Ratings based on 403 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Location and the breakfast was better than expected
Cons: Shower pressure, customer service and free wifi
Location: Close to Bayswater and Queensway tube stations and shops on Queensway. Great location to pick up the Hop on Hop off bus, close to Hyde Park
Firstly we were given a twin room after I had booked a room with a double bed. The next room offered was in the basement which we were not happy to take. We were then offered a recently refurbished room (the staff member thought the paint fumes and smell might be an issue, which I can only guess is why we were not originally offered this room). The room was very clean with everything needed, although very small, which we were expecting in London anyway. The male staff members were very helpful but most of the female staff looked like they couldn't be bothered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mags from NYC

In a central location

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Cons: Location of the TV, lower would be better.
Location: 2 underground station. Hyde park
This hotel was pretty decent. It's close to 2 underground stations. It's near Hyde park, close to a bank of Barclays bike. Overall, I'd stay here again. The only thing is that the tv's are in an awkward place. high on the wall, but I suppose that's standard in the UK.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super basic, but great location.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Nice staff. Great location.
Cons: The wifi situation is awful.
Location: 5 minute walk to Bayswater and Queensway tube stations. The Prince Edward pub on the nearby corner is fab! Very short walk to Portobello Road.
This hotel has a pretty fabulous location, but was pretty disappointing in almost every other way for a business traveller. They really need to update how they approach Wifi. It is no longer some extra addon. Wifi only being available in the lobby is bad enough, but having to pay extra for it? So frustrating. The rooms were well cared for, but very small with no other furniture. The water pressure in the showers was anemic at best. It's difficult to get an iron to press your clothes after traveling because there were only 2 which had to be rented from the reception desk. The staff is generally pretty pleasant. For a business traveller, I would avoid this place, but for large groups of families, it might work out fine.
1 out of 5
by Sheila from Edinburgh

old tatty hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: the only thing good about this hotel is the location nothing else.
Cons: I guess staff should be more helpful and cheerful, and also renovation to improve looks of the hotel especially the basement..
Location: the only thing good is the location, Kensington Garden and Notting Hill are just few minutes walk away.
we were given a room in the basement which I'm not happy about..corridors smelly, carpet dirty, wall paints peeling off. i thought breakfast was a bonus but it was disappointing, needed to queue and coffee machine not working and not enough tables and chairs for you to have your breakfast.. basically you have to wait for the next available table ..so if you are rushing be there at 7 o'clock..
3 out of 5
by adele from scotland

Very dated

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Location good, staff friendly and helpful, recently refitted bathroom was nice if small. Breakfast served in reception area on school dinner style tables not so good. Corridors to rooms very dated with linoleum flooring. Carpets an walls coverings in room in bad condition. Bed sheets clean but mattress terrible. Wouldn't return to this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jonno from Cumbria

Very adequate budget hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: Location,Friendly staff,excellent breakfast,cleanliness of room.
Cons: I don't think you could ask for much more at this class of hotel.
Location: Handy for Kensington Gardens,Hyde Park.Just a few stops on the tube to the west end
This budget hotel is great value for money,nicely located near Bayswater and Queensgate underground stations and Kensington gardens.There are no bells and whistles here but everything you need is on site.Smallish rooms but very clean and tidy.Brilliant cooked breakfast,more than adequate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for...

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Staff needs training. Hotel condition and cleaniness could be better.
Location: Close to Hyde Park and Notting Hill.
... but if something unexpected happens, do not expect the hotel staff to be able to help you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Auz

50/50

Posted Mar 6, 2014
This hotel is in a great location. Close to 2 tube stations and just one stop away from the heathrow express. Plenty of pubs and resteraunts in the area. Rooms small and breakfast always was over crowded. Stayed on the basement level and would ask for a different level next time. You could hear all the movement from up above. Overall not a bad place and would stay here again for the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient for West End and Hyde Park

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Decor
Location: Plenty of restaurants nearby to suit all tastes
Well placed for public transport and easy access to the West end, Hyde Park and the shops in Oxford Street
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average Hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Average hotel near to Hyde Park.Room required some decorating. Staff friendly and helpful. Great breakfast