

Posted May 21, 2013
Pros: Bed comfort, Silence.
Cons: Room Lighting, Wifi, Breakfast
Location: Central between Park Land and Barclay Square.
Breakfast is on the expensive side at GBP15 per person. Waffel, Boiled Egg, Toaster, Cold slices, Yoghurt, Coissant - Coffee. Situation is very central and on a very quiet street with very little ambient noise. Rooms were large and airy. Beds were exceptionally comfortable. Decor is opulant if a little worn at the edges.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Lena, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and other travellers. I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay; our central location and spacious apartments are indeed some of our advantages. We always try to provide good value for money, I am sorry that you were not completely satisifed with the price of the continental breakfast buffet. We are always striving to improve our services and we will take your feedback on board for any future changes to the menu options. I hope that we are now your preferred London residence and that we get an opporunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future! Kind regards, Lena Front Office Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and other travellers. I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay; our central location and spacious apartments are indeed some of our advantages. We always try to provide good value for money, I am sorry that you were not completely satisifed with the price of the continental breakfast buffet. We are always striving to improve our services and we will take your feedback on board for any future changes to the menu options. I hope that we are now your preferred London residence and that we get an opporunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future! Kind regards, Lena Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2013 on Hotels.com