Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't look like the Expedia pictures

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The location was very convenient to the bus tour and many other attractions.
Cons: Clean the carpets or do something to remove the terrible odor in the hallway.
Location: It was two blocks from the Tube and close to Hyde Park.
We cut our vacation short because we were not happy with this hotel. Our room was located down in the basement. There was a horrible odor in the hallway. Fortunately, the room did not have as bad of an odor. The walls were so thin that we could hear the man in the next room over snoring extremely loudly!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Reasonable for the price

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: my new room on level 4 and the location of the hotel is very good
Cons: Free Wi- Fi and refurbish basement rooms
Location: Very close to Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park, short walk to Notting Hill shops and Bayswater and Queensway tube stations and plenty of restaurants.
Was first allocated a room in the basement which was very ordinary, very old and cramped with a window opening into a small space looking at 4 other hotel room windows. Very noisy and did not feel safe below ground in such close proximity to open windows from other rooms. As a single female it was not ideal. Asked to be moved above ground which they did the next day and I was moved in to a lovely. clean and refurbished modern room on the 4th floor (room 10A) This room was perfect. The lady on duty was very considerate, staff helpful. Breakfast was ok and I found a nice cafe in the next street with free wifi. Charging for wifi should not happen at hotels. I would reccomend the refurbished above ground rooms but NOT the basement rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Where on earth did they get 3 stars from?

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Nothing, execpt leaving
Cons: everything, or maybe stop pretending to be a hotel
Very poor service at the front desk, room not ready on time, you get charged for internet access, room smells bad, a plastic bed cover, very noisy building, unstable shower varying from scalding hot to freezing in 2 seconds, broken air dryer, canned tomatoes for breakfast, slices of bread dry before they got into the toaster, a passion for neon lights, a TV with flickering channels, a fire alarm test at 7am... Shall I go on?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dublin

very disappointing hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: good location
Cons: whole hotel needs to be done up proper area for guest to relax
Location: right beside hyde park good inks to underground and buses
room was extremely small. breakfast was disappointing very little selection with cereals cooked breakfast was that bad we didn't bother having breakfast after the first morning plus the fact that the breakfast area looked like a school canteen. no bar in hotel or facilities to have a drink. no restaurant in the hotel. shower did not work properly. toilet didn't flush properly. whole hotel looked very run down no area for guests to relax
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

It was like being in The Shining

Posted Jul 2, 2014
The hotel staff were less than helpful and, honestly, pretty rude. I stayed for a total of 1 night out of 4. The room was in shambles. It smelled like the basement of an abandoned house. Just awful. I couldn't complain however because the gentlemen that checked me in spoke very little English and was absolutely one of the most unhelpful people I have ever had the pleasure of relying on. The next morning when I went up to say something about the room I ran into one of the least capable English speaking staff, ever, period. She was so unhelpful and spiteful she tried to tell me it was my fault the room smelled like the remnants of a flooded out home. She followed that woeful diatribe up with "if you had told is we could have given you one of the better rooms upstairs, we are basically empty." Well... There's a revelation.. Why was I dropped into the basement if the hotel was empty from the ground up? Because the idea of showing your customers your best is a dead idea in that ramshackle shell. Worst hotel stay I have ever had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from San Jose

Good London neighborhood

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Two underground stations very close by. Nice safe neighborhood. Restaurant closed at this time but the buffet breakfast good value. Air conditioner great. Has been refurbished. We would book again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nasty experience, everything old.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: I didn't like anything
Cons: Starting from the rooms... Until the staff
Location: The location was good but just that
Good location, but in really bad condition. The wardrobe was converted into a bathroom... Really bad....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Wifi or Internet in the rooms.

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: If all you are looking for is a place to sleep, (albeit in an uncomfortable cot bed) this place would do.
Cons: Internet Access, updating rooms, new beds, towels, working phones.
Location: The location is excelent though, close to Bayswater Tube station.
The hotel was inexpensive. It had an included Breakfast (marginal food). It also was dated, with the most uncomfortable beds, telephones that didn't work, but the thing that sticks out most in my mind... no internet...no wifi in the rooms.... and the wifi they did have in the lobby was pay per use and expensive.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sheepy from Derbyshire

Run of the mill

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff, and very helpful, but past that the hotel is seriously tired and dated. Stayed for five nights, but no TV for 3, the beds were basically camp beds, the window almost closed (which was good as there was no air con) and the cracked sink leaked.