Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Basia from MN, US

Great hotel with great location

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Room was very quiet and had luxury look.
Cons: Needed new hair dryer.
Location: Great location. Just a few minutes away from the TUBE. Tower of London is just by the steps of the hotel. Great restaurants nearby.
Had nice 2 nights stay. Room was comfortable and luxury. Bed was very comfy and sheets luxury. If you wanted to relax with TV, it offered big Samsung experience. Hotel personal was very helpful. I got free internet access. The breakfast was for a few extra pounds but worthy to get at the hotel. Nice sounding and atmosphere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location close to tower.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Convenient location to visit the tower etc. Seems to target business travellers as most of the hotel restaurants were closed on the weekend. Rooms are OK, but nothing special. Bathroom was a bit tired but very clean and everything was in a proper working condition. Hotel staff was OK, but not very polite or friendly, not to speak of warm and welcoming. They did not really give me the feeling to be trying to give me the best possible stay (no info on hotel facilities, surrounding etc.) - definitely not what one is expecting from a 5 star hotel. So if you want 5 star service from the staff - choose a different hotel! A bit amusing was the method for height adjustment of the all monitors used by the reception staff (remember the reception area is in the middle of the room and you can see how it is looking behind the counter) - this was done using packs of printer paper. Not really a pleasure for the eye - does not look very professional.
2 out of 5
by Allison from Isle of Wight

Not 5 star. Very disappointing

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: The location. 100 yards from Tower Hill tube across the road from Tower of London.
Cons: A lot. Needs decorating and updating, especially the spa..
Location: Tower of London and tube.
Arrived at 11am Sat. No meet and greet outside or inside of hotel. Was left to get bags out of taxi by own self. Too early to check in so left bag in left luggage. Arrived back at 6pm and checked in. Booked for 2 adults and 1 child. Was issued small room with 1 bed. Went back to reception and was issued another room. No help with moving luggage and struggled to find new room due to numbering system. Went back to reception to be pointed in right direction. Large room with sofa bed not made up and room cold (heating not good) House keeping never answered the phone! We waited until 7.30pm before we managed to get hold of housekeeping to make bed up. No robe or slippers in room. Windows old and let noise in. Bed comfy. Own brand toiletries and not Molton Brown as promised when booking. Swimming pool/spa dirty and in need of decorating. Staff ok - mostly foreign, so communication was, at times, difficult. Beer in bar was "off" was offered replacement. Notice in lift was concerning - basically at weekends they have limited staff to help - cut backs? Not good for price we paid. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel with ALL the trimmings, find something else. In our opinion this was 4 star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Lovely hotel but our stay was spoilt by very noisy people next door to us waking us up and keeping us awake with load music and shouting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Will from Southampton

Excellent

Posted Feb 23, 2014
This hotel is in a very good location. It's next to tower hill underground station and opposite the Tower of London. The hotel staff are very friendly and the rooms were very clean and luxurious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anthony from Essex

One Saturday night stay.

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Me and my girlfriend stayed for a Saturday night (Feb14). When we first arrived we was greeted by a large que of other guests trying to check it at 3pm but the reception worked very hard to make sure we didn't wait long (10mins). All staff were very polite and helpful. The Spa and pool area was brilliant very clean and well maintained even though the pool temperature was slightly on the luke warm side. The room was very nice and the queen size bed was very spacious. We was on 2nd floor so the view wasn't much to look at only views were the side of fenchurch station. Windows were sound proofed so they're were no station noise entering our room. Hotel is in a great location and only second away from either fenchurch station and tower hill which we used all weekend to get around London. Overall we had a great stay and for that price would go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by haroldsmum

well located to the tube station, river and towe

Posted Feb 16, 2014
stayed here several times and havent ever been disappointed. rooms are good size for central london and are well appointed. breakfast is goo dbut expensive if not inclusive, but there are s many cafes in wallking disctance, cafe rouge in St Katharine's dock for example or starbucks at the tower.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A big disappointment

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Unfortunately, this hotel does not have a convention and reception centre separated from the room part of the hotel. As a result, very loud noise prevented us from sleeping Saturday night. Very disappointing for a 5 star hotel. When we complained, we had to insist so that the hotel would offer compensation. I was ready to leave! NOT a good experience at $400 a night. A big disappointment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Claire from Newcastle

Convenient for Tower of London.

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Good sized room (executive twin), very clean. Friendly staff.
Cons: Check out could be quicker.
Location: In a quiet area, close to Tower of London and tower Bridge as previously detailed.
Chosen for proximity to Tower bridge, Tower of London and St Katherine's dock. This hotel is close to Tower hill tube and access to the city is fairly easy .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Last minute choice

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
After booking a less then impressive hotel, I rebooked to here. Was quite pleased. Had a great view, awesome staff and great location. If there was one complaint it would be the bed we had was very stiff. Would highly recommend still.