Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle Washington USA

Hey, if you don't want to spend a lot, stay here!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: I liked the location, the price, the cleanliness, and the ease of staying there. The staff is very polite and helpful.
Cons: They should paint the door blue and plant blue bells outside.
Location: It's close to the Notting Hill Gate tube station and Portobello road.
The Blue Bells is very nicely located for our needs. It was clean, friendly, the breakfast was fine, and it was safe. It isn't posh, no view to speak of, no air conditioning, and no lift. But I will stay there again because for the price and the location it is completely adequate. My adult daughter and I shared one room on the 2nd floor, and it was quiet and small. On our return trip we stayed again, this time on the 4th floor, and it was a larger nicer room, also quiet. The other residents were European families and couples.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jimmy from Barnsley

Not bad at all for the money

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: Price, staff friendly, comfortable enough.
Cons: Decor
Location: Near to Bayswater tube station and Kensington Palace.
It's a bit old fashioned and the decor has seen better days but I had a comfortable stay here and can't complain at all for the money I paid. Good location too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in Central London

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Loved how close is to Notting Hill gate ctation. Clean, nice, neat hotel in the heart of central London :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Felicita from Italy

Spacious room in nice Location-but not quite clean

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Rooms located on a high second floor without an elevator, but the staff did help with my suitcase when requested. The room and bathroom were spacious compared to price and London standards, but the bathroom was not quite clean, there were some hairs laying on the toilet and on the walls around the shower/bathtub. Cannot say if this is due to the cleaners having a bad day, though. The neighborhood is mainly residential in a nice part of London, yet close to the tube and bus, a nice combination.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Julian a

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Washington, D.C.

Very happy to have stayed here

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Location. Value for money. Cheap.
Cons: Very basic accommodation. If you require more, this is not the place for you. Your room may be at the top of the house, and there is no lift.
Location: I stayed here because I have friends who live in Notting Hill. Nice neighborhood with Portobello Road nearby, if you like that sort of thing.
Great location (for me,at least). Only one complaint. The telephones. One cannot make calls from the rooms. At the beginning of my stay I was able to receive calls, but then that too failed and I had to go down to reception to take calls. My room, being at the top of this liftless hostel made it most inconvenient for me who does not have a mobile phone. That said, the room was adequate, the bathroom much better than I expected. Breakfast was just what I required--coffee or tea, orange juice, choice of 3 cereals, and toast. Much better than the full English. Charming square with most of the houses converted to private primary schools. The value for money cannot be beat for all of London. When I return to London I will stay here again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by MQ

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mofortuna from London

Pretty shabby room & experience

Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lock on the door was broken and the room didn't feel secure at all. The toilet seat was broken. It wouldn't stay up, and it wobbled around when seated. The shower was broken. The rail to hang the shower head was broken, so you had to hold it while showering. Not ideal after a long day touring around London. The phone to reception didn't work either. Security was pretty lax too. No one at reception when I went to drop key off before going out. So I rang the number. The guy told me to leave the key in the box. The box had no lock on it. Anyone could have taken the key and gone up to the room. Even despite this, as I mentioned the lock hardly worked anyway, so a shoulder would of got the door open. Bed was uncomfortable also. And I could hear the person in the next room as if she was beside me in my bed. I would not, under any circumstances stay here again. Another couple heard me complaining at reception the next morning and told me they had an equally bad experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Valia from Winchester- UK

Great value for money, great location

Posted Jan 29, 2013
Pros: Location, free Wi-Fi
Location: Great 2 minutes walk from train station
Booked the hotel for my nephew and his 4 friends- all in one room. Great value for money. They told me hotel was clean and room very spacious
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2012 on Hotels.com