Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.2 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.0 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Diane from Glasgow

Bloomsbury hotel/ Arran hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2013
This was meant to be a 4* hotel when we arrived I was not impressed at all more like a boarding house than a hotel, at time of check in we were told there had been a leak in our room and we had to be moved from 29 Gower Street to another hotel in the group at 77 Gower Street, we hoped this might have been an improvement but even worse. No bar,very old fashioned worn carpets throughout, the bathroom was tiny and had a huge stair into it. Bedding clean, there was a double and 2 single beds cushions and throws smelt very fusty! Dinning room was like something from 50's with plastic table Covers and badly in need of repair. This would qualify as a 2-3* B and B. We were extremely disappointed and will not use expedition again as the description they gave of hotel was nothing like it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2013
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Newblade from Frome

The Smallest Hotel room I Have Ever Stayed In!

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
There is no way that this hotel can class itself as 4 star. I would struggle to give it two.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N. Ireland

Langland hotel London

Posted Oct 17, 2011 on Hotels.com
Booked this hotel for a 65 yr relative. After checking in and looking around he left refusing to stay . Although the hotel is cheap it was a waste of money as ended up paying for another hotel on top of that of Langland. Sorry def would not recommend to anyone. First time ever had a problem with any of Hotel.com hotels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Hands down, the worst hotel I've been to

Posted Sep 16, 2011 on Hotels.com
First, the positive: the Russell Square/British Museum area is ideal for visitors to London: easy transport, convenient food, and (overall) nice hotels. I was thankfully able to transfer hotels the following day, and my second experience was fantastic. Langland is not one of those nice hotels. My sister and I arrived, exhausted, with our luggage earlier this week. We were instructed to leave our bags for 4 hours in the "Living Room" which was open to all other inhabitants and crammed full of stained couches. First indication of poor service and dodginess. We noticed the window was open to the street as well. We grabbed some Langland 'breakfast' (greasy meat, dirt? in the orange juice, shared sugar bowls, and cracked glass cups) before heading out. Once we got back that afternoon to move our luggage into the room, things continued to go downhill. Some memorable moments that evening: 1) Dripping faucet in the bedroom, 2) wobbly chair in the room had a massive blood?pee? stain, 3) the SHARED bathroom on the floor was flooded with water on the tiles, in which long hairs floated. The window of the bathroom also looked directly onto the opposite buildings, so someone got a nice view while we were using the toilet, 4) the shower is unusable to anyone with modern sensibilities of cleanliness (my sister and I are avid campers, so that's a big statement right there), 5) inhabitants on our floor literally played wall-ball against our door, 6) Something in the sheets made us itchy, and 7) the "Double"/"Two Person" room is not large enough for even just one person + their luggage (and we only had 1 bag each). Sure, Langland is cheap, but don't let your frugality trump your desire for safety, cleanliness, and happiness on your vacation to London.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn NY

Langland Hotel London

Posted Aug 22, 2011 on Hotels.com
What to expect: -relatively clean rooms -free english breakfast -good location -good price (for location) This hotel, which dances the line between hotel and hostel, is perfectly adequate for those who want to visit London. It is in a very accessible location (near Russel Square), is relatively inexpensive for the location and offers free english breakfast every morning. In addition, the staff were friendly and helpful with locale information. What not to expect: -flexible shower schedule -large, luxurious rooms On the more hostel side of things, the Langland provided rooms that were very utilitarian besides the free TV. Personally this does not bother me as I am in London to be in London and not in a hotel. The only thing that I found restrictive was the lack of bathrooms (which are shared through the hotel) so it was difficult to fit in a shower between, say, 0730-1000. Not impossible, but there are usually people waiting to take their shower, use the loo, etc... Conclusion: If you can handle the shower situation and don't mind small rooms, then this is a great hotel for you.
1 out of 5
by Alex from New Jersey

Warning - this hotel has bed bugs, do not book this hotel!!!

Posted Aug 20, 2011
This hotel is rather a poorly maintained hostel. Overall features: extremely dirty and outdated furniture, stinky, worn carpets throughout the hotel, no ventilation, one toilet and shower for every 12 rooms. The toilets are located between the floors. The toilets and showers were in unsanitary condition. Our room number 25 on 4th (top) floor had a huge leak on the ceiling, broken closet door and a 7” TV set from 1980s that was not working. Wi Fi signal was working only up to the second floor. After we spent one night at the hotel all members of my family were severely bitten by bed bugs. My son suffered severely. I documented this fact by photographs. Because of this our vacation was ruined. WARNING: it is dangerous for your health to stay in this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Brussels, Belgium

The Langland, London - excellent in its category

Posted Aug 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
Hi, this was a pleasant experience - excellent location close to British Museum & Oxford Street; friendly, helpful staff; clean quad room at the top of the building; satisfactory cooked breakfast; left luggage service (something not always available in London); competitive price in budget hotels. Of course, it's not the Ritz and with shared bathrooms there are occasional delays, but nothing exceptional. It was essentially a classic cheap London hotel - one my family would certainly go back to.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Please Avoid

Posted Jul 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
This hotel was in a convenient location, and we found it easy to walk to main attractions such as Big Ben, The London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Buckingham Palace, the theatre district, etc. The rooms were of decent size if you just want a place to crash for the night, but they certainly weren't clean. We had major issues with the hotel, and after arguing for several hours they were resolved to a somewhat satisfactory standard. However, the staff were quite rude. At breakfast you can choose from a full English breakfast or continental, which was nice. Overall, I'd say that you look elsewhere and save yourself some trouble.