Ratings based on 875 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from miami beach

A convenient hotel at an affordable price.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Position
Cons: the lobby
Location: The park
The neighborhhod is conveniet, and near de underground Just a little bit crowded in the entrance
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Prague

Nicely Located

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location, ease of check in and cleanliness of bathroom
Cons: A big update to the furnishings in the room
I booked before reading the reviews on here. It wasn't as bad as I was expecting. The room was clean, nice tv, decent hot water and water pressure. No frills though - carpets and furniture were outdated and cheap. A previous occupants shoes under the bed. Lobby was nice and the staff was helpful. Air conditioning made the room smell a little bit, but at least it was very cool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana, USA

Hotel had good location, but ..

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Location: just across from Hyde Park and near Queensway underground station and plenty of local stores. Minimum traffic noise at night was welcome.
Cons: New carpeting in corridors and some fresh paint. This would really improve the look. The attitude of some of the staff!
Location: See what did you like about this hotel above
On arrival, I found reception staff efficient, but unfriendly. Concierge was prompt in booking a taxi I requested at end of stay, but again without a smile. Reception and bar area spacious and attractive. Carpets in corridors old and stained, however. Room very hot (no a/c, no fan). I found that the basin plug was jammed in the sink and when I nicely asked a passing member of the housekeeping crew to fix it she acted annoyed. It was fixed, though. Double room itself was adequate if small and tired looking with basic furnishings. Bed comfortable, though, bathroom clean with good shower, and cleanliness was good. TV actually worked perfectly. Elevators fast and efficient. Hotel entrance was covered in scaffolding which didn't help image but since this is probably for upgrading, it will probably look much better once work is completed. All in all, quite adequate for my needs but lacking in warmth.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Excellent location only positive

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Excellent location
Cons: Make sure fridge works. Housekeeping -for example first day had to ask for a shower curtain, third day received only four hand towels, no bath towels
Location: Excellent close to all sights
Hotel room very basic, no air conditioning in unbearable heat, bathroom not as shown in advert, poor fit out, tarnished mirror. Fridge was almost not even cool and on enquiry was to,D nothing wrong with the fridge but setting at certain degrees. Our milk curdled, drinks warm.. Hotel overall three star rating but definitely room 534 is a two star. This is perhaps fourth or fifth time we have stayed at this hotel and had reasonable rooms except for once and hence booked again. However, this was a most disappointing experience over four nights and will not book this hotel again. I had a further two bookings of three days and five days which I have cancelled.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Very few rooms have air conditioning making it very uncomfortable in summer
2 out of 5
by Mrs Warner from Florida

good locations disappointing hotel...

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: they change the towels everyday and the shower
Cons: Costumer service... and FIX the TV!!!!
Location: the Queensway station.. and the Park
To start I will tell you the good points: the location is good closed to the "tube" Queensway station (many hotels are) they change the towells every day, the showers are good. Now the rest I can only compared with a Super 8 hotel in the USA but without A/C.If you ask for the A/C they will tell you that you have a "VENTILATOR in your room"( translation(a FAN) We stayed between the 14 June to the 22 June right on the middle of the the World Soccer Cup, and since the second day of our stay the TV set in our room didnt work.. many calls were made to the Housekeeping who apologized and promise (everyday) to fix it "tomorrow" (the antena of the hotel had a problem) we left on the 22 and still was never fixed... The breakfast is not included and is at a cost of pounds (everywhere is 5 pounds) never even try it... the front desk has two english young girls that never know was going on and the Concierge that is always "Busy .. you will have to wait" to make a phone call to a tour company you have to leave 2 pounds deposit... wont see us anymore!!!!!
3 out of 5
by Erdem from Istanbul

Nice place but just for the night

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Locatiob.
Cons: Free internet. Bigger TV set.
Location: Close to Hyde Park.
The hotel is located in a very nice spot with subway and a major road. But there is no free internet in the rooms, so you have to go down to the reception. The room is a bit small but clean.
3 out of 5
by The Dude

Under renovation

Posted Jun 8, 2014
I did not have a phone in my room which was needed as I became very ill during my stay. Concierge is the manager but I highly doubt this and he was not helpful in getting in touch with my Travel insurance Company to get info on where I was to obtain medical care. I eventually was moved to a room with a phone. My last night the water pump failed and there was no water for drinking or flushing. It was not repaired before I checked out sans shower. Hotel is non smoking but you would not know it. It smells of smoke throughout the building. Smokers go outside and smoke in front to the buildings air intake. Building surrounded in scaffolding and there is some loud noises throughout the day. English was not the first language of any of the staff I had contact with which made it difficult in getting assistance so I could seek medical attention.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Like sleeping in a sauna

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Leaving
Shockingly bad, hotter than a sauna and come back with more mosquito bits than a trip to South East Asia
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Josh from Boston, MA, USA

Cheap hotel in the middle of London

Posted May 25, 2014
No climate control working, and room very small and cramped. Very tired facility in need of updating and repairs. That being said, we stayed 2 nights and spent very little time there except to sleep. It was what I expected. Quality equal to price.