Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Still unsure

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Both shared bathrooms were lovely - big, in fact almosts bigger than our room(!), and were equipped with a big shower, towels, shampoo, etc
Cons: Make sure you check where your room will be - remember, no lift and shared bathrooms!
I hadn't booked directly with the hotel but through Expedia. However, on arrival, we were informed we were on the top floor (four floor building) and there was no lift. Also, we would be sharing the bathroom facilities with the rest of the rooms on the top floor! Neither of us were impressed, especially when we were told by the member of staff who greeted us that "you should always book direct with us and not go through other websites" - it felt like a punishment for not going directly through them. Our room was cosy. We had a bed, dressing table, a small wardrobe with a safe, a sink and a tray with a kettle, mugs etc on. The room was so small there were no bedside cabinets and we had to use the narrow shelf which went around the top and one side of the bed to keep our things on. There was a sort of window - very very small, which didn't let in any air or light. Although we had a sink, it was right in one corner of the room. This meant that the dressing table was so close to it you couldn't actually stand in front of the sink/mirror to even clean your teeth or wash your hands. The other problem was that when we tried to fill the kettle up at the sink it wouldn't fit, so we ended up filling the kettle with a mug which took ages.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location and staff

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Ideal location. Room small, but adequate, very clean and tidy. Staff great - very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Victoria Stations

Posted Sep 8, 2014
One night stay only. I did not have the breakfast so cannot comment on this. The lead on the kettle in my room did not reach the plug, so I had to hold the base of the kettle up in the air to get it to boil. I did not comment on this at the time as I was rather tired and just needed to sleep, maybe had I done so they would have obliged with a kettle with a longer lead
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambridge, ma

Convenience

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The staff ,Titus, Sarath, and Daniel were great. I loved the coffee.
Location: The location is close restaurants, shopping, transportation, and tourist sites.
The staff were very helpful which is a plus if visiting for the first time. The location is in walking distance of Victoria Station, restaurants and tour sites. The facility is updated and clean. If climbing steps is not a problem this hotel is for you.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Not what it looks like in the pictures

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel looks nothing like the pictures. Very basic and no air conditioning which was harsh with the heat wave. Breakfast is not included. Not a great area, saw some guy peeing on side of road. Very old and had to carry own bags up stairs. No service what so ever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON, Canada

Nice hotel in the heart of London

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Georgian and Bower House Hotel is close to transit (Victoria station) and within walking distance of many tourist attractions (Big Ben, Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey). The room was small but clean and comfortable, with wireless internet included. Staff were courteous and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by TK from Belfast

ok but not great for the price

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The d├ęcor in the rooms is really lovely but we were in the Bower House and the entrance and stairs were a bit "well used". We were in the basement with really narrow stairs difficult to negotiate with luggage. Also the Hotels.com site says there is a fabulous complementary breakfast but in the small print it says breakfast is not included - something we didn't discover til we arrived. I think if I'd factored that into the price I'd have stayed somewhere else.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

A place to sleep

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Juz for 1 night, very small single room , very close to Victoria coach station. Tube station not so close but manageable. I did walk all the way to kings cross station to see platform 9 3/4 on a previous stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brussels

Nice pleasant hotel close to Victoria Station

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Basically everything has been renovated; attention to detail
Cons: size of the rooms
Location: 10 minutes walk from Victoria Station
This hotel stands out in its category because of its well kept rooms (renovated bathrooms, no stains on the carpets or paint coming off the walls), its friendly personnel and its attention to details such as quality toileteries in the bathroom and coffee & cakes at the lobby. When travelling alone, I would definitely recommend a double room for single use to have a little extra space for single rooms are REALLY small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Reviewer from UK

Comfortable but compact hotel in London Victoria

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Clean room and bathroom. Window that opened. Proximity to Victoria coach and rail stations.
Cons: Soundproofing between rooms is not good but I doubt if anything can be done about it.
Location: Close to Victoria coach and rail stations. Easy access to Pimlico, Westminster, Buckingham Palace etc
I booked a single room for four nights. The room was on the 3rd floor (no lift) but the porter carried my bag to my room. The room was ready for me when I arrived at 9am so was able to freshen up before starting my day. The room was small but use of available space was good. The bed was comfortable. En-suite bathroom had been refitted recently so was modern and tidy. The room overall was very clean (no layer of dust on everything, as seems to be the norm at similar hotels these days). The window opened to give fresh air but the road was noisy during the evening. Soundproofing between rooms and floors is not too good. I didn't have breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on that, and as it was a bed and breakfast hotel there was no evening meal, but there are plenty of places to eat around the hotel. All in all a pleasant stay. I would stay here again.