Ratings based on 395 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good central location near Kensington Gardens

Posted Jun 17, 2014
First time staying at the Commodore Hotel and I plan to come back again!
1 out of 5
by Ty from Canada

AVOID

Posted Jun 16, 2014
First, a few positive things: the hotel is in a beautiful location right near Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. The exterior and interior of the hotel look beautiful. Now the cons: my toilet did not flush for the entire week I stayed there. I told the staff about it everyday (once in the morning and again at night as a reminder) and they didn't even attempt to fix it or even take a look at it! They did not care at all that I did not have a working toilet! The staff would just put on a fake concerned face every time I reminded them and say they would look at it and get it fixed. I had to walk to a public restroom every single time I needed to go! NOT impressed with that AT ALL! That's something I would expect from a hostel! Next, the carpet in my room was disgustingly filthy! The carpet was covered in all sorts of questionable looking stains and has crumbs and other debris on it. Also, the walls are paper thin and you can hear literally everything that happens in the rooms next to you. You also need to take the stairs to your room as the elevator (lift) only goes to the top floor and not any of the other floors. Lastly, my key card stopped working on the 3rd day and EVERY SINGLE time I wanted to go back to my hotel room I needed to get one of the front desk staff to get their special machine to unlock the door. And usually they would first make me try to open my room with my key card and of course it wouldn't work. It was just a nightmare...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stew from Kingswinford, West Midlands, UK

Good choice for a short break

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Cons: Cooked breakfast included in the price
Location: About 5 minutes walk to Lancaster Gate tube station in a pleasant area near to Hyde Park.
This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel, each time for one of my daughter's 10th birthday break to London. The rooms are clean & well kept, the staff polite, there's not a lot wrong here. I was a little disappointed that the included breakfast was a continental style buffet and not a full english but it was satisfying enough. This visit we were allocated a "townhouse" which is probably why it seemed more expensive; a very traditional room, pleasant though it was I would probably look for something a little more modern next time. I would definately put The Commodore towards the top of my list next time we visit the city but would also look for alternatives in this area.
1 out of 5
by Sharon from Trinidad and Tobago

Horrible experience

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Booked and paid for this hotel in advance . I chose this hotel because of the location, easy access to oxford street and Padington Station since i was travelling alone i needed a stay at close proximity to everything i need to do in London. My flight was early so i left my bags at the hotel they confirmed i am booked but an early check in was not possible. when i returned in the evening i was told that the hotel is full and they are moving me to Kensington Rooms Hotel. I pleaded that i was alone and research how to use the underground etc from this hotel but that did not make a difference the Lady said 'sorry we are completely booked and this was the note i received when i started my shift.' so they called a cab to take me over to the next hotel. Ofcourse the location of the replacement hotel was a differrent underground line and far from everything i was suppose to get done. I asked for a refund under the circumstances and still couldnt get back my money. While i awaiting the taxi, another person came to check in and was able to get his room. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone since they are so unreliable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

london trip

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: breakfast
The hotel needs updating.the rugs are old/stained.breakfast was OK
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 28, 2014
Good location, room looked a little dated but ideal for a short stay. Restaurant not the most hygienic, fire exists propped open in the dining and kitchen area, not good in a basement area, no sign of sanitised in use for wiping if the tables
1 out of 5
by Douglas from Pleasantville, NY

Never got to check in

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Only saw the lobby.
Cons: Have rooms available for confirmed reservations for customers that have prepaid. In an emergency have the backup plan in place ahead of time.
Location: Don't know as we were moved along way away and never got to experience this neighborhood.
Arrived to discover they didn't have rooms. Waited for hours for them to arrange an alternative hotel. Turns out that hotel didn't have rooms. Waited more and finally was assigned to a hotel many many miles from where we wanted to be. Replacement hotel was in a much less desirable neighborhood, did not get the promised breakfast and WiFi was unusable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Migo

Great location

Posted May 22, 2014
No kitchen service other than breakfast. Overall a pleasant hotel
1 out of 5
by Yellowman from Home

A horrible experience

Posted May 22, 2014
On getting to the hotel, I met a damp and dirty reception and some scruffy looking customers. The outside of the hotel gives a false picture. Worse was coming. I was told that the hotel was full, and I will need to be transferred to a"sister hotel" which was miles away. At that time, I was so tired, I just wanted somewhere to rest. Breakfast will be transported from Commodore hotel every morning. On getting to the hotel, we met a hidden apartment building, hidden behind the real address given to the taxi driver. No name, no sign, just a pocket at the back of a building. I was given a 4th floor room, no lift, no air conditioning. I had to leave the windows open all night to be able to sleep. I was promised breakfast at 7am. I didn't get it until 9.30am. The next day, I did not even ask. I wanted to get out as fast as possible. I fear that there may be criminal undertones or illegality in this setup. A question please: How did Commodore hotel get a 3 to 4 star rating on Expedia?
2 out of 5
by V. from Canada

Disappointed

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Location. Price ok for London.
Cons: Renovations! Some variation in the breakfast.
Location: Hyde park, Hop on- Hop off tour route.
Hotel room was very small and the rest of the hotel was much in need of some renovations. We did find the location good for us... close to Hyde Park and the route for the Hop on Hop off tour buses. The breakfast was ok, but had no hot food and was the same everyday. By the time the third day came we were definitely ready for a change. Hotel is good if on a tight budget, but as stated, room very small and hotel run down. They also demanded a copy of some identification. When I asked for it to be returned on checkout they refused. I was not very comfortable with that.