Ratings based on 444 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts USA

Then and now

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: It's convenient location to tube stations, restaurants, and shopping.
Cons: Free in room Wi-Fi.
Location: There are two pubs nearby (The Phoenix and Bayswater Arms). Whitely' s Depatment Store is a short walk. Kensington Palace and gardens are nearby.
Having stayed at the Bayswater Inn in 2011 we were pleasantly surprised to see the updates to the property. We were fortunate to have a room on the 4th floor which has been totally renovated. Though small by American standards, the rooms are clean and bright. Be advised that our room had a shower only, was very small and was definitely not handicapped accessible. The new breakfast area had just been completed and was a definite improvement. Be advised that the reception area is temporary and is small and not too inviting. The current phase of renovation is a new lobby area. The basement and floors 1, 2, and 3 have yet to be updated. We spoke to a desk person we remembered from 2011 and he said it could take up to four more years to finish the upgrades.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands

disappointing

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Cons: Attitude of staff really needs improving
We were given a room in the basement, very basic & very bland. No tea/coffee making facilities. Beds very uncomfortable. When went to restaurant in morning or breakfast I went to get a cup of coffee from the machine and was shouted at from across the room that I couldn't get one till 8am it was now 7.55. This restaurant attendant shouted at other people too. He did come and apologise later but it should never have happened
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Centrally located and clean

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Centrally located to West End, Central London, Attractions etc.
Breakfast and facillities very disappointing and very basic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but a two star hotel instead of four

Posted Oct 3, 2014
This hotel should be two star instead of four. Everything is so old in the room and halways.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

They might be getting better.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms
Location: Queensway, nearby, is a street filled with restaurants and night life. Whiteley's shopping center is nearby. Close to two tube stations, bus routes.
The room they originally put us in was shabby and not air conditioned. After protesting and asking for my money back (NOT possible, they said.) they moved us to a remodeled room with air conditioning. THIS is the room pictured on Expedia. The room was quite acceptable. Location is excellent in the Hyde Park/Notting Hill area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Under refurbishment, so expect the mess.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: It was fairly central and tubes relatively nearby.
Cons: It was obviously needing to be up- dated and that's what they were doing.
Location: Near to Bayswater street and Queensway, then if you walk further up the street you will be at Hyde Park. Tubes are quick and easy.
Hotel was ok, older and with character, but undergoing refurbishment. My room was on the ground floor, had been re-done, had 3 beds..1 queen and 2 twin. Was nicely redone, but was very difficult to find, at the end of a rabbit-warren of corridors and was VERY hot. I live in Texas so I'm used to heat, but as you opened the door, the warmth of the room met you. There was a window that opened to nowhere and so no free flowing outside air. They had also put a fan in there, so they were aware of the problem. Beds were hard and had a mattress cover with a plastic liner on , so that too added to the heat overnight. I took it off for my second night...so I slept. Pillows were also old and hard. No wi-fi in the entire hotel although they said the 4th floor did have wi-fi, and the lobby..but I never got wi-fi the whole time I was there. Breakfast room was nicely redone and the food was good, sausage, egg etc. Hopefully with the major re-model they will bring this place back to a good standard, but right now expect to deal with the ' not so good ' stage. It was ok. Also quite a walk to tubes and a pretty dark and quiet walk home at night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west midlands

Bayswater Inn Queensway London. Not recommended.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Everything. Investment.
Location: Great location. Easy for the tube. Excellent restaurants.
Despite being described as a 3 star hotel this hotel was not even 1 star! The reception area was dull basic and unwelcoming. There was a mop and bucket in reception. The decor was very tired and in poor repair. Exposed pipe work in the stair area with holes between floors covered with a wooden plank unsafe if a toddler went to explore! The bedroom carpets were poorly fitted and stained. The beds were Z beds not divans. There was a crack in the sink, toilet seat loose and metal bars on the windows! On booking in we were asked for a deposit against possible damage,which we refused to pay. Having travelled extensively we have never come across this request before. Breakfast was eaten in a canteen like room certainly not comparable with the 3 star rating. Overall this hotel had the feel of a run down hostel. The staff tried their best but some staff did not even speak English. I will be contacting the English tourist board to inform them of this hotel being marketed as 3 stars.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't look like the Expedia pictures

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The location was very convenient to the bus tour and many other attractions.
Cons: Clean the carpets or do something to remove the terrible odor in the hallway.
Location: It was two blocks from the Tube and close to Hyde Park.
We cut our vacation short because we were not happy with this hotel. Our room was located down in the basement. There was a horrible odor in the hallway. Fortunately, the room did not have as bad of an odor. The walls were so thin that we could hear the man in the next room over snoring extremely loudly!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Reasonable for the price

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: my new room on level 4 and the location of the hotel is very good
Cons: Free Wi- Fi and refurbish basement rooms
Location: Very close to Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park, short walk to Notting Hill shops and Bayswater and Queensway tube stations and plenty of restaurants.
Was first allocated a room in the basement which was very ordinary, very old and cramped with a window opening into a small space looking at 4 other hotel room windows. Very noisy and did not feel safe below ground in such close proximity to open windows from other rooms. As a single female it was not ideal. Asked to be moved above ground which they did the next day and I was moved in to a lovely. clean and refurbished modern room on the 4th floor (room 10A) This room was perfect. The lady on duty was very considerate, staff helpful. Breakfast was ok and I found a nice cafe in the next street with free wifi. Charging for wifi should not happen at hotels. I would reccomend the refurbished above ground rooms but NOT the basement rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Where on earth did they get 3 stars from?

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Nothing, execpt leaving
Cons: everything, or maybe stop pretending to be a hotel
Very poor service at the front desk, room not ready on time, you get charged for internet access, room smells bad, a plastic bed cover, very noisy building, unstable shower varying from scalding hot to freezing in 2 seconds, broken air dryer, canned tomatoes for breakfast, slices of bread dry before they got into the toaster, a passion for neon lights, a TV with flickering channels, a fire alarm test at 7am... Shall I go on?