Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

George Hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive and clean
Cons: Lobby could be updated.
Location: Near Russell Square, St Pancras/Kings Cross, British Library. Plenty of restaurants and pubs in the area.
The George Hotel is a good option for budget conscious travellers. The room was quite small, but everything was clean and the bathrooms were recently renovated. There aren't really any on site amenities except the dinging room for breakfast, and the computer in the lobby. The wifi was free and worked reasonably well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gateshead

Quiet location very handy for King's Cross

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Great value for money
Location: King's Cross, St. Pancras, British Museum, British Library
Stayed for 1 night, very comfy room very handy for King's Cross.
3 out of 5
by Susie from Swindon

Well situated for my needs

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: The location was just right for where I was going that evening, and the price good for such a central area. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: There could have been an explanation about the renovation. It is an old building in need of updating, especially windows and décor.
Location: Plenty of cafes, restaurants and shops. Near theatres. I had booked a theatre matinee in Drury Lane and walked, first going to the Courtauld Gallery.
Maintenance was going on, which didn't help the impression given. Downstairs, reception and dining room were fine. But beyond that in the corridor were bags of building materials, and the two flights of stairs to my room and landings were covered in some sort of hessian or sheeting. The décor and carpeting in my room wasn't great but it was comfortable enough, and had tv, and complimentary hot drinks, as stated on the web site, with information regarding the hotel and places nearby and so on. Everything necessary for a night's stay was there. As I had a single room with shared bathroom, I realize other people would be using the bathroom and so accept that it was not as clean as it could be. One thing which could be better was my bedroom window. It was warm in the room and I opened it, but it was an old sash window and didn't stay pushed up. I imagine the renovations will take care of some of these aspects. Good plentiful breakfast with enough choice next morning for a reasonable charge.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by margaret from falkirk

fantastic location. lovely area

Posted Dec 15, 2013
Cons: staircase up to the third floor, very difficult to manage suitcases up to third floor. no lift in hotel
Location: excellent
enjoyed my stay. handy location, lovely area. loads of amenities in the area.location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

practical

Posted Dec 6, 2013
perfetcgood value walls a bit thin, think I was in a room split into two ! TV didnt work didnt bother me all very efficient for a one might stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2013
I needed somewhere to sleep for about seven hours - late arrival, early departure - so it worked fine. Would not have been much good if you needed to work or do anything much in the room. Doors close at 10.30 pm but I called ahead and staff opened door at 11.15 pm without any fuss.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from West Midlands

1 night stay 4th November 13

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Arrived at 5pm on the Monday. Check in lady did not seem very happy overall but was efficient. She booked us 2 cheap tickets to a show even if she did give us evils the whole time. We had room 102 on the first floor. Pleasantly suprised. Big room overlooking the crescent. Big French windows. High ceilings. Comfy bed. TV. Tea and coffee etc. Small en suite but suitable. Clean and cosy. Breakfast In the morning was tastey. Originally small but as it says on the menu just ask for more. Which we did and the staff gladly obliged. Very happy with our stay and would highly recommend. Wound definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Camden girl

Surprisingly Good!

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Better than anticipated
Cons: Just something really small - lots of tea and coffee but no milk:(
Location: Right next to work - great location in posh Bloomsbury
Feared the worst but was fine - double bed plus a single just for little me! Booked shared facilities but had showeer and basin in the room. All clean and good nick!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ivan from Wakefield

Close to transport

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Pros: Clean, warm and friendly
Cons: The rooms are what they are, unless you're going to do a massive re-fit, which would mean knocking rooms down and building bigger ones.
Location: Very close to St Pancras and Kings Cross stations.
Booked it as an emergency, stranded in London and looking for overnight stay. Basic hotel, but very welcoming staff. Clean, warm and friendly. What more could you need?