Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chester

Perfect location!

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: It felt quite intimate, but professional. The layout is a little quirky, but in a way that adds to the charm of the hotel.
Location: Buckingham palace is a short walk away as is St James Park. Excellent shopping nearby.
We stayed for only a single night in November and it was perfect for our purposes. Great location and the room was quiet, compact but not small. The staff were excellent, particularly those in the cocktail bar who introduced me to the delights of a Vespa!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hampshire, UK

Quiet, well-appointed hotel in excellent location

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Comfy bed, great cocktails, helpful staff. The location is very quiet, but very central. Couldn't fault any aspect of the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

伝統的で重厚、一度泊まってみるのもいいが…

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: 一度は経験したい、貴族の館に泊まったような気分
Cons: インターネット環境
Location: 近くにSt. James' Parkがあり、朝の散歩は気持ちよい
ロンドン都心のSt. James' という由緒も格式もある場所柄です。William王子ご結婚の日にはCatherine妃のご家族が泊まられたホテルだそうです。小さいホテルなのはわかっていました。そこがいいと思って憧れていました。が、やはり古いし狭いし高いです。同じ金額出すならもっと快適に泊まれるホテルはいくらもあると思います。Wifiもあまり通じませんでした。サービスは良いです。朝食も美味しいですが普通です。
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Dukes Hotel - not the same

Posted Oct 12, 2014
My husband and I have stayed at Dukes several times. However, on our September 2014 visit we were quite disappointed. We requested a quiet room on a high floor. We waited for the room and were shown into a first floor room, with its only window overlooking the entrance driveway. Beneath the window were tables for people to have coffee and chat. Not exactly what we asked for. We tried to make it work, but realized we would not get much sleep with people coming and going at all hours and early morning coffee drinkers beneath the window so we asked for a room change. We had to wait quite a while before moving. The next room was on a high floor and quieter, but the furnishing were shabby. We will not return to Dukes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bayern

Sehr zentrales, typisch englisches feines Hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Unser Aufenthalt im Dukes war sehr angenehm. Es ist ein sehr schönes typisch englisches Hotel in sehr zentraler Lage und trotzdem ruhig. Die Zimmer sind zwar nicht sehr groß, aber geschmackvoll eingerichtet. Der Zustand war sehr ordentlich und gepflegt. Die Bäder sind neu. Das Hotel hat eine sehr gemütliche und sehr gut geführte Bar, die auch sehr gut frequentiert war. Die Atmosphäre dort war besonders. Das Personal vom Hotel war aufmerksam und sehr freundlich.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Weekend Getaway

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Everything! From the location, to the rooms, to the restaruant, the Dukes Hotel is an exceptional property! Epitome of understated elegance.
Cons: N/A.
Location: Sightseeing and shopping. Buckingham Palace and St James Park are within walking distance, as are National Gallery, the Ritz, Fortnum & Mason, etc.
Wonderful boutique hotel tucked off a quiet street in the heart of Mayfair. Beautifully appointed rooms, with amenities to please the most discerning. Incredibly attentive staff. Fabulous restaurant and bar. A true gem!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Huzyfrom Kenya

Fantastic service

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel excellent staff and service........
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Perfect location in London

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Overall charming atmosphere, comfortably chic decor
Cons: Location of the waste can in the bathroom should not be where guest would kick it to get close to sink. It should be on the side of the water closet.
Location: Cafe Pierre, Scott's, Tea at the Ritz, Underground, Leister Square, Piccadilly, Fortnum & Mason
Wonderful experience - the staff was very polite, helpful and accommodating making sure we were well situated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Tricky to Review

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Having read all of the swell reviews I booked this at an extremely reduce rate - thankfully - through Hotels.com. Location: Excellent, just down from Piccadilly, set in a quiet mews with a very fetching courtyard entrance. Reception: Staff polite and competent. Good idea at check out to ask guests if they had put items in the safe, a gentle reminder to ensure we had checked our room carefully before we left. Bellmen procured taxis quickly and efficiently. Room: Small but normal for London standards. Nice linens, good sized bathroom. It's a quaint and cosy property. Air conditioning individually controlled but completely inefficient, can't imagine what it must have been like when 25c outside! Even with our windows wide open all night it was stuffy and miserable. The significant negatives: The Martini Bar: The much ballyhooed Martini bar is small, boring and - wait for it - £18 for one martini! I repeat: £18 for a martini with virtually no booze in it. It also closes early, even to residents, on a Saturday night. Room rate: Our friend paid £330 for a teeny, weeny room and it's not worth it. Continental breakfast is £18. These prices are a step too far for this standard of hotel. Also, our friend forgot his phone charger and they wanted £10 to mail it, domestically. I also overheard three different people having to query/argue their bill on check out. Sadly I have to say I wouldn't repeat the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by tw

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com