Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Worth considering

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Clean fresh feel, good breakfast.
Cons: Supplied shower gel / shampoo could have been more generous.
Location: Very close to pleasant restaurants and pub.
Nice reasonably comfortable hotel close to Paddington station. No lift, but my room was just on the first floor. Quite small en suite but clean and everything worked. Nice bright breakfast room in basement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Mexico

zero bad experiences

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: location and service
Cons: some areas looks old, but while I was there they were working on those
Location: Train, Tube, all kind of public transportation
this small hotel located just a few steps outside to Paddington is a good option for those who wants to pay a reasonable price and at the same time fully located to connect with the tube, train or even the "big bus" (tourism). is an option for those who needs only a clean place to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakewell

Far more than I was expecting at this price

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Clean and bright and very good value for money
Cons: There are lots of stairs and no lift so not really suitable for less mobile people
I booked a one night stay in a single room here, but on arrival I was told by the friendly girl on reception that I had been upgraded to a double for free as they had availability. Wasn't expecting too much from a budget hotel, especially since I have stayed at another hotel in this area at a similar price which was really grubby. But I was really surprised! The room was fairly big, even for a double, very clean and modern décor, laminate flooring (as opposed to the usual 1970s stained carpet that seems to be a given in such places!) and own bathroom (small, but perfectly clean and functional). A TV that actually worked, and the comfiest bed I have slept in for a long time. I slept with the window slightly open and was amazed how quiet it was for central London (I was at the back of the property though, room 33). There is a buffet breakfast included in the price with cereals, toast, tea, coffee, juice, sausages, eggs and beans - eat as much as you like so you can definitely make some of your money back here! :) Close to Paddington station, Hyde Park and Oxford Street so a really great location. I would definitely recommend it and will likely stay here again myself.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by justine from sydney

Location is great but that's it

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Security, room size, cleanliness, bathroom size
The location of this hotel is fantastic. It's on a quote street but incredibly close to everything. The receptionist wad helpful. Unfortunately the room we had was impossibly small, stuffy and old dried blood was on the pillow. The bathroom was beyond small and surely can't be legal. There was hair on the floor from the last people. The biggest let down was coming back after a full day of touring to find that the cleaners had left our door open all day. Thankfully we lock everything up in our suitcases each day, but our security was completely compromised.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth the price

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Good location. Breakfast quite decent. Shower room a bit small. Overall its worth the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Irie from Texas

Great Location

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Location and friendly staff.
Cons: Larger sink. A hook or a ledge in the bathroom to put things on. Better insulation between floors and rooms to buffer noise.
Location: Tons of great restaurants and cafes nearby. Tube station is just half a block away.
The best thing about the Cardiff is its location. It is just steps away from restaurants, mini market, and Paddington Station. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean. Good buffet breakfast. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations which wasn't a problem for us. Construction crew started about 8 in the morning and were gone by the time we returned in the evening. My biggest problem was the noise. I think the walls and floors must be very thin. We could hear the floor above us creak with every footstep and unfortunately the people above us were pacing back and forth till about 3 am every night! We could also definitely hear when any room near us turned on the shower or hairdryer. Basically our family was not able to sleep because of the noise. I will add that we were on ground floor. Maybe there is less noise on higher levels. We stayed in a family room which was of decent size but the bathroom was very small - smaller than a cruise ship bathroom. I expected a larger bathroom for a family room or at least a normal size sink. This bathroom would be inconvenient for families with young children. There was not even a hook on the bathroom door to hang things or a ledge to put things on.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jonathan from Auckland, New Zealand

Small But OK for a Brief Stay

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Location Not a bad price, even in peak season.
Cons: Soundproofing Better notification that there is no lift. Bathroom needs a complete overhaul and damp/rotting wood needs to be removed.
Location: Close to Paddington station and trains to Heathrow (<1min) Hyde Park (3 mins) Local restaurants and eateries are all around.
I stayed at this hotel in June 2014. It's conveniently located near Paddington station, which makes it ideal for a traveller staying in London for a couple of days, flying in from Heathrow.The building was undergoing some renovation, with the old doors being replaced with new key cards. That meant there was clutter around, but I was only in the hotel to sleep so I didn't mind. The room itself was small, even by the standards of Paddington hotels, and I've stayed in 3 or 4. There was a bed and a desk, which were fine, but the bathroom was in a poor state. The room was a little over 1m (3') across and contained a sink, toilet and shower that was only a little wider than my hand is long. The room also smelled of damp constantly, because obviously the shower splashes everywhere and has started to rot the bottom of the door. Once the door was closed it was alright, but it wasn't pleasant to be in for any length of time. You cannot stand in front of the mirror given the toilet's location. Overall, it was so funny I had to take photos so my family would believe me. Another issue is the lack of soundproofing. You can hear everything in the rooms next door, on the landing and in the street. You wouldn't want to be intimate in this hotel, and listening to other people's phone calls was amusing. I recommend ear plugs. Lastly, there is no elevator. If you're on the 4th floor it's a struggle with a big bag in narrow stairs, even for a fit guy like me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mattel from New Zealand

Clean hotel close to Paddington

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: It was clean and dry. Staff were helpful and friendly
Cons: You can't change the age of the building.
Location: Very central location - short walk to Paddington tube and rail station.
Staff friendly and helpful. Room clean. Breakfast good. Hotel is old, be aware there are 4 floors and no lift. This is a low cost hotel suitable for short stay tourists .
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike from USA

Near Paddington

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I am a flexible traveler and do not usually give a hotel a bad rating. Unfortunately, I can not recommend this hotel. On the good side, the hotel is very close to Paddington station and the hotel staff was very friendly. However, there were many negatives. When we were there the temp in London reached 80 degrees and the rooms are not air-conditioned. Guest at the hotel were always sitting outside on the stairs because the rooms were too warm. We were not even able to open a window as it was painted shut. The cleanliness of the room was very questionable. The bed covers had a lot of stains on them, the walls could use a painting and our trash was not emptied during our stay. Our room was directly beside the reception desk so it was very noisy and you could hear the front door closing all through the night as people tried to cool down outside. The rooms are very small (especially the bathroom). The breakfast is okay but again the eating area is very cramped. I have stayed at many hotels using hotels.com and always pleased with my hotel…however this hotel was an exception.