Ratings based on 688 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Clean, comfortable hotel in Westminster

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Room was clean and comfortable, allowed to check in early, staff was friendly and helpful, restaurants were great! Taxis always outside, convenient.
Location: Located in Westminster, walking distance to the Abbey, Parliament, the Tames river, Underground and bus stations and great restaurants.
I arrived at the Double Tree in Westminster around 11am. I was greeted by friendly and knowledgeable staff. My room was ready right away (4 hours ahead of schedule), which made life easier after an all night flight. The room was clean and comfortable, both restaurants in the hotel were wonderful, no complaints about the hotel or it's staff whatsoever. The only draw back is that there is some construction on the street in front of the hotel, but I didn't notice any excessive noise or nuisance from the contraction work.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Miles away from anything

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Discussed. We asked for a bigger room and upgrade for a price. The manager we spoke to on the phone was rude and unhelpful. He was not prepared to help us with our enquiry.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, England

Somewhat disappointing

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Good location.
Cons: More focus on customer service and customer experience.
Location: Near Westminster.
Took 30 minutes queuing to get registered as there were only two staff on. They seemed untrained and took a long time to get their system working. The room was good, iMac and free wifi, small bathroom though. In the City Inn days the cocktail bar was a great late hangout but now closes just after midnight - with dour staff rushing you out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Good hotel close to Westminster Abbey & Parliament

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: It was exactly as billed on website.
Cons: Prices in the bar are very steep! (although possibly on a par with similar standard hotels in central London)
Location: Couple of minutes walk to Tate Britain & 5 to Westminster Abbey. Walk over Lambeth Bridge for a crowd-free stroll to London Eye & Thames Clippers.
Very comfortable. Efficient friendly check-in and check-out. Excellent buffet breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch,NZ

Within easy walking distance of London attractions

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Nothing flash but all clean and pretty well serviced. Especially like there eco status.
Cons: Fridge in room didn't work and bit slow to be attended to. Still not working day we left after 5 days.
Location: Westminster Abby, Houses of Parliament, Big Ben. Easy walk to Covent Gardens, Tower of London shopping in Oxford Street and Harrods/ Hamleys.
Staff were always approachable, friendly and obliging. Room comfortable with a great view. Executive suite gave us access to executive lounge and included breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Central Location

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Location, clean room, good bed, own bathroom, room safe, the cookies were to die for, excellent concierge services
Cons: Air conditioning worked very well, but was loud. For those wanting less expensive meals, but not upscale, recommend the Regency or Saboro cafes.
Location: Hotel located within walking distance of historical attractions of "old" London - Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, Buckingham Palace, Churchill War Rooms
Wife and I went on a Baltic cruise and then spent the last 5 days in London. This was the last 3 weeks of July - the weather was fantastic. The DoubleTree Hilton Hotel on John Islip street is quite modern and is located within walking distance of historical attractions of "old" London. We did a lot of walking as opposed to bus tours. Bit of fun crossing streets as traffic is coming at you in the left lane. There is a lot of traffic, especially buses, however, there are plenty of crosswalks with signal lights for the less adventurous. We found the food was very expensive, at least twice what we pay at home, even when we used www.yelp.com to find less expensive cafes and restaurants. There were crowds just about everywhere, but on the street, if you were studying a map, locals would often volunteer to assist you. We were in London 35 years ago and one noticeable change is that attractions that were once "free" are now charging each person around 15 to 25 British pounds. Exception is the British Museum, where a donation of 5 pounds is expected. We love history and London certainly has that. It was a very good trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Excellent!!!

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Good areas and quiet but safe location.
Cons: The A/C it got too cold too quick, there was no way to set the temperature in a medium point.
Location: The hotel is at a 10 min walk from the Parliament and Westminister Abbey. The nearest metro is at a 15 min walk and the bust station at a 2 min walk.
Great experience!!! The hotel is at a 10 min walk from the Parliament and Westminister Abbey. It is located on a not very busy street, so noise is not a problem. In detail (i) bedroom is very comfortable, spacious and with the necessary things; (ii) linens were great and mattress too; (iii) bathroom is small (only fits one person at the time) but has all the necessary; (iv) restaurant and lounge are very good, good food, good drinks and good service, could't ask for more; (v) although the nearest metro station is at a 15 min walk away, there is a bus station 2 min away and the public transportation in London is very user friendly. The city is marvelous and the fact that their native language is English helps a lot!! In conclusion, the hotel is excellent and I recommend it, definitely will book it again when I return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mancheester

Central London hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: All the above.
Location: Westminster 5 minutes walk, Houses of Parliament, Big Ben, London Eye, Buckingham Palace 15 minute walk through St James' park.
Great hotel, comfortable, clean with friendly staff. Good location within easy walking distance of many attractions. Always taxis available outside. Very quiet for London.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.Z.

nice hotel close to the Thames

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: spacious clean and comfortable
Location: tube, aquarium
quiet and relaxing stay. Short walk from the tube, on a quiet leafy street, so no traffic noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy for onward travel.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: prompt room service, location and friendly staff
Cons: Better value for the wine. My £20 bottle was not good!
Arrived late after a day of travelling. Welcoming staff and very comfy room.