Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2014
I planned a trip to London with my husband and small dog. I found it extremely difficult to find a hotel which would accept dogs and was delighted when I found the Citadines Barbican. It was a truly wonderful experience for all of us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by s from norfolk

An excellent weekend

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Mainly it's location
Location: Lots of bars, restaurants and cafes all within easy walking distance as are many sights - St Pauls, Museum of London. Tube less than 5 minutes walk.
Brilliant location for the areas we wanted to visit. Just two stops on the underground from Liverpool Street for our main line train service and only twenty minutes from South Kensington and the museums we wanted to visit. Excellent area for food and drink too including a 24 hour cafe close to Smithfield Market. Many sites within easy walking distance, St Pauls, Museum of London. Close to shops too to stock up on essentials for stay. Staff were friendly and helpful and the kitchinette was ideal for our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ana from Moscow

A bargain

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Location is great, stuff is friendly
Cons: Cleanness of rooms
Location: Barbican metro station is right at the City of London. St. Paul's, Tate Modern, nice restaurants are within a walking distance from the hotel.
Reasonable price and great location attracts attention to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2014
2 out of 5
by Phil from El Salvador

Only if you must go somwhere close next day.

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Close to Embassy I was visiting
Cons: Parking charge is daylight robbery.
Location: Center of London, everything is close.
Staff were helpful. The room had a fold down bed, it was winter and the heat was turned off. The pillows were hidden in a cupboard and had I not searched everywhere I would not have found them. The hotel charged me 25 pounds, yes 25 pounds for overnight parking. Absolutely ridiculous considering that is NOT mentioned in the description. There was hair all over the bathroom. Towels were made for children, too small. I am unlikely to use this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bex from milwaukee, wi

Excellent for access to Barbican & 'the city'

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: I liked the fact that we had a fridge & small cooktop & could cook for ourselves. The staff was terrific & the room was comfortable, w a full size loo
Cons: There was really little to change.
Location: This hotel is generally a business/residential neighborhood, but it includes the Barbican theatre/concert hall, Museum of London, & Smithfield Market
This hotel was perfect for us for this trip because we wanted to be in close proximity to the Barbican which was only a 6 or 7 minute walk. The room was great and the staff was extremely friendly. The wifi worked well, though sometimes maxed out at under the maximum number of devices they recommended, but the staff was always willing to give another code. They were also willing & able to accommodate me when my flights were canceled due to bad weather in the States, so I didn't have to change rooms, let alone hotels. The Tube stop is very close to get to other parts of the city. If you are going to London for business purposes this is a great place because it's right in the middle of the business district, but if you are going for access to theatre & other arts/museums, you may want to look at a different Citadines as this one is a bit remote from those places and restaurants and bars tend to close fairly early. The Tube transfer is very easy though, so if you want to be away from the craziness of the tourist areas then it is certainly a viable option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Indira from San Jose

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: Great location. You have a small apartment to cook your meals and there's plenty of room! Excellent price.
Cons: A bit noisy. I wish the double bed had a double mattress not two single ones.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by melih from istanbul

Good and Cheap

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Pros: I like price is cheap against the goid quality
Cons: Bathroom can be renew and make more good looking ckran and fresh
Location: Location is near london museum, barbican tube. There is a good local bar restaurant opposite of hotel.
We have a good big room with a smart tv, free wifi and a kitchen. And ni extra fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Henry

Nice hotel close to the city

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: Close to the city, friendly & very helpful staff, close to the train station & bus stop
Cons: Everything, s good,
Location: Location very handy, close to supermarket, restaurants, takeaway food, c and to the train station
We had a folded lounge for our bed then after our first night we got a brand new double bed which, s very comfortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MacDonald from Canada

OK Apartment Hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Pros: Just being able to prepare meals in the apartment.
Cons: Put electronic locks on the doors to keep the noise down.
Location: see above
.Location - Need to take the underground to go almost anywhere west. 7.4 pounds/person/d. Small grocery store on the street. Excellent Italian restaurant on the corner and underground station close by.You have to weigh the cost and time of the underground verses an apartment hotel in the west end. Travel to Soho from here is @ 35 minutes. The Barbican Centre is across the street. Has restaurants, movie theatres and the London Symphony Orchestra plays there. If you stay here check out the weekend attractions around Liverpool station i.e. street markets and the food court at Brick Lane. Great area for the whole family Hotel hallways are dirty, requires paint and new carpet. Rooms are serviced once if you are staying for the week. I was in a studio and I mentioned I had a bad so the staff put a queen size bed in my room.. It made the living space very small but I give full marks to the staff for doing this for me. The bed was excellent. Being able to cook in your room is the attraction. I don't want to get up for breakfast and I want to cook dinner in my room before going out to the theatre. If you are a tourist and don't plan on cooking then stay in a west end hotel.