Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cornwall

Great location and staff, but tired.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Extras, it's already an expensive hotel - why add these? Dated and dirty in areas.
Location: Loads of restaurants, great gym and right by Richmond park - great for outdoor enthusiasts.
As the title states, the location is prime as is the calibre and professionalism of the staff. A few issues though: 1. Hotel cleanliness - not fantastic! Toilet bowl dirty. 2. We had a blockage in the bathroom sink and while we did not officially report it to reception, I managed to tell the housekeeper who told me that he had reported it. We returned 8 hours later to find that it was still blocked. 3. Even though we were residents we had to pay to park there - £5 per day. 4. Breakfast is fine, but not worth the £16.50 price tag, however this was made much easier to bear due to the welcoming nature of the waiting staff and manager.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Could do with an over haul, seems a little dated now. Room very dark and toilet was not completely fixed so made a screeching noise when sat on it... not pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chislehurst, Kent

Weekend break in Richmond

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast should be included and tv channel choice should be expanded.
Location: Richmond park is on the doorstop. Shops and riverside restaurants 5 minutes away. River Thames walk to Hampton Court via Kingston.
Nice overnight stay in central Richmond. Close to park and shops. Lovely meal in pub overlooking river by the bridge. Swam in hotel pool in morning which was lovely and had breakfast at adjoining cafe which worked out cheaper than hotel, which was overpriced and hadn't been included in booking price. Slightly disappointed in TV channel choice - would have expected to be able to watch a movie! Would definitely return though as Thames walk was lovely and would like to see more of area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minehead, Somerset

Clarion Collection Richmond Gate Hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Very good location, at the top of delightful Richmond Hill, and very close to lovely Richmond Park. Friendly staff. Very comfortable room.Free wifi
Cons: Parking should be free for guests. Breakfasts (even continental) and dinners too expensive; especially wine. Should have a lift (but listed bldg)
Location: See above +In Richmond: 3 cinemas, 2 theatres, lots of eating places, very nice pub (Lass o' Richmond Hill) 200 yds. Hampton Court Palace close by car
We chose this hotel because it was very near where my Aunt's 90th birthday get-together was taking place in Richmond (Surrey) and the discount offered by Expedia made it just affordable for us. We booked for 3 nights to make a weekend of it (Thurs-Sun). Although we liked it very much, we found everything other than the room rate expemsice, and were unimpressed that having pid for teh room, we had to p[ayto park our car there: I have nevver had to do that before. The staff were very welcoming and very friendly and made us feel at home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 25, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Jan 25, 2015 on Hotels.com
Good hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ROBERTfrom aberdeen

pleasant

Posted Jan 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
bit noisy from next door
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by thomasfrom Brisbane Aus

Richmond the place to stay in london

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
Clean, convenient location. London 40 mins by tube. Station 30 min walk. Safe location good service.We would return.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bath, UK

Good location for enjoying Richmond

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: The pool is very cold and the attendants/manager are very unhelpful. Really poor facility! The rooms in the hare small, dingy and cold. Disappointing.
Location: Richmond is a great place to visit and the hotel is right next to Richmond Park. The riverside walks in Richmond are good for bikes and scooters.
We booked this hotel because we wanted to stay in a hotel in Richmond during December with a heated pool so that we, and our 7-year-old son could have a swim and relax whilst also enjoying the delights of Richmond. Be aware that the pool has restricted times for families with children. This is not made clear. The pool was so cold that we couldn't stay in it comfortably for more than 5 minutes. When we asked if our son could enjoy the warmth of the hydrotherapy pool we were firmly declined, even though the staff could see that we, and other users, were shivering. The pool facility is shared by 2 hotels and is run separately. This is not made clear by the advertising. I have returned home with a cold as a result of the low temperature. The hotel staff were helpful but the pool staff were absolutely hopeless! Don't expect a comfortable stay at the Richmond Gate Hotel. It is in need of a serious overhaul. The photos are not representative of the rooms. The rooms are small, dark and noisy and the beds feel like concrete. A great shame as the staff were friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff but disappointing room

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were friendly and made every effort to be professional. The main parts of the hotel were fine. However, the air circulation and heating/cooling in the room was not good at all, with such condensation on the windows that you couldn't see out. You couldn't open the window more than a couple of inches because of 'safety' and so could not clear it. There was no extractor fan in the bathroom and a note asking that the door is kept closed whilst having a bath/shower or the fire alarm will go off (which it did!). Why not just sort it out!?