Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2014
I planned a trip to London with my husband and small dog. I found it extremely difficult to find a hotel which would accept dogs and was delighted when I found the Citadines Barbican. It was a truly wonderful experience for all of us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by s from norfolk

An excellent weekend

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Mainly it's location
Location: Lots of bars, restaurants and cafes all within easy walking distance as are many sights - St Pauls, Museum of London. Tube less than 5 minutes walk.
Brilliant location for the areas we wanted to visit. Just two stops on the underground from Liverpool Street for our main line train service and only twenty minutes from South Kensington and the museums we wanted to visit. Excellent area for food and drink too including a 24 hour cafe close to Smithfield Market. Many sites within easy walking distance, St Pauls, Museum of London. Close to shops too to stock up on essentials for stay. Staff were friendly and helpful and the kitchinette was ideal for our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ana from Moscow

A bargain

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Location is great, stuff is friendly
Cons: Cleanness of rooms
Location: Barbican metro station is right at the City of London. St. Paul's, Tate Modern, nice restaurants are within a walking distance from the hotel.
Reasonable price and great location attracts attention to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2014
2 out of 5
by Phil from El Salvador

Only if you must go somwhere close next day.

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Close to Embassy I was visiting
Cons: Parking charge is daylight robbery.
Location: Center of London, everything is close.
Staff were helpful. The room had a fold down bed, it was winter and the heat was turned off. The pillows were hidden in a cupboard and had I not searched everywhere I would not have found them. The hotel charged me 25 pounds, yes 25 pounds for overnight parking. Absolutely ridiculous considering that is NOT mentioned in the description. There was hair all over the bathroom. Towels were made for children, too small. I am unlikely to use this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bex from milwaukee, wi

Excellent for access to Barbican & 'the city'

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: I liked the fact that we had a fridge & small cooktop & could cook for ourselves. The staff was terrific & the room was comfortable, w a full size loo
Cons: There was really little to change.
Location: This hotel is generally a business/residential neighborhood, but it includes the Barbican theatre/concert hall, Museum of London, & Smithfield Market
This hotel was perfect for us for this trip because we wanted to be in close proximity to the Barbican which was only a 6 or 7 minute walk. The room was great and the staff was extremely friendly. The wifi worked well, though sometimes maxed out at under the maximum number of devices they recommended, but the staff was always willing to give another code. They were also willing & able to accommodate me when my flights were canceled due to bad weather in the States, so I didn't have to change rooms, let alone hotels. The Tube stop is very close to get to other parts of the city. If you are going to London for business purposes this is a great place because it's right in the middle of the business district, but if you are going for access to theatre & other arts/museums, you may want to look at a different Citadines as this one is a bit remote from those places and restaurants and bars tend to close fairly early. The Tube transfer is very easy though, so if you want to be away from the craziness of the tourist areas then it is certainly a viable option.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by simon from UK

Great value but two gripes

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location, clean room, wonderfully quiet. Only 2 gripes. First, I booked a room with a proper bed and was instead "upgraded" to one with a "Murphy" bed which means it swings down from the wall. Although it had a proper slatted base, the mattress was thinner than on a proper bed and was quite close to the floor. Second, the bathroom was tatty: the enamel on the bathtub was chipped, the extractor fan was clagged with dust and the grouting around the bath had been bodged by someone with a tube of white silicone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mark from Nottingham

Excellent Hotel great value

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
I only stayed here for one night but I really liked the fact that you had a small kitchen with all the features you could need. If you are a gym fan I also found a non contract gym just around te corner which is really good too. Staff were quick to check in and hotel was in a great location. Few shops and restaurants near by would stay again if working in that area.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com