Ratings based on 377 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jimmy from Hopewell Junction, New York

Stay there

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Location, clean, nice staff
Cons: Internet is shaky sometimes
Location: Ten minute walk to Tower Bridge
Great deal for the money; safe area; very close to the tube.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simple and central for a low price

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Only mild concern I had were the thin walls - I could hear my neighbours very easily into the early morning (though it was fri/sat night)! Luckily, had earplugs!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel but next door to loud bar!

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Expedia
Cons: Yes, let people know there is a bar/club next door with very loud music on.
I stay in a lot of hotels in London and was pleasantly surprised at the City Hotel. Clean and staff are friendly. However on my final night - a bar next door put their music up to a ridiculous volume and I failed to sleep until the early hours. The hotel should without a doubt explain to all customers that this would be happening. Would stay here again but only on a week day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Goobe from Budapest

Comfy and welcoming in the centre

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Cons: The private airport transfer was way overpriced. And the driver did not accept credit card - despite the receptionist said so.
I stayed in this hotel on my first visit to London. I didn't have high expectations, other than it is located in a very good location. It turned out to be a very good choice after all. The free instant coffee, tea and toiletries in the room was much appreciated after an exhaustive flight trip. wall mounted hd TV, fridge, hair dryer, kettle, comfy furnitures and a+ cleanliness. I would recommend to anyone who is planning a quick visit to London, because you do not have to bring an overpacked baggage. Suburb stations are close.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very basic hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: location, clean.
Cons: The heating of the rooms. The windows should be fixed so it closes fully. Cold water tap in bath didn't work. Internet extremely unreliable!
Rooms slightly shabby, but clean. Had to turn on aircon during the night due to central heating overheating the room. Window did not close fully at the hinge, so traffic noise came through. TV in the room was functional, but had multiple stripes of dead pixels. Internet extremely unreliable if it functioned at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by therese from australia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 31, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from Australia

Nice hotel close to metro

Posted Jan 18, 2014
From the outside we were a bit dubious about it but our room was clean, spacious and comfortable amd the staff were exceedingly helpful. Would definately recommend.
3 out of 5
by crystal from San Francisco

nice location

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: rooms need updating
Location: close to underground
nice location. close to underground. over priced. walls are paper thin so you can hear everybody walking by & in the surrounding rooms. there is a club down stairs that can be loud.
2 out of 5
by pago from UK

Convenient ...BUT

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: secure parking
Very noisey fridge at end of bed no way of turning off plug unreachable! bed comfortable but woken at 3.30am by 3 clubbers in next room arriving back slamming doors going to other rooms, Then talking,shouting and laughing retelling their whole night out.. finaly quiet at about 5am after many bangs on the wall believe reception had a word to no avail Def not use again At check out might be nice if staff actually ask after your stay instead of being too busy talking about their night...overall disappointment
1 out of 5
by single female from Croydon

Appalling stay, no sleep at all

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Hotel is attached to a nightclub/bar with booming music from 10pm to 3am (I stayed on a Saturday for 1 night) so loud that the whole room shook like an earthquake.