Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Petra from Maribor, Slovenia

It was nice hotel close to many attractions

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: I liked location, cleanliness, staff, breakfast.
Cons: I can't say what could be improved since all my needs were covered.
Location: It is located behind BBC. 1 minute to Regent's str., 5 minutes to Oxford Str., 15 minutes to Soho or Hyde Park, 30 minutes to Covent Garden.
I was very pleased with hotel. Room was clean. Personnel was very kind and helpful. Breakfast was good. Since I'm from continent I don't mind at all that breakfast was only continental. It is the kind of food that I eat at home. Hotel is situated near many London's attractions (5 min. to Oxford Str., 15 min. to Soho or Hyde Park, 30 minutes to Covent Garden and for other attractions it was only 5 minute walk to underground). Ratio price and what you get for it is good. If I'll return to London, I won't look for another hotel, I'll book this one again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dungay from ire

Clean and basic

Posted Apr 7, 2014
We stayed The Astor Court last week, we are a family of 5, we stayed in an apartment suite, two large rooms, 4 beds in total, the bathroom was tiny, the apartment had only one bathroom as well which is not great for the price we payed for 3 nights. There was clean towels and the beds were made up every day. The staff were friendly, a little quite maybe, receptionists were ok...some helpful others didn't even achknowledge our entrance or exit from the hotel. It's very central in London, 5 minutes was from oxford circus tube station. Breakfast was fine, buffet style and the empty baskets were filled up quickly. I'd recommend the hotel to a friend, it's central and it's clean.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from Berkshire

Disappointing!

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: More plug points. Needs decorating
Location: Near to Oxford Circus
After reading good reviews we were disappointed . reception desk - Lady on desk had a strong accent and we had to keep repeating ourselves - she was polite but not very friendly. We booked a triple room and were actually given a quad room which was nice. The secondary room with double bed had NO plug points at all for phones/computers etc. The main room had 2 plug points. The d├ęcor was a bit shabby and being on the ground floor we felt a bit unsafe and it was very noisy outside - not hotels fault but maybe the upper floors would not hear this. Breakfast was Continental - no English breakfast available as there are no full kitchen facilities to cook I was told. Free wifi was very slow - we gave up
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joanne from Sheffield

nice hotel, excellent central location

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Friendly and helpful reception staff, excellent continental style breakfast
Cons: Check in time could be improved to say 12 O Clock
Location: On the edge of Oxford street, short walk to Soho and the West end. Also within easy reach to the railway station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by natasha from uk

Friendly hotel in the centre of london

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Loved the location, the friendly staff, the breakfast. Special thanks to the night shift who woke me up on time for a very important interview.
Cons: Not to my opinion.
Location: Shopping, eating, commuting to other parts of the city.
A little hidden gem with original features. Loved it! I only wished the room was a bit warmer then again my room was massive. It felt like going to a one bedroom flat in the heart of London rather than a hotel room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrea from Stamford, CT

small yet pleasant hotel, 2 blocks from the action

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: location, staff friendliness, space in the room
Cons: cleaner chair in the room, free internet access (not expensive, but annoying to pay and use cards), larger sink in the bathroom, improved soap supply
Location: perfect, on Hallam street very close to Cavendish Oxford Street... close to shopping and tube
Small lobby, one person at the desk, no concierge, 5 floors and probably less than 50 rooms. I liked my room, had a lot of space, although furniture was quite old and the fabric on the desk chair was somewhat not inviting (I would have not seated on it with skin touching). Bed was comfortable, bathroom clean, supplied soaps were on cheap side (quantity and quality), but at the end I would still recommend this hotel due to the incredible location (literally in the back of the Langham) and price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andrew from Glasgow

Met my simple needs

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Basic hotel . I was upgraded to suite which has fine, but rather dated. Breakfast was simple continental, perfectly adequate if uninspiring. It met my needs which were for simple bed close to my business meeting next day. Might use it again if needed to be in this area again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Wael from Colorado, USA

Could be better

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was not bad. But could have been much better. The staff were friendly at all times. Breakfast was generous and good quality. The reception area was updated. The room however was outdated. I was told that they are upgrading the rooms in the near future. Which was good news. But not having a new mattress or good pillows didnt need to wait for construction to start. We had an old squeaky spring mattress with flat pillows. Although the room was old - ie, old carpet, squeaky floors, and even the bathroom sink had separate hot and cold water faucets, I didnt mind it. I understood that in the UK the buildings are old and infrastructure age is expected. But other items didnt have to be - Like the mattress and pillows. Anyway, the rooms were clean and the staff were nice. Once updated the hotel should be good to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Olivier from Lausanne, Switzerland

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: Pleasnat appartment for a familly, 3 children for 4 days in London city . Hotel nice and verry pleasant
Cons: No wifi free access in the lobby !
Location: The hotel is easy to reach from Oxford circus metro station. Easy way to reach by walk the fantastic museums.