Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Where on earth did they get 3 stars from?

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Nothing, execpt leaving
Cons: everything, or maybe stop pretending to be a hotel
Very poor service at the front desk, room not ready on time, you get charged for internet access, room smells bad, a plastic bed cover, very noisy building, unstable shower varying from scalding hot to freezing in 2 seconds, broken air dryer, canned tomatoes for breakfast, slices of bread dry before they got into the toaster, a passion for neon lights, a TV with flickering channels, a fire alarm test at 7am... Shall I go on?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dublin

very disappointing hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: good location
Cons: whole hotel needs to be done up proper area for guest to relax
Location: right beside hyde park good inks to underground and buses
room was extremely small. breakfast was disappointing very little selection with cereals cooked breakfast was that bad we didn't bother having breakfast after the first morning plus the fact that the breakfast area looked like a school canteen. no bar in hotel or facilities to have a drink. no restaurant in the hotel. shower did not work properly. toilet didn't flush properly. whole hotel looked very run down no area for guests to relax
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

It was like being in The Shining

Posted Jul 2, 2014
The hotel staff were less than helpful and, honestly, pretty rude. I stayed for a total of 1 night out of 4. The room was in shambles. It smelled like the basement of an abandoned house. Just awful. I couldn't complain however because the gentlemen that checked me in spoke very little English and was absolutely one of the most unhelpful people I have ever had the pleasure of relying on. The next morning when I went up to say something about the room I ran into one of the least capable English speaking staff, ever, period. She was so unhelpful and spiteful she tried to tell me it was my fault the room smelled like the remnants of a flooded out home. She followed that woeful diatribe up with "if you had told is we could have given you one of the better rooms upstairs, we are basically empty." Well... There's a revelation.. Why was I dropped into the basement if the hotel was empty from the ground up? Because the idea of showing your customers your best is a dead idea in that ramshackle shell. Worst hotel stay I have ever had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from San Jose

Good London neighborhood

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Two underground stations very close by. Nice safe neighborhood. Restaurant closed at this time but the buffet breakfast good value. Air conditioner great. Has been refurbished. We would book again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nasty experience, everything old.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: I didn't like anything
Cons: Starting from the rooms... Until the staff
Location: The location was good but just that
Good location, but in really bad condition. The wardrobe was converted into a bathroom... Really bad....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Wifi or Internet in the rooms.

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: If all you are looking for is a place to sleep, (albeit in an uncomfortable cot bed) this place would do.
Cons: Internet Access, updating rooms, new beds, towels, working phones.
Location: The location is excelent though, close to Bayswater Tube station.
The hotel was inexpensive. It had an included Breakfast (marginal food). It also was dated, with the most uncomfortable beds, telephones that didn't work, but the thing that sticks out most in my mind... no internet...no wifi in the rooms.... and the wifi they did have in the lobby was pay per use and expensive.
2 out of 5
by george from canada

the hotal was on poor condition

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: i don't like
Cons: no.i dont think so
Location: center of london.good location
the hotel was on poor condition.i don't like it.and I do not recommend any one go there
2 out of 5
by Ray from Birmingham, UK

Review of my experience

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Just the location.
Cons: It needs a total modernisation, but decorating throughout and replacing the carpets and curtains are essential.
The only positive thing about it was its location, very dated old carpet, I could see dust on the radiator.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M from Scotland

very convenient hotel

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: The area is plesant and convenient The hotel is in a quiet area and I feel quite safe walking around even in the evening.
Cons: Will be glad when the restaurant is finnished. One lift seems to be causing problems. Several times I have been there it has been out of action.
Location: The location is handy for Hyde Park, Albert Hall, V&A. British Museum also Kensington and Nottinghill. It is near Queensway & Westborne Road for food
I've stayed at this hotel several times in the past and found everything very plesant. This time, however, foreign youngsters, presumably moving from room to room, banged doors until nearly 1.00am each night. Also because the usual restaurant was being redone the room downstairs with no deadning and a large number of youngsters was extreamely noisy.
2 out of 5
by Jus from Norfolk

Work in progress

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Good value and pleasant location. Enjoyed cycling around the area on Boris Bikes late at night
Cons: Refurbishment updating the rooms. Better scrambled eggs and sausages. Coffee was poor. Quieter when building work is finished.
Location: Nice quiet part of London whilst Queensway was convenient and the Whiteleys Arcade and Cinema was great. Nice walk across the park to the museums
No chance of a lie in - building work upstairs started a 8.45 am prompt - but the rooms desperately needed updating especially the en-suite. Really old furniture and lighting. Breakfast was very basic. Basement room was cosy though and the heating worked well. Clean sheets too. Suited purpose and good value for central location at £40 pp per night B+B for a week.