Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cherie from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Near Richmond Park

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Old hotel that has been refurbished. Quirky and lovely.
Cons: Left garbage and ice bucket outside of room instead of having room cleaned and it took 2 days to remove it.
Location: Right next to the park. Across the street from other park area with lots of park benches. Easy walk to shops.
We had a king bed room and it was lovely. Great views of the Thames and right next to the park. Also short walk to the 371 bus and then to the station. A really wonderful stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ken from Broxbourne

Good location, good views in one direction

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: Location and decor.
Cons: Be warned by my expreience and select your room with care. You need a large room at the front of the hotel and preferably on a higher floor.
Location: Richmond is a beautiful town and one can easily walk down to it beside the River Thames. Good views.
Visiting family we did not eat there. Our en suite bedroom was tiny and the view was only the back of the premises. We may stay there again and now know to question the size and position of the room. It's a bit of a warren and our room was not served by a lift. We needed a porter to find it and carry the bags up two small sets of stairs. I could not get the wall mounted TV to work and eventually some chap came along and switched it on with a switch at the top of the screen which I certainly could not see and my wife could not reach. Tip time. This seems to happen too frequently in good hotels. Just who switches the TV off in this way ? Another negative, there was no bottled drinking water in the room - I had to find my way down to the bar for it. And the final point. There are two exits from the car parking in front of the hotel. Admittedly the lower one by which one enters is labelled "exit". But naturally our taxi drove straight out by the upper one. Annoyingly this prevented him from taking the direct route back to town and added significantly in time and cost to our trip. Despite these grudges the staff were helpful and friendly throughout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Andy from Colorado

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by FBR from Philadelphia, USA

Nice small hotel in quiet London suburb.

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: Quaint and charming feel to the place. There is also a Spa and pool adjacent for guests to use and a small restaurant and bar on site and free WiFi.
Cons: Land line phone in the room malfunctioned but was repaired promptly.
Location: Tube station is not far and the Kew Gardens are fairly close. It's a bit of a ride to central London.
I arrived at the Richmond Gate after a long flight from the US and was greeted by a pleasant young Manager at the desk and was quickly checked in and asked if I needed assist with anything. The room I had was very comfortable and clean with a nice view. The bathroom was large by UK standards and again very clean with quality fittings. There is a very nice breakfast buffet in the mornings though tea and coffee were complimentary in the room. Housekeeping were attentive as well. One thing that should be mentioned is that there are no elevators/lifts for those who may need them as this seems to be an old estate converted. Overall, Richmond Gate is a comfortable and traditionally themed hotel that reminded me I was spending some time in the UK and not downtown Chicago(also a great town).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vwry pleased calming and efficient.

Posted Jan 15, 2014
All positive. .not happy abput the parking fee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Solihull

Great view from top of Richmond Hill

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: We dealt with different staff during our visit and every single one of them was really polite and helpful.Really top class customer service!
Cons: If we are being really fussy,the room was a bit small,but very comfortable and well appointed.
Location: Richmond Park,the Town,The River,also vist East Sheen if you have the time.
This was our first visit to Richmond and we had a great time exploring the town and river area. In the evening we went to the local curry house(Swagat) which was very good. On the next day we walked through Richmond Park and came out at East sheen which we liked as well. There was a parking surcharge to leave the car at the hotel but this was a bonus as street parking in the area was very limited and the car parks more expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by lupe from usa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by chris bach from Sterling, VA

Can't say it was great....

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
but can't totally give it a negative rating... the location was perfect for my needs. the room was clean, the bed comfortable. the free wi-fi wasn't there (but that may have been because i was in a room in the bowels of the building, and i didn't ask the desk for help either). the staff was very helpful. my issue(s) were the shower set up is terrible...it is high up and just asking for a lawsuit if someone were to slip getting out.... the water goes all over the room as there is a half-sheet of glass only at the front and the back is open to get all of your toiletries wet (and the floor, the sink, everywhere)..i was told upon checking in that parking was 5 pounds per night, tho on the hotels.com site it said 'free'....i wasn't there to watch tv, but when i DID turn it on, i only found 2 channels....so, as i said, can't totally ZERO this hotel, but also can't rave about it either
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Max from Hong Kong

Beautiful and safe location, Comfort hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Quiet and peaceful area in London building looks historical and nice Near to residential area where I can enjoy a local living style
Cons: Drainage and tap of my room had some problem. staff had helped me change to another room.
Location: Enjoy bird view of Thames at terrence outside hotel, grass field, fountain with duck, swan and track along Thames to enjoy a walk or a bicycle ride
Enjoy Beautiful landscape outside hotel, breakfast area with Nice garden and sunshine Warm and home-liked atomosphere Nice window view Helpful staff Also suitable for me as a driving tourist, car park is cheap