Ratings based on 440 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Three night stay

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Location: Next to Hyde Park. Kensington Palace . shopping centre short bus ride away/tube station short walk.
Very good position for getting out and seeing the sights of London. On good bus routes that operate throughout the night which are very regular. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean, tidy and quiet. Well serviced by quick lifts. Breakfast was good, we would have liked the cooked breakfast to be hotter.
2 out of 5
by at from Norway

Disappointing stay

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Walk in park, visit museums
The location of the hotel is good. Next to a nice park, underground station Lancaster Gate and 10 minutes walk from railway station. But the room was very disappointing for a 4 stars hotel. The toilet broke down one time out of two during our stay of 5 nights. The bed was smaller than a normal double and the maddress was so soft that it's impossible to not roll down toward each other when both of us are in bed. The last day there were renovation work inside the hotel and made the lobby/seating place so noisy one could think one is seating in a train station when a train is coming in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

3-star hotel, 5-star location = 4-stars?

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: It made us want to get out and explore the city as soon as possible each day.
Cons: Drop the rates, drop the ridiculous fee for breakfast, have extra blankets in the room, make sure the heating works, lotion in the bathroom.
Location: Walk 5 minutes down to Raffles for a delicious breakfast at half the cost of the hotel.
Tiny rooms the size of a broom closet. The "queen bed" is almost certainly not one. Our room was freezing every night (in mid April) and the heat didn't work at all until we complained to reception. We had one blanket to share between the two of us. The bathroom is so small that you can't stand at the sink and have the door open. No exhaust fans in the bathroom, so after every shower our room was filled with steam (I won't get into OTHER odors that permeate the tiny room). No amenities in the bathroom other than towels, shampoo and soap. AND 18 POUNDS FOR BREAKFAST??
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by marian from somerset

Good location.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Very small bathroom.
Location: Hyde park on doorstep.
Close to Hyde park and Paddington Station. In town for show, close to tube station.
2 out of 5
by eva from edinburgh

Nice hotel in nice area

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: I liked the location and surrounding areas
Cons: Make sure it is quiet at night and through the night
Location: Hyde park across the road and some bars around local shops
The hotel was in a lovely area a bit out of the way for west end shows The only problem I had was noise at night from outside. Our room was situated above the entrance to kitchen there seemed to be a machine making a horrendous racket all through the night. I felt the room was cold at times even with air con on warm
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: see above
The single room was very small. The fire alarm went off twice (at 0010AM) as false alarms. The room service did not bring the items ordered twice and the shower ran cold at 0900 AM. Not great I am afraid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathryn from Gibraltar

very close to wide variety of restaurants

Posted Apr 3, 2014
at reception met with the comment ah expedia- and given a terrible room double bed pushed against the wall on one side small table on the other. we were staying 6 nights, no wardrobe only 6 coathangers no drawers, tv so small could not see from the bed. mattress on a slope. At 3 am in despair i complained ! We were immediately given a very very different room and enjoyed the rest of our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Elaine from Nottingham

Next to Hyde Park

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Choice of food in the evening.
Location: Hyde Park. Walking distance from the Royal Albert Hall.
Clean modern room. Close to tube and next to Hyde Park. Walking distance from the Royal Albert Hall. We ate dinner at the hotel the food was tasty but the portions small. Would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by Andy from Dubai

Don't stay at this shoebox of a hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: Oxford Circus, Notting Hill, Knightsbridge
PROS: The hotel is right in front of Hyde Park and next to the Lancaster underground station, and a short 20-minute walk away from Oxford Circus, Knightsbridge and Notting Hill. So the location is brilliant for those that want to enjoy the central London for an evening night out. CONS: The room was borderline criminal. I've stayed at hostels and motels that provided more comfort than this little shoebox. For a hotel that claims to have 4 stars, the rooms quality is absolutely unacceptable. Cheap furniture that would even put Ikea to shame. A tiny single bed with hard and synthetic pillows. The room is so tiny that it barely fits a suitcase and a person inside. The bathroom has the shower, toilette and sink right next to one another that you can reach all within an arm's length. Not for the claustrophobic. A tiny prison cell window that looks out at a wall. Seriously, the hotel owner and the London hotel rating commission should be ashamed. How can this ever claim to be a 4-star hotel? At best, this is a 2-star hotel. Absolutely awful. I don't recommend this place at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good . . but . . .

Posted Mar 26, 2014
I have stayed here dozens of times. Our room was really, really hot. I brought it to their attention at the reception desk, but was still too hot to sleep comfortably