Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Birmingham

Reasonably priced London Hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Cons: Quality of continental breakfast eg provide a variety of breakfast rolls and preserves. Invest in a new toaster.
Location: Easily access from Central London on the Bakerloo line.
We chose this hotel as it was near a relative who lives in Maida Vale. It was reasonably priced and near to Kilburn Park tube station. The furnishings and fittings were of a good standard and although the hotel sits on a main road it was very quiet as the windows have secondary glazing. We saw the reviews about the rooms being stuffy but we coped by turning on the air conditioning whilst we were out in the evening to cool our room down. There are plenty of places where you can eat out nearby or like us you can find good restaurants and gastro pubs on Abbey Road which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. There is also reasonably priced food available at the hotel. The only down side to our stay was the quality of the breakfast. The toaster had seen better days and we had to speak to the restaurant manager when the only jam ran out an hour and a quarter before the end of breakfast service. Staff, after some persuasion went over the road to the supermarket to get some more jam.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Value for money. Easy links to underground and buses to all tourist attractions.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

wifi did not work in room,problems with door

Posted Nov 3, 2014
One of the biggest amenities that attracted me to the hotel was the free wifi. I live overseas so the wifi was to be used as my primary source of communication with family/friends while in London. When I got to there, the wifi was only available in the lobby and not the room in which I stayed. I complained to the staff multiple times and they stated that they would restart the router but it did not produce a connection in the room and they did not offer to swap my room for another with a better wifi connection. Another issue was the bathroom door. The bathroom door did not close all the way and when we complained, the staff did nothing. This was a very bad hotel experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wilmette, IL

An uncomfortable experience.

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: The chocolate croissants at breakfast.
Cons: The 15" high room chair, tiny desk space, wifi service, shoddy bathroom counter & room trim, floor tile mold, the unreachable closet hangers. Comfort.
Location: The area has a Tube station that's 3 stops from the Heathrow Express at Paddington. Easy Tube or bus ride to the center of London.
We chose this hotel because we believed Best Western was always a safe choice for a decent stay at a mid-range price. The Best Western Maitrise was a complete disappointment. The room was so uninviting we avoided it except to sleep. The room was quite small but we expected that. However, the furnishings were terrible. The one armless tiny chair sat no more than 15 inches from the floor while the so-called desk area was at least 32 inches high (sort of chest-high while sitting) -- it was a shelf that had space for a coffee maker and cups but almost none of our items. The bathroom had expensive plumbing fixtures combined weirdly with a wooden counter with water damage and cheap wooden trim that looked like it was installed by unskilled carpenters. The same crude trim was used in the bedroom. The detachable closet hangers were attached at a strange height, at least 6 1/2 feet, so flipping the hangers free was like a carnival game. The small refrigerator was in the closet and gave off heat that made the closed closet like an oven. The wifi worked periodically for a few minutes before cutting out. The hotel lobby seemed to be the only place wifi worked. The included breakfast was satisfactory but one morning they ran out of key food items. The staff was pleasant but seemed to be in denial about the strange room facilities and bad wifi. I wish we'd stayed at the Marriott down the street. The Best Western Maitrise was an awful experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Maida Vale hotel review

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Cons: See above.
I got a message from the hotel the evening before my stay which was left after 5pm saying that there had been a problem with bookings and they had cancelled my booking. I telephoned them and pointed out that I had paid. They then told me to come and they would cancel another guest. They took a deposit on my arrival. Soon after my arrival, the receptionist just let himself into my room. He said he had got the wrong room and someone had said there was a problem with the air conditioning. There was no natural light in the room. The breakfast was disappointing, weak coffee, no refill offered and they ran out of croissants with a 10 to 15 minute wait for more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lagos

Close to city centre and free from traffic noise

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Very poor or no internet in the rooms. Beakfast choices were limited and no drinking water as complimentary in the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Great, simple breakfast included, nice room even if it was in the basement!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool

Excellent value for money

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Very clean and excellent value for money
Cons: Stayed with a friend; we both agreed the single beds are a little on the small side. Not an big issue though
Location: Overground station across the road, for quick trip to and from Euston. Underground not too far away either
In London for an overnight stay, nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Already booked for my next stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

Great nights sleep

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good value for London stopover, good breakfast, erratic but free WiFi. Quiet basement room
3 out of 5
Recommended
by JeepGuyfrom United States

Difficult to find

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed on 7/14/14. Hotel is clean, staff friendly. They'll hold your bags for you after checkout so you can explore London (for a fee) which was nice. Rooms are modern, comfy, and clean. Thought our AC was broken, but it turns out you have to insert your room key into a slot in the wall to "turn on" the room once in. Great idea and never seen before, but a label for it would have been nice. The only troubling bit was finding it. Part was our fault, I booked assuming it'd be a Best Western, with ample signage. There's not, none. It is just the MaƮtrise Hotel. Hotels.com was a little misleading there. After walking for 3 miles (with all our luggage), the location is actually great. 3 minute walk down Cambridge to the Bakerloo Line at Kilburn Park. From the station, walk up the hill (Cambridge Rd) once you hit Kilburn High Rd, make a right (Tesco Express will be on your left), 2 shops down on your right hand side, next to an alterations shop. As stated, don't bother looking for Best Western. Now that we know where it is, will stay again, and with an Oyster Card, you can't beat this hotel for its location and price and ease of getting into the heart of London.