Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, UK

Great location hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Great location on a quiet side street a few minutes walk from Oxford Circus with friendly and helpful staff. We were a bit disappointed by the hotel room itself as it was very dated and reminded me a little of Fawlty Towers! We had booked a night in London as an anniversary treat so the price and the website photos gave us reason to believe it was nicer than it really was. Having said that, it was clean, comfortable and convenient but we live close enough to London that next time, we will spend the money on a long late night cab ride home!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Copenhagen

central and comfortable hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Central location, wi-fi, clean
Cons: Fire doors in the corridors were making a lot of noise in the morning. Breakfast can have more variety such as eggs, bacon or other hot dishes.
We stayed here on second floor as 3 people for 2 nights. Rooms were clean, facilities were classical British (whether you fancy or not), breakfast was OK, wi-fi worked perfect and the hotel's proximity to Oxford Street & Regent Street was very convenient. Plus, the staff was very kind. It takes roughly 10 minutes to get to Oxford Circus underground station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Good Location

Posted Jul 30, 2014
We stayed during a heatwave and air conditioning would have made it more tolerable. However, we opened a window which helped matters. Generally the hotel was good value and the staff very welcoming and pleasant. We would use this hotel again as location is very good for central London.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hobart, TAS, AUS

Excellent location and charming English character

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: The size of the hotel was intimate and seeing regular faces and being greeted by the staff was a pleasure. Loved the room size and comfort.
Cons: Summer made room very warm which needed the window open all the time but were told plans were for A/C next yr.
Location: Can walk to Oxford St in 10 min and onto Piccadilly Circus, Theatre district. Amazing shopping in Regent St. We walked to zoo through Regent's Park.
Extremely pleasant stay. Sufficient breakfast choices available. Staff helpful with any requests. Location behind BBC was brilliant. Walked everywhere and felt safe all the time. For the location it was quiet, especially at night. Room had old world charm with high ceiling, detail and big bath. Pub on the corner with value meals, Tesco within walking distance, Post Office, newsagents, coffee and take-away shops also. Extremely clean. Travel a lot and would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland, or

Avoid during a heat wave

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Staff was nice and helpful though their English aptitude sometimes resulted in confusion. Location, again, was great.
Cons: Breakfast was ok but a bit of a disappointment after 9 days of the same thing. Fresh fruit (bananas/oranges/apples) would have been a welcome addition
Location: With the weather so nice, we walked many places (~30min) - Hyde Park, Kensington, British Library, Picadilly, Leicester, Covent Garden, Buckingham etc
This hotel has a great location a few blocks away from Oxford Circus tube stop and was very convenient to walk to many destinations (or just as easily pop into the tube). It was very warm the week we were in London, in the high 70s to mid 80s and the room simply would not cool down even will all windows open and propping open the double fire doors in the hallway to get a draft going. Couldn't get to sleep swimming in my own juiceā€¦or would wake up and have to hang myself out the bathroom window for some relief from the inside temperatures. Room was a bit odd with the toilet on one end and the shower/sink on the other. Also, there were corner cabinets that were painted shut and would have been nice to use for storage given the minuscule closet available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Nice place for the money. Would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Spencer from Australia

Good Loaction

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel with old charm and character however the bathroom was needing an immediate refurbishment. Plumbing old and shower pressure very very low. If they were to renovate the bathroom and repair the squeaky floor boards I would have given a much higher rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Julia O'Connor

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Odd little place

Posted May 29, 2014
The hotel is okay. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. We couldn't figure out how to work the shower (neither could our friends down the hall) and the reception desk was casual about finding room service to help. We finally gave up! Not sure what this place was before being converted into a hotel but the hallways are very narrow and in one suite, the only bathroom was in another bedroom. The continental breakfast was good. Overall, the place is okay. We didn't find the front desk too friendly or helpful. The hotel itself was also not located as close to the train station as they advertised.