Ratings based on 312 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Calm amid London's hubbub.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Both concierges were the very best! Thanks, Shahram, for arranging theater tickets and standing in the rain hailing a taxi for us.
Cons: Carpets in the guest room needed cleaning. Pull knobs needed and the middle section needed a bottom on the top bathroom drawer.
Location: Pubs, restaurants, and the Underground are within sight. The Science, Natural History, and V&A museums are a 15 walk.
We had a wonderful 4 days at the Ashburn. The location is in a quiet but very convenient area of Kensington, with the Gloucester Street tube station just a block away. Restaurants of all types and pubs are all within an easy walk. Continental breakfast is very good, and if you want add-ons, the price is quite reasonable. We didn't order the house pizza later in the day, but it sure smelled good! The atmosphere of the hotel is calm but not stuffy, the personable staff always greeting you whether you were coming or going. So much nicer than the huge noisy reception areas of the chains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to public transportation!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Bathroom was a nice size! Very clean hotel. Excellent concierge service. Pizza was delicious!
Cons: Mattress on our bed was very springy and therefore, somewhat uncomfortable.
Location: Plenty of restaurants/bars in walking distance. Tube (train), tour bus, and public bus only a block away.
The hotel staff was exceptional, especially the conciege on duty when we arrived. He was extremely helpful when it came to tours, buses, and trains. He could even quote which train to get on, which platform to get that train, and where to get off or transfer trains. Concierge even went as far to make transportation accommodations to the airport at the end of my stay. Continental breakfast was reasonable, and there was a nice variety. Room service menu was limited, but pizza was delicious!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Nice hotel. Good location.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: We liked that the hotel was not so big. It was a more intimate setting. It was close to the tube, tour buses, etc. They also provided tickets for the
Cons: More TV options. We also visited Scotland & Ireland which offered more stations than did this hotel.
Location: Good location. In walking distance to many places. Some good restaurants in walking distance.
We stayed 2 separate times during our trip to UK. Both times were good experiences. The staff were very helpful by checking in for our flight & printing our boarding passes. The breakfast was very good & tasty. Serving breakfast until 11 during the weekend was really nice. That allowed us to get a little extra sleep & not have to rush.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Museums are close by

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Relatively quiet and compact rooms which have all you need for a night or two.
Cons: Please take the time to make a proper pot of tea for your guests in the morning, if you can do it with the coffee you can do it with tea.
Location: Handy for Gloucester Rd tube and Museums
I stayed in this hotel last year too, I wouldn't have gone back if I wasn't pleased with it. I only stayed overnight as I had a flight to catch the next day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jamberoo, Australia

So Close to Gloucester Road Underground

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Comfortable and in terms of London a good sized room and well appointed.
Cons: Nothing, rooms were fine.
Location: Close to the tube station and everything is in walking distance.
Hotel staff most helpful. We had difficulty running off our boarding passes for next flight and the lovely girl on the desk persisted until she got what we needed. If you go on a day tour with Evans and Evans, they will drop you off right by the Ashburn. Thanks Ashburn, great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maine

Lovely, immaculate boutique in great area

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: See above!
Cons: The WiFi password changes every day. Given the number of gadgets people have, it'd be nice if that didn't have to change.
Location: Great neighborhood with a terrific grocery, Waitrose, patisseries, Boots around the corner. Right on Gloucester Road tube stop!
Knowing nothing about London, and overwhelmed by the choices, we paid attention to expedia reviews and selected the Ashburn. We were thrilled with this choice. It is perfectly located in Kensington/Chelsea area, less than two blocks from a tube stop. Triple sheeted beds, bathrobes and slippers; electric tea kettle with tea and coffee and chocolate selections. Each day, housekeeping would leave some complimentary treat on the night stand - bath salts one day, mints the next. The included! breakfast is sit down, with white table cloths and all kinds of wonderful food choices. The WiFi is free. We selected a small room, but it was comfortable and the bathtub/shower combo was terrific. Great toiletries. Staff willing to help with anything. And QUIET. Will stay there again for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Very nice and comfortable hotel.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location and pleasant atmosphere.
Location: Tube is so close; Thai restaurant across the street is DELICIOUS! Grocery store in next block.
Love this hotel. A home away from home and away from crowds of Central London. Tube less than 2 min walk. Good breakfast and the complimentary wine each evening was so nice at the end of a hectic day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Noisy

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: communication
the air-conditioning was broken so a unit was put in the room with a long pipe going out of the doors to the balcony. I wasn't informed of this before I went into the room and the noise of the traffic kept me awake all night The single room was extremely small Not good value for money and was expecting a lot more due to the fact I was led to believe I had a half price deal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Well located on tube line serving Heathrow

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: The room was comfortable and cool and the dining room pretty with good breakfast. Free welcome drink in the bar when we arrived was a lovely touch.
Location: Near Gloucester Road tube and a few nice cafes, bars and restaurants.
All the staff were very welcoming, and I would like to give a special shout out to Shamram who went out of his way to help us. This was much appreciated after a long tiring journey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lucinda from long island, NY

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Clean, nicely appointed, quiet. They upgraded us to larger room when we arrived. Nice bathroom. Good breakfast.
Location: Very close to Gloucester tube. But Cromwell Rd very busy and somewhat loud.
Good. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back.