Ratings based on 1,083 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Perth, Australia

Gatwick in and out

Posted Dec 20, 2014
I stayed here as a quick overnight stop at Gatwick airport. The hotel is perfect for that purpose. Close to airport, high quality, comfortable room and reasonable price. Note that I didn't eat at the hotel so this review doesn't covercthe restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Excellent in every way.

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Great value for money. Perfect for travelling to London, over night accommodation and then straight into London using the Gatwick Express.
It was convenient for flying to London on an evening flight. My only complaint was arriving at the North terminal and when I went to the taxi service desk at the airport to enquire how I got to the hotel, rather than telling me I would be cheaper and as quick getting the shuttle to the South Terminal with a 3 min walk to the hotel, they advised I needed a taxi and charged me £ 10.00 Absolute rip off and I was very unhappy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Lausanne

Hotel close to Gatwick airport.

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Good rooms and bath rooms. Ideal for a short stay.
Cons: Free WiFi. The price for WiFi is exorbitant in the hotel when you take in consideration that in most of the hotels in Europe, WiFi is FOC for guests.
Location: Airport hotel. Not much to do around it. Shuttle bus cost £ 3,- should be FOC for guests.
Nice hotel with a nice drinking/dining area. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Ideal place to spend one night during a business trip. However, no free WiFi available. The price for it is much to high when you know that in most of these hotels outside the UK, this is free for guests. If not everything else was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brighton, UK

10 min walk from South Terminal bus stop..

Posted Nov 24, 2014
...not a big deal if you only have small luggage...Shuttle is running all day and affordable...very nice bar and restaurant...staff was nice and room comfy...price/value for a double at Gatwick airport with 65.- absolutely ok.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pibrac, France

Great place to overnight

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Reasonable price - 10 minute walk from the airport building and hire car facilities
Cons: Ensure the aircon in the rooms works ...
Location: Airport hotel ..
Very good hotel - pity the air conditioning continually fed cold, rather than warm air, into the room (426). We finished by switching it off - by removing the card from the master switch - and using the blankets from the second bed to keep warm ... .....
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Gatwick Hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Beds reasonably comfortable. Spacious room.
Cons: Friendlier check in experience, complimentary water, better signage throughout the airport
Location: It took us 25 minutes to get to the hotel from the North Terminal. Its at least a 10 minute walk from the South Terminal.
This was a hotel just to spend the night after a long flight. The woman behind the desk who checked us in wasn't very friendly. Only thing to eat was overpriced junk from a vending machine. Bottle of water in the room with a charge of £3.50. Beds reasonably comfortable but bed bases felt cheap and were on wheels. This hotel was near the airport, but a good 10 minutes' walk from the South Terminal and isn't signposted from the North. Was hoping to have the hotel literally on the doorstep, so after a long flight, was a bit disappointed that there was a fair bit of walking to do with heavy luggage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014
Dear Sam, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team.# Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario, Canada

Hotel car park fees

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: it was very comfortable
Cons: Cheaper car parking, ten pounds would be better for an overnight stay
I found the fee of twenty five pounds to keep my car in the hotel car park overnight excessive. It soured my stay somewhat. The reason given was because it was at the airport so what difference does that make? so really not happy also there wasn't any notices about fees other than a little notice behind reception
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2014
Dear guest, I am sorry you did not agree with our car parking charges, but they are clearly advertised on our website, at the entrance to the car park and at reception. I would also like to add that our rates are very competitive compared to our competition. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott London Gatwick hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Guernsey

Expensive and unaccommodating.

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Room was clean and smart although the air conditioner would not switch off so we had to put up with the noise of it all night.
Cons: Attitude of staff, price of bar drinks/food, offer free Wi-Fi (even for a limited period - even airports do this now).
Location: Take the short walk back to the airport terminal where you can eat, drink and shop for a fraction of the price and have free Wi-Fi too.
Easy to book but check-in required filling out a form detailing everything we had already specified when booking. Having been on a plane for the previous 4 hours, I really didn't need that. When we went down to the (empty) restaurant, we were told they couldn't fit us in as we hadn't booked but we were welcome to have a meal in the bar. The bar area was full of people reading newspapers and/or using laptops so there was nowhere to sit. £15 for a plain burger stood at the bar was the last straw so we walked over the road to MacDonald's where we both had a meal and a drink for less than the price of one burger in the hotel. Oh yes, MacDonald's also had free Wi-Fi, something that would have cost £4.99 an hour in the hotel. Won't be returning to this hotel again for sure!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014
Dear guest, Thank you for writing your feedback about our hotel. I am sorry you could not be accommodated in our restaurant. We always asked at check in if you would like to make a booking in our restaurant to guarantee the time which suits you! I am surprised to read that you found it empty??? We serve on average 300 meals every night! I am also sorry you missed the opportunity to eat our gold award burger. I do hope we can be of service to you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Perfect for overnight before morning flight

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Convenient, comfortable, and at a good rate.
Cons: The foyer on our room floor smells of cigarette smoke; even though all room appear to be non-smoking.
We stayed here overnight so we don't have to rush to the airport from home (in London) for our morning flight. Room was reasonably spacious, clean and comfortable for an airport hotel. Reception staff was very courteous and polite. We had booked and prepaid online in advance, so check-in was quick and efficient. As expected with airport hotels, a lot of the extras like wifi access is charged. Having said that, they provided a cot for our infant son for free. Cot was clean and sturdy. Wasn't sure how far the hotel is from the airport. We decided to walk it, rather than waiting for the paid for shuttle bus. Route from South Terminal was clearly sign-posted, with distance indicators to hotel every 50 metres or so. Took us 5 minutes to walk there, as opposed to 10 as suggested by the sign posts. Route is on sidewalks, uncovered, but clearly marked and safe. We walked with suitcase and baby stroller.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great hotel - restaurant let us down

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Room. Staff. Airport location.
Cons: Hotel restaurant.
Location: Great location for the airport, but no issues with noise from planes.
Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room was clean with great facilities. Airport is only around 15 minutes away, but we were not disturbed at all by flights. The restaurant was disappointing however. We had booked in unexpectedly, and were in need of a relaxing, evening meal. The food was expensive, yet quite bland, and of average quality.