Ratings based on 472 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Perfect for purpose = overnight stay

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Location and price couldn't be beaten
Cons: In my case the TV signal
Location: I was only using the hotel to get an early train from Euston but its very central
I'd based my expectations on previous reviews, and was only staying for one night with a late arrival and early departure so didn't spend much time awake in the room. I wouldn't recommend to families really as the toilets are separate to the rooms and the shower/sink are in the room itself, but this is known in advance. Cleanliness was fine, in the room and communal toilets. Staff were very polite and helpful, and the hotel appearance was good. My only moan was the quality of tv signal - very grainy picture and only a couple of channels available. Not sure if this was room specific or hotel-wide as didn't worry about complaining givne the short amount of time I was awake
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay!

Posted Jan 5, 2015
We had a very pleasant stay at The Lancaster. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The location is excellent, close the Russell Square underground station, The British Museum and Soho. We would stay there again in a New York minute.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 東京

大英博物館の近く

Posted Dec 23, 2014
駅にも遠くないので色々観光するのに便利 マンマ・ミーアを観たノベロシアターからも地下鉄ですぐ 荷物はスタッフが運んでくれたし、トイレも部屋出てすぐに2つあったし、とくに不便は感じなかった
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mission Viejo, CA USA

Missing Items

Posted Dec 18, 2014
The staff at the hotel is very nice and the hotel is in a good location, but there are some things about this hotel you should be aware of: 1) not all of the rooms have toilets (something that I don't believe was highlighted well enough in the Expedia listing) 2). If you aren't on the first floor - you have a steep narrow staircase to haul your bags up.. 3). The shower is literally 3 ft from the bed If you can live with these things then it is a very nice little hotel; but be warned - these were a surprise to me when I arrived..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by YUJI

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Quentinfrom Boulogne-Billancourt

Un hôtel convenable et idéalement placé

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Chambre propre et confortable même si la douche de notre chambre donnait des signes de faiblesses. Point fort, l'emplacement de cet hôtel, à deux pas du British Museum, qui est un énorme atout. Petit bémol : la difficulté à obtenir une chaleur convenable dans la chambre (chauffage capricieux : soit trop chaud, soit coupé). Les toilettes communes sont particulièrement propres et ne présentent pas du doute une gêne. Le personnel est particulièrement accueillant et serviable. Le prix du buffet de petit-déjeuner nous ayant paru excessif, nous n'avons eu aucun mal à trouver des cafés très sympathiques à deux pas de l’hôtel pour presque moitié moins.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Easy access for what I needed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jamesfrom Edinburgh

Good hotel in the heart of London.

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good hotel in the heart of London. Only little issue is that I was sent over the road to a sister hotel for my room, which was a bit of a surprise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alastairfrom Cardiff

An Excellent Option in Central London

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed for two nights for a conference just off Russel sq. I found the room great value - as it felt like a more expensive hotel but for a economical nightly rate. The room was very well appointed, very comfortable bed, great storage, hot drinks and toiletries. The staff were efficient, helpful and very friendly. Unlike many places I have stayed in the area, the room was too warm (although I left the window open during the day to ease the build up of warm air). The fact the room did not have a toilet was only a very minor inconvenience - and I never had to wait for the well decorated and spotlessly clean shared toilet on the floor. I'd certainly go back for both business and personal trips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Evanfrom miami, fl

Would stay here again

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed one night and it was a good stay. If you're looking for something simple, but nice, then I would definitely recommend this place. The shared toilet never bothered me. My shower and sink were in the room so the inconvenience was almost nonexistent for me.