Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Maida Vale hotel review

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Cons: See above.
I got a message from the hotel the evening before my stay which was left after 5pm saying that there had been a problem with bookings and they had cancelled my booking. I telephoned them and pointed out that I had paid. They then told me to come and they would cancel another guest. They took a deposit on my arrival. Soon after my arrival, the receptionist just let himself into my room. He said he had got the wrong room and someone had said there was a problem with the air conditioning. There was no natural light in the room. The breakfast was disappointing, weak coffee, no refill offered and they ran out of croissants with a 10 to 15 minute wait for more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lagos

Close to city centre and free from traffic noise

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Very poor or no internet in the rooms. Beakfast choices were limited and no drinking water as complimentary in the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Great, simple breakfast included, nice room even if it was in the basement!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Excellent value for money

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Very clean and excellent value for money
Cons: Stayed with a friend; we both agreed the single beds are a little on the small side. Not an big issue though
Location: Overground station across the road, for quick trip to and from Euston. Underground not too far away either
In London for an overnight stay, nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Already booked for my next stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
by JeepGuy from United States

Difficult to find

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed on 7/14/14. Hotel is clean, staff friendly. They'll hold your bags for you after checkout so you can explore London (for a fee) which was nice. Rooms are modern, comfy, and clean. Thought our AC was broken, but it turns out you have to insert your room key into a slot in the wall to "turn on" the room once in. Great idea and never seen before, but a label for it would have been nice. The only troubling bit was finding it. Part was our fault, I booked assuming it'd be a Best Western, with ample signage. There's not, none. It is just the Maîtrise Hotel. Hotels.com was a little misleading there. After walking for 3 miles (with all our luggage), the location is actually great. 3 minute walk down Cambridge to the Bakerloo Line at Kilburn Park. From the station, walk up the hill (Cambridge Rd) once you hit Kilburn High Rd, make a right (Tesco Express will be on your left), 2 shops down on your right hand side, next to an alterations shop. As stated, don't bother looking for Best Western. Now that we know where it is, will stay again, and with an Oyster Card, you can't beat this hotel for its location and price and ease of getting into the heart of London.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired Hotel in need of a refurbishment

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: nothing much really
Cons: Reception staff were not welcoming, efficient but not a warm welcome
Location: This is a north london high street and there is little to recommend it except its accessibility to the west end of London
A disappointing experience, definitely not a four star standard. The restaurant was not open and no helpful suggestions from the hotel staff.... I wanted to eat in, and had chosen a hotel that would have the facilities I needed. Would not use again. The only positive is that it is on some useful bus routes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, Scotland

Comfortable hotel close to public transport links

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Price, decor, location for transport links. Tesco's and Starbucks open late across the road which came in handy.
Location: Easy access to all public transport links. Lots of shops on Kilburn High Road. Leafy walk through Maida Vale towards Central London.
We stayed for 4 nights in this comfortable, clean hotel. Decor fresh with contemporary feel. Based ourselves here because of a friend's party at the Good Ship on Kilburn High Road on the Saturday night but also wanted easy access for investigating London. Great base for public transport links. Hotel staff pleasant and helpful. Room nice and clean; new towels and bathroom cleaned daily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Last minute disappointment

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The room was clean and tidy
Cons: A room with a widow that isn't blocked off and the facilities topped up
Location: Wembley arena close by, tube station nearby
We booked a room at this hotel well in advance only to be told 2pm on the check in day that they had no room available. Obviously this was not acceptable as We had no where to stay. We was offered an alternative hotel 30 minutes away which was no good as we had parked for 2 days and had to attend a local event (walking distance from hotel). The receptionist insisted I couldn't have a room , making up lots of excuses for the problem. I asked to speak to the manager but he/she would only speak via the receptionist. After a long debate i was told I could have a room which settled everything. When we arrived the receptionist was friendly and the room was very clean however the room we were given had an empty mini bar and no windows giving the feeling of a prison cell! This is not what I expected for a £150 for the night, We had a great time in London but the hotel experience was defiantly the low point of the trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Nice hotel, close to transport links

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Excellent condition and staff were friendly. Hotel was always clean and rooms made to same standard each day. One downside was the wifi, which was not strong enough to keep a stable connection in our room but other than that it was great