Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Stay here if you want to meet awesome people

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Location: Russel Square tube is right around the corner. Also a Westrose about 2 minutes aways
Awesome hostel - awesome bar - awesome people stay here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Amazing hostel

Posted Aug 30, 2014
This hostel is amazing. It has everything you need and more. The rooms are small but the beds have a bit more privacy then a traditional bunk bed and the staff are great. The bathrooms are clean however some of the showers only had cold water and some toilets didn't flush the best. The breakfast that is included is great for a free breakfast and the security at the hostel are very present and it makes you feel secure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carlene from Manchester

Good hostel but a few grumbles.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
I stayed at Generator London for 5 nights and my overall experience is fine. The hostel itself is modern, trendy with good facilities and in an excellent location. I was in a mixed dorm with 8-10 beds on the 5th floor. The room was narrow but clean and the beds were pretty comfy. Unfortunately there seemed to be only one female bathroom per floor with just 4 showers, which considering there must have been around 40 rooms per floor with 8-10 beds per room, is not many showers to go around, and two of them were only running cold water. There also seemed to be a problem with plumbing on my floor as the 4 toilets were completely blocked up every night, so a midnight toilet visit resulted in having to go to the floor below. The breakfast provided was cereal, yoghurt, bread, cheese, ham and jams with some juices. Not my kind of breakfast but free so cannot complain. During my 5 night stay I had to visit reception twice because my key card wasn't working, which when your room is on the top floor and down about 3 different corridors, this was pretty irritating having to go all the way back down to the reception floor and after a long day out and just wanting to relax was just plain annoying. Unfortunately in reviews you do tend to list the negatives and these were mine, but this hostel is brilliant and I do reccomend it. A little less like a hostel and more like a hotel with dorm rooms as there were no kitchen facilities, or none that I found anyway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nins from Malaysia

Good value for money

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
For a hostel, Generator is very good, you get all the basics and they are clean. I also loved the selection of activities they had to occupy visitors time in london. Had a lovely time
4 out of 5
Recommended
by renyun wang

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Antonio from Napanee - Ontario

“Comfy beds”; “Great location”; “Fantastic service

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
As good as during my previous stays. Sorry for this delay resulting from a problem wth my laptop. I'll be in touch prior to my next trip to the UK.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by wscozier from Barbados

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
We spent just one night there. We are seniors (62 -68 age group) The idea of sleeping in bunks and sharing rooms (bunk beds and bathrooms) was not what we had envisaged when we booked the reservation. Persons whom we met were friendly and the staff of the hostel were professional and accommodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by ucchan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by JC from Los Angeles

Great Staff

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
A bit pricey for location but overall good experience. Staff was great and accommodating.