Ratings based on 786 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Not up to published standards

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Cleaning staff was polite and efficient.
Cons: Customer service & understanding that not all your guests are business folks.And although I like honor programs, I don't want any guest treated poorly
Location: Tower of London only!
Our experience at the Double Tree London was quite poor. Starting with the recommendations and information on Expedia. This is the first time we used Expedia to plan a vacation and I am a Hilton Honors member so when the hotel was recommended we didn't think twice to investigate further. Our mistake. First in Expedia it talks about great location, easy access, and great staff. Well could not be more further from the truth. No mention of all the construction around the hotel that makes access difficult, not to mention the noise. Location, within walking distance of the Tower of London, true, but no other sites in London. This added lots of time and expense. And the staff, well let's just say that Honors members count more. I know at the beginning I mentioned I am a honors member. However on this visit it was not on my reservation and I am glad because I got to see how everyday guests get treated. We traveled a long way to London, got there around noon and was rudely told that no rooms would be available until check in time at 3pm. No place for us to rest or relax. So we sat in the lobby, exhausted and tried to rest, waiting for our room so we can sleep for a while. However while watching the front desk keys seem to be going out. All us business travelers know that when rooms become available rooms are given out. After watching I decided to approach the desk again. Again getting rude treatment to wait. I asked if my honors number was on the reservation, got a room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst experience at check-in.Too much construction

Posted Sep 15, 2014
The area has mass quantities of construction workers. No view of the Tower except for Sky a Tower floor and when I tried to take in the sites at 10:05p the muscle man that worked there guarding the door said sorry it closes at 10:00. Really? I would like to know why he couldn't slide the door open but gave no reason and that's after the staff told me to go out there and enjoy the sites. Real messed up. Like I also said before it was the worst possible check in. Nobody knew what was going on. Too many rude guests waiting in lobby for some competition thing in town. One guest yelled at me because she approached the counter when I was told to get something out of my luggage that my daughter was watching. I saw her and said excuse me because all my vital and personal info and passport were left there out on counter. Guest was very rude and said "well the staff called me over". We got in a tiff and then it was all downhill from there. I had to call housekeeping 3-4 times. There was a problem with the bill but they did correct it. Eh for the price I would not recommend this hotel. The selling point would have been the view but with no view and all the business people in a rush pushing their way through town and all the construction, NO.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Safe, clean, hip and right next to Underground stop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel near Tower of London

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Excellent Hotel near Tower of London, clean comfortable, very helpful staff, nice size rooms. Close to river transportation, trains, underground, etc. Loved the Sky Lounge, great place to watch the sun go down over London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great Location For Tower of London and Financial

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Most of the staff. Comfortable, quiet room. LOCATION!
Cons: One barperson was horrible.
Location: Tower of London 3 mins Underground station 1 min Monument 15 mins Restaurants
Almost everything about this hotel was good. Felt let down by one staff member but otherwise a great place to stay. You are in the heart of the financial district and yet only a 3 minute walk to the Tower of London. The views from the top are great (on a clear day). Location, service and facilities are very goodt. My visit was let down by one staff member who didn't seem to think that the guy not wearing a suit was not important. Because of that I went out and ate elsewhere. Everyone else was friendly and treated me well. Having a tube station just 1 minute away is fantastic. So is being able to go on a Thames cruise from a point just 5 mins from the hotel. Overall I was very, very happy and would recommend to both family and to business colleagues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The convenience to a tube station. THrough no fault of the hotel the station was closed on two of the days.
Location: Tower of London, the River Thames with access to boat rides, many restaurants.
Hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The tube station within two blocks makes the hotel very convenient. Hotel is within walking distance of several tourist sites. Breakfst was too expensive if not included in your room rate. Mine was not. ONly problem was the room temperature control did not work and the room was much too warm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and close to thames

Posted Sep 7, 2014
What a superb location. 100 metres from the Thames and 150 metres from the to wer of London. Sooooo convenient. The hotel deserves its ratings and the staff super friendly. We love the river and stayed initially in Oxford street but this location is far better. Pubs 70 metres away and the cbd easily accessible. Highly recommended. This is our second time in London and by far the best accomodation. Fantastic. Restaurants along the river as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great proximity to Tower London etc.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Great hotel, great staff. Bed wasn't the comfiest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Everything. Wonderful breakfast, continually helpful staff.
Cons: Stay as you are please.
Location: Great location, near everything for a tourist or business person..
Very good, helpful staff, good amenities, clean. Wonderful location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wolverhampton

Excellent hotel near to the The Tower Hill Tube

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Attached to a lovely restaurant The Natural Kitchen, the food was delicious and I would highly recommend a visit there. Also the bar on the 13th floor
Cons: I would have liked a room with a nice view of the city. Extend the breakfast buffet times till 11.30am
Location: A short walk to the Tower Bridge and surrounding area
We stayed here for a few nights once we checked in we was greeted with warm cookies on arrival. The room itself was clean, though the view we had was rubbish, but nevertheless the room itself would do for our short stay. The reception desk was more then accommodating offering advise and support for our stay. They where also quick with requests and they provided us with bottled water within the room for our stay. Breakfast had a great range of food items, which included pastries, cooked breakfasts, yoghurts, waffles and cereals there is something for everyone even the most fussiest people. However breakfast does finish at 10.30 which I thought was a bit early.