Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to the Victoria station

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We only stayed 1 night and mostly because the location/price. We walked from there to the Big ben, Golden Eye, etc. It was a long walk but in one afternoon we did the basics attractions for landscape Photography.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AVERAGE HOTEL FOR THE PRICE CHARGED

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Room was clean.
Cons: Looks tired and boring.
This hotel was like so may I've stayed in in Central London booked through your company. Nothing to get excited about, just very average, bog standard hotel - and charged £105 for it! If you were to use a word it would be "meh". The only saving grace was the welcoming member of staff - a nice smile, a kindly manner - makes all the difference. But come on, if you're going to charge over £100 for a room for a night it better be better than plain, plain, plain average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christine from Vancouver, Canada

A decent little hotel in a great location

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Great location - safe area - free continental breakfast - friendly staff - private toilet/shower - free Wifi.
Cons: As with almost all hotels in this area, the price is a bit high for what you get ... the hotel should try to keep prices reasonable.
Location: Near Victoria Station & Buckingham Palace - lots of pubs, cafes, etc nearby. Victoria Station offers trains, coaches, taxis, etc.
After reading some reviews, I didn't have high hopes for this hotel before arriving. I've stayed in many hotels in this area over the last decade and the Dover proved to be one of the better ones! Of course it's not comparable to what you'd get in North America for this price, it is what it is - London is crazy expensive and that's just how it is. This was more of the more affordable options near Victoria Station and it will definitely be my #1 choice to stay at in the future when I return to London. My room was most definitely dated in and in need of a reno, but again - this is the norm with hotels in this area. It was clean and comfortable (and small, of course - but again, this is to be expected) and the staff were all very friendly. It's a GREAT location - very central and extremely safe. A small, basic breakfast is included. Don't expect hot food - only cereal, toast, yogurt, juice & coffee are offered (which is all you really need first thing in the morning anyways). The woman who works in the breakfast room was very nice and friendly - she seemed to be a little surprised when we'd greet her with a hello and thank her before leaving the breakfast room ... more people need to be kind and appreciate nice people like her. :) Overall, the Dover is a decent little hotel. If you have high expectations, this isn't the place for you - but if you are looking for a decent, comfortable hotel in a good location, I recommend it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JimG from Australia

Pimlico accomodation

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Location and clean.
Location: Good for the train, coach and London bus station. Pimlico village and market has a certain charm. Westminster City need to control dog excreta on pave
This was for a single bed room on the top floor (5th?) of a Victorian terrace in Pimlico. The breakfast was good.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Staying for business, man:) from Wiltshire

Great location...but that's it :(

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location was very convenient...however the room and the hotel itself was very basic. Good points-friendly staff, bed was comfortable, TV, WiFi and fan included. Bad points-my single room and the shower/toilet were on separate floors, room was very small, stairs were very steep, no cooked breakfast, and in general the hotel is in serious need of updating. If you can't find anywhere else then its not the worst hotel I have stayed in...however its certainly not the best.
3 out of 5
by Ted from Sydney

Handy location

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Floor boards and insulation between the rooms.
Location: Walking distance to great parts of London
Was not disappointed as I read reviews prior to booking, so I had good idea what to expect. Carrying 30kg of luggage up 5 flights of stairs is an experience, so be prepared if you get the top lot of rooms. Floor boards in the room creak and groan and can hear people walking next door. Could also hear the couple in the room next door which kept me awake, not the perfect setting for an intimate get together. Bed was comfortable and room was tidy. Staff are pleasant and helpful Enjoyed the breakfast. Suited my expectations and maybe a little expensive in my view. Location fantastic for visiting London.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Pros: Convenient and close to Victoria Station
Cons: All windows were left open at check-in making the room very cold. Shower was cold. Advertised with free wifi, which was actually quite restricted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeremy from Indianapolis

A decent stay

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: The staff and the room temperature were the best
Cons: Nothing really
Location: close to the Tube, rail, and other attractions...
I was a little concerned after seeing mixed reviews, but this place was not too bad really. The two staff members that we dealt with were awesome! It is a good location, being a 5 minute walk from Victoria Station. The hotel is worn but still a good place to stay. Our room was warm, quiet, and comfortable on a rainy London night. We had to leave to catch an early train so we did not get to have the free breakfast.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Don from U.S.

Only if you absolutely have to.

Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Definitely not worth the price. Should be called a hostel or, at best, a budget motel.