Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dhyeem from Riyadh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

value for money

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall a good level of service and clean room with comfortable beds. Just a rather tired looking carpet which was in need of changing and some paint chipped from some of the surfaces.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jo_traveller from Singapore

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall satisfactory but toilet is too small for room 200. Good location. Average service , wasn't impressed with one of the guy assisting in the maintenance of electric point or electrical appliances.
2 out of 5
by Sue from England

Convenient hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Pros: The service was friendly, helpful and efficient. The bathroom was compact, clean and adequately appointed.
Cons: Noise insulation. Breakfast was limited
Location: Excellent transport links. Good choice of restaurants and cafes plus other shops and services (eg medical clinic)
The hotel was extremely close to Paddington Station, as I needed. However, my room on the ground floor, at the front, was very noisy and noise from passing pedestrians and vehicles kept me awake for hours. The air conditioner had been dripping on the carpet, which was therefore very wet in one corner of the room. .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the Paddington train station.

Posted Sep 14, 2013
The Castleton was close to the train station. But the room was very small and the beds were really small and uncomfortable. I paid a lot of money ($450/ night) for a room that was smaller than my son's dorm room. I would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Hannah from Connecticut

Staff with attitude

Posted Sep 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel suited me just well, yet male staff in evening made me all most feel I was out of place. I asked for extra towel and a spoon to eat with and I was told they did not have time and that wasn't important at the time????In fact I felt like I was back at the Marrakech expensive spa where the male's seem to have a issue with single women travelers' ? Across the street were nice fish and chip's and Indian food the best feature was Paddington station and the 15min Heathrow express for 20pounds. I would stay here again and bring my own " eating utensils '" shower cap and maybe towel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great location

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Staffs are friendly & helpful. It's got an elevator, air conditioning & free wi-fi. Breakfast is nice, with choices of sausages, bacon, eggs, cereals, toasts, coffee, tea & orange juice. Location is great - about a minute walk to Paddington station, or 15 min walk to Marble Arch area (one of the central pick-up points for tours). Oxford Circus (major shopping area) is another 5-10 min down the road. The only thing I could complain about was level of cleanliness - had to keep using the same dixie cups in the bathroom, which was kinda gross when you saw traces of toothpaste/mouth wash still in those disposable cups [we tried to throw away the used/dirty ones, but the housekeeping staff didn't gave us new ones!]; bathroom mat was sometimes missing; had to ask for new supplies of bathroom tissues; coffee cups were dusty & it made you think twice using them! Otherwise the room was tidied up quickly every morning. Our room was in the basement level, and it could get a bit noisy at night with sounds/shouts from the street right outside. But I would say it was at an acceptable level. Room size is also ok, maybe because we were staying at a quadruple room (1 double & 2 twin). At least we had enough space for 3 normal sized luggages. Overall, I'd definitely pick Castleton Hotel again when I visit London next time.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Blair from Canada

Great location, very small room in basement

Posted Aug 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
First of all stay was good, close to underground and many amenities. Wifi was good but crashed in the middle of booking a flight and was unsure of if it went through, went to the front desk to see if I could use their phone to call the 1-800 # to confirm my purchase, and the front desk clerk was more interested in texting his friends on his iphone at 4am in the morning.Definately not trying to help a guest out, I called him out on it and he proceeded to tell me it wasnt his problem the interenet was down and proceeded to text his friends. Very unprofessional and rude in my mind.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dirk from NJ, JSA

Good location, that's it.

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
We did not enjoy this hotel at all. The location is close to Paddington station which is about all it has going for it. The rooms are small and the bathroom reminded me of an airplane bathroom. The carpet was badly stained although the linens were clean. There were two small tables in the room and a single, dirty chair that didn't match each other. They looked like they had been acquired at a flea market. We didn't even dare try breakfast.