Ratings based on 839 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, Co

Nice hotel in Paddington area

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: It has a "traditional" London feel, which is what I was interested in coming from overseas for a vacation
Location: Location is very good. Only a few blocks walk to Paddington station, offering easy access to the Tubes and Trains. Only a few blocks to Hyde Park
I enjoyed my 2 night stay at Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London. The hotel was in a good location, was clean and quiet. Easy walk to the Tube/Train station as well as Hyde Park and Kensington Palace. There are plenty of local restaurants in walking distance as well. The staff was very helpful and polite. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia

Best value I've ever experienced

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Particularly the staff. Seemed to be entirely Romanian, but were friendly and helpful and super-attentive.
Given the price range, you won't do better than this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful; the room was small but made excellent use of space, and the location was perfect for tubes and Paddington Station (I came in on the Heathrow Express - fastest transition from airport gate to hotel ever).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico

Very well located, and affordable price

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Very good attention of the Hotel Staff!!
Cons: Room very small!!
Location: Very well located, for the diferente types of transportation (Buses, Subway and Train)
Very good attention of the Hotel Staff and Good breakfast!! The only downside is the rooms are to small!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable space, friendly staff, good location

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: it has been renovated in the past few years so the basic amenities are better. the bar area has current newspapers and is quiet
Location: it is near Hyde Park and Kensington Garden as easy walks and three blocks from Paddington Station.
I stayed for one night on two occasions in the same week. On both occasions, the front desk staff and service staff were welcoming, forthcoming with assistance and proactive in regards to the room, any assistance required, and questions about the stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grosseto

A due passi da Paddington!

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Ottima la posizione a due passi da Paddington. Volendo con una passeggiata si raggiunge Hyde Park e in mezz'ora si arriva dall'altro lato del parco! La nostra camera era un po' "nascosta"; O meglio,c'erano da passare 4 porte, 2 corridoi, fare 2 piani di scale, come se si entrasse in un altro stabile. (Ps: attenzione alla card perchè in metro si smagnetizza quindi, nel caso, chiedete alla reception prima di salire in stanza.) La camera di per se piuttosto piccola (ma è un classico di Londra) con letto alla francese e un piccolo bagno. Pulizia non male nel complesso e cambio della biancheria da bagno giornaliero. Se dovessi tornare, opterei per una stanza più comoda e più grande!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cyprus

Avoid BEST WESTERN Hotels

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Close to Paddington station.
Cons: Front Desk staff that do not lie and pass the problem on to another BEST WESTERN hotel.
Location: Paddington Station and Tube connections into central London.
Confirmed reservation means nothing to BEST WESTERN. We were told only on arrival that we had to transfer to another hotel. Front desk staff lied and said the transfer hotel had rooms, which on arrival at the 2nd hotel they were not able to accommodate us. We were then transferred to a third hotel. This hotel was very noisy, rooms poor, broken lamps and this was for a "superior room". Hotel is unable to cater for a family of 5. We booked 1 twin room, and a 2nd twin room with roll-a-way bed. Recommend you call the hotel directly before you book online. My general recommendation is to avoid the Hotel Chain, as you can better value for your money else where with the same star rating. Email apologize was provided by hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom san diego, ca.

hotel and environs under reconstruction-very noisy

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: free flowing wifi, nice pillows
Cons: read above
Location: in the middle of nowhere, far from the attractions of London.
the hotel is undergoing renovation. the construction noise begins at 8 am and continues until 6 pm. we had no hot water for 24 hours when they removed hot water heaters but did not hook up the new ones. a residence behind the hotel re-tarred their roof from 7 pm until midnight on one night with hammering and roaring blowtorches creating a continuous din. the rooms are only slightly larger than train compartments. the bathroom floor tile are loose from the water that floods out from the shower. the mattresses are quite soft and provide little back support. the old window rattles in its frame at the slightest wind. the hotel is situated blocks from bus and subway transportation and travel to the central attractions of London is time consuming. the restaurants in the area are mediocre. on the bright side, the staff is pleasant, attentive, and helpful. the wifi is free and abundant. the pillows are nice. if you absolutely, positively, have to be in this neighborhood.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, small rooms, helpful staff

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff
The rooms are tiny which is typical of London hotels. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Location is great, 10 min walk to Paddington station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Heerhugowaard

Goed hotel als uitvalbasis voor bezoek London

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Een redelijk goed hotel op ca. 10 minuten lopen vanaf Underground station Paddington. We hebben het hotel alleen gebruikt voor de overnachtingen en dus kan verder niet de overige diensten van het hotel beoordelen. De kamer en het bed (queensbed) waren meer dan voldoende.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy!

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Room was fine, staff seemed to struggle with the Expedia booking though. The real issue was with how clearly I could hear the street outside and the other guests! I could hear the chap snoring upstairs never mind him walking round...