Ratings based on 462 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Glos

Convenient for Brick Lane

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Bar was quite nice
Cons: Refit of bedrooms and particularly the bathroom
Car parking was expensive but not in relation to other car parking in London, room was OK, quite comfortable, noisey on the road. Pleasant staff
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ireland

Good location, completely overpriced

Posted Oct 16, 2014
This hotel is truly a 3 star hotel. Very basic, lots of students in and out of the hotel, some had crashed out on the sofa's in lobby. Rooms were ok, but the bathroom was small and basic. The shower had zero pressure. Very disappointing. The room cost £280/$350 per night, and this didn't include breakfast. I thought this was a rip off and couldn't recommend this to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surprisingly quiet

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Whitechapel art Gallery, brick lane
Booked for convenience, we were surprised how quiet the rooms were for Central London. Spacious very comfortable rooms made for a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom manchester

Good hotel in Good Location

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Tastefully decorated and presented, staff were very helpful and nice.
Cons: The matress was old and lumpy, there was black mould on the batch sealant, shower ineffective.
Location: Great location loads of restaurants bars and pubs locally
Had a great stay at the city hotel, overall décor in hotel very pleasant and looks to have been recently refurbed, rooms are spacious and well laid out, everything works, including the Aircon.! if a tad noisey. Bathroom was clean , slightly let down by black detached sealant round the bath , shower was just ok being over the bath but all in all a good stay. The location on Brick Lane is great , loads of restaurants, pubs and bars, spitalfields market etc Will stay here again in future,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom leamington spa

Good hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Very nice experience , lovely days in London and when I possible I came back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jenfrom London

Friendly staff

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location and price, friendly staff and clean room. Nice bar with outdoor seating plus great cafe next door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by louhigs

Not a very clean hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room smelled of cigarette smoke and was very dated. Shower curtain disgusting. Air con was very loud on lowest setting. I would not pay to stay here (I used my free night and still feel ripped off).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SB

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Denise Woodhousefrom Surrey

do not let appearances decieve you, great location

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Me and a collegue were going to london for a show after work and this hotel was within our company budget, i read the reviews and couldnt believe how close it was to the tube. I wasnt exepcting much and the room are like a a travelodge and wasnt expecting a good nights sleep as the weather was over 30 degrees in the day but i was so pleased to see they even had Air conditioning. i would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Doreenfrom San Jose

4 days in London

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The City Hotel was nice. It's exactly what you would expect for the price. The room was clean and the air conditioning worked great which was awesome as we were there on some pretty hot days. The hotel is pretty far from Heathrow so expect to pay if you are taking a cab there. It is very conveniently located near the Aldgate East tube station so you can take the tube from the airport if you wish. The Heathrow tube station was being worked on while we were there so we couldn't do that, but normally I think it would work pretty well. The hotel breakfast wasn't included in our booking so be careful to pay attention to this. It was definitely not worth the price. There is a great cafe right out the door of the hotel that serves a full English breakfast for much less, including coffee! It was overall a great place to stay!