Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hampshire, UK

Quiet, well-appointed hotel in excellent location

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Comfy bed, great cocktails, helpful staff. The location is very quiet, but very central. Couldn't fault any aspect of the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Dukes Hotel - not the same

Posted Oct 12, 2014
My husband and I have stayed at Dukes several times. However, on our September 2014 visit we were quite disappointed. We requested a quiet room on a high floor. We waited for the room and were shown into a first floor room, with its only window overlooking the entrance driveway. Beneath the window were tables for people to have coffee and chat. Not exactly what we asked for. We tried to make it work, but realized we would not get much sleep with people coming and going at all hours and early morning coffee drinkers beneath the window so we asked for a room change. We had to wait quite a while before moving. The next room was on a high floor and quieter, but the furnishing were shabby. We will not return to Dukes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Weekend Getaway

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Everything! From the location, to the rooms, to the restaruant, the Dukes Hotel is an exceptional property! Epitome of understated elegance.
Cons: N/A.
Location: Sightseeing and shopping. Buckingham Palace and St James Park are within walking distance, as are National Gallery, the Ritz, Fortnum & Mason, etc.
Wonderful boutique hotel tucked off a quiet street in the heart of Mayfair. Beautifully appointed rooms, with amenities to please the most discerning. Incredibly attentive staff. Fabulous restaurant and bar. A true gem!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Perfect location in London

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Overall charming atmosphere, comfortably chic decor
Cons: Location of the waste can in the bathroom should not be where guest would kick it to get close to sink. It should be on the side of the water closet.
Location: Cafe Pierre, Scott's, Tea at the Ritz, Underground, Leister Square, Piccadilly, Fortnum & Mason
Wonderful experience - the staff was very polite, helpful and accommodating making sure we were well situated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Tricky to Review

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Having read all of the swell reviews I booked this at an extremely reduce rate - thankfully - through Hotels.com. Location: Excellent, just down from Piccadilly, set in a quiet mews with a very fetching courtyard entrance. Reception: Staff polite and competent. Good idea at check out to ask guests if they had put items in the safe, a gentle reminder to ensure we had checked our room carefully before we left. Bellmen procured taxis quickly and efficiently. Room: Small but normal for London standards. Nice linens, good sized bathroom. It's a quaint and cosy property. Air conditioning individually controlled but completely inefficient, can't imagine what it must have been like when 25c outside! Even with our windows wide open all night it was stuffy and miserable. The significant negatives: The Martini Bar: The much ballyhooed Martini bar is small, boring and - wait for it - £18 for one martini! I repeat: £18 for a martini with virtually no booze in it. It also closes early, even to residents, on a Saturday night. Room rate: Our friend paid £330 for a teeny, weeny room and it's not worth it. Continental breakfast is £18. These prices are a step too far for this standard of hotel. Also, our friend forgot his phone charger and they wanted £10 to mail it, domestically. I also overheard three different people having to query/argue their bill on check out. Sadly I have to say I wouldn't repeat the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel in the best location

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Dukes is an absolutely marvelous hotel in a perfect location in the best part of London, around the corner from the Ritz, yet tucked away in a cul de sac with no city noise far from the hustle bustle. Best bar in London and a wonderful restaurant. Who needs Claridges?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lourdesfrom Miami

Perfect location/A hidden GEM!

Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Besides the first night (AC issue) we were upgraded next day to a Jr. Suite, our stay was perfect and all the managers and their staff made sure that we enjoyed our stay the next two days we were there. We loved the hotel location which is within walking distance to Buckingham Palace and other sights including the "Original Hop On and Off Bus" office. The Hotel is a hidden Gem and the service was outstanding. You must have one or two martinis (we had several) in their Bar Room and dinner at Thirty-six was delicious with excellent service. Bed and pillows were perfect for us. We didn’t have a converter for our electronics and they quickly delivered a pair. We found that the bathroom didn’t have an outlet for the blow-dryer so we had to use it by the desk in the room…that was an inconvenience for me. I would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by N and Kfrom New York

Terrific

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Small lovely hotel close to everything. Just up the road from Picadilly and could walk to Buckingham Palace. Close to tube, buses and restaurants. The room was comfortable and the staff so accommodating. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel and service

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Beautiful and well-located hotel in St James. Rooms were spacious for London.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Juliefrom Califoirnia, USA

Fabulous Location

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay in London and our room at Dukes Hotel! The room was nice and clean with a very comfortable bed! The hotel location couldn't be better, you are able to walk to many sites! We really enjoyed relaxing in the evening enjoying a wonderful martini in their popular bar! I highly recommend this hotel, my husband and I want to return to see the sites we missed!